Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Detweiler Sloppy Joe Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Detweiler Sloppy Joe Mix

    Average Rating:

    108 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 108

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2002

      Kurt, I made this for dinner tonight and I have to say that it is the VERY BEST sloppy joe sauce I have EVER had!! Unfortunately, I didn't have beef, so I used a roll of Bob Evans sausage, which I had an abundance of, and omitted the green peppers, (they upset my stomach so very badly). My husband, who will eat anything on this planet, said he would not eat this meal because it would taste just awful with sausage. Would you know, his curiosity got the best of him and he ended up eating 2 sandwiches and licked out the pan? Oh, yes he did! And I harrassed him about it! We ALL agree this deserves so much more than 5 stars!! Bravo! Thanks SO much for posting this! I will only use THIS recipe to make the sauce from here on out!!! ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2002

      The carnivores in my family loved this recipe! However, I would suggest cutting down on the water, or perhaps even leaving it out completely. When I was done cooking, I drained out over a cup of liquid and then it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      Every time I make sloppy joes, I search a new recipe. This one's a keeper!! My favorite by far!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      Very good we loved the flavor of the sauce. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      I have never really liked sloppy joes. Everytime I think of one I think of manwich and well that doesn't taste very good. But my goodness this are really good. i've had to make them over and over again. I'm not big on the green peppers, so I just leave those out. I highly recommend this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

      The Detwirler recipe is spot on. However I was looking for a recipe to represent what I grew up with -- NE Pa Hamburg Barbecue. Keep the Detwirler ingredients intact, but add 2 T apple cider vinegar to sauce. This will provide the Pa sweet sour taste. Once the consistency reaches the moisture level you want, you have true Pa barbecue that is served at church functions, football games, etc. This can take 30 to 40+ the minutes of simmering and will <br/>absorb the extra liquid that one contributor poured out. That is a waste of all the sauce and taste. The final product should have a sheen, but no visible liquid. If you turn off the burner at about 30 to 40 min, and let it rest, you will produce these results. <br/><br/>Also, for those of you not vinegar fans reduce vinegar by one T and it will still be exceptional.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2013

      Thanks Kurt. Finally, a Sloppy Joe that my husband actually liked! Need I say more? I tried other Sloppy Joe recipes since my original post. This still remains the easiest and the best!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2013

      Loved this! Did decide to leave water and green pepper out. Very easy, surprised how good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

      Made last night - very good. I added a bit of garlic and worcestershire sauce (personal taste). Thanks for a quick and easy dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      I just made this tonight- minus the onions due to allergies. Did add minced garlic, however. Did not have green peppers on hand, so I used red, yellow and orange peppers instead. Very delicious and super easy! Thank you for a great recipe the whole family loves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      Excellent recipe. I used very lean ground beef and 1/2 an onion and 1/2 a green pepper chopped. I also added a Tbsp. of Worcestershire sauce. I also omitted the water to make it thicker. Very easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2012

      YUM! So tasty I can't wait to make it again. I omitted the water and used 1/2 onion and 1/2 green pepper per lb of hamburger meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2012

      I made this for lunch today and my 10 yr old really enjoyed these.
      I had to omit the peppers but that was it. Loved the brown sugar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      My daughter asked me to find her an easy delish sloppy joe recipe. This one looked easy and had good reviews so I gave it to her. Her boyfriend went crazy over them so I tried it myself and he was right! Easy and oh so good! Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2011

      Good! Easy and quick to make. Perfect amount of sauce. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      All I can say Kurt is WOW!!! Best sloppy joes I have ever had!! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      Very good and easy - I almost always have everything needed to make these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      YES!! This is the Best!!! Thanks for sharing, Kurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      I used your recipe as a base for my sloppy joes. These are the changes/additions I made: minced garlic, splash of vinegar, dash of worcestershire, I didnt add the green pepper (personal taste), dash of hot sauce, yellow mustard instead of brown mustard, and salt/pepper. This was very good and I will definitely be making it again! Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      Excellent recipe. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Detweiler Sloppy Joe Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (142 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 330.7
     
    Calories from Fat 156
    47%
    Total Fat 17.3 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.6 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 77.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 788.6 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 20.3 g
    81%
    Protein 22.3 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites