111 Reviews

Kurt, I made this for dinner tonight and I have to say that it is the VERY BEST sloppy joe sauce I have EVER had!! Unfortunately, I didn't have beef, so I used a roll of Bob Evans sausage, which I had an abundance of, and omitted the green peppers, (they upset my stomach so very badly). My husband, who will eat anything on this planet, said he would not eat this meal because it would taste just awful with sausage. Would you know, his curiosity got the best of him and he ended up eating 2 sandwiches and licked out the pan? Oh, yes he did! And I harrassed him about it! We ALL agree this deserves so much more than 5 stars!! Bravo! Thanks SO much for posting this! I will only use THIS recipe to make the sauce from here on out!!! ;-)

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy W88 September 15, 2002

The carnivores in my family loved this recipe! However, I would suggest cutting down on the water, or perhaps even leaving it out completely. When I was done cooking, I drained out over a cup of liquid and then it was perfect.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SJG3483 December 12, 2002

Every time I make sloppy joes, I search a new recipe. This one's a keeper!! My favorite by far!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeLindabb March 31, 2011

Excellent recipe Kurt Detweiler - thank you for posting. I've finally found a sloppy joe mix both my husband and I truly like. I used your basic recipe with a couple of changes. In place of catsup I used chili sauce (I use this for cocktail sauce) as it has a bit more kick than catsup and I also added garlic, dash of Worcestershire and 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar (other reviewers suggested these last three ingredients). I can stop looking now :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gagoo March 01, 2016

The Detwirler recipe is spot on. However I was looking for a recipe to represent what I grew up with -- NE Pa Hamburg Barbecue. Keep the Detwirler ingredients intact, but add 2 T apple cider vinegar to sauce. This will provide the Pa sweet sour taste. Once the consistency reaches the moisture level you want, you have true Pa barbecue that is served at church functions, football games, etc. This can take 30 to 40+ the minutes of simmering and will <br/>absorb the extra liquid that one contributor poured out. That is a waste of all the sauce and taste. The final product should have a sheen, but no visible liquid. If you turn off the burner at about 30 to 40 min, and let it rest, you will produce these results. <br/><br/>Also, for those of you not vinegar fans reduce vinegar by one T and it will still be exceptional.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galig March 20, 2014

Very good we loved the flavor of the sauce. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_Beauchamp July 08, 2010

I have never really liked sloppy joes. Everytime I think of one I think of manwich and well that doesn't taste very good. But my goodness this are really good. i've had to make them over and over again. I'm not big on the green peppers, so I just leave those out. I highly recommend this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cellsite May 26, 2010

Very good recipe if you like a sweeter Sloppy Joe. To suit my family's more savory tastes, I tweak this easy recipe by adding diced celery, garlic powder, salt, and black pepper to taste. I agree with the reviewers who said to use 1/4 cup of water instead of the recommended 1/2 cup. The water will make the meat mixture look thin at first, but let it simmer for 15 minutes as you occasionally stir and the mixture will thicken. This recipe is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 April 24, 2016

i made this sloppy joe about a month ago and my husband and my roommate loved it. They said that this was the best slopy joe they have ever had! I added garlic and carrots to it just like other reviewers advised. I am going to make it tonight again. Thank you very much for the great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aprilpage84 December 29, 2014
Detweiler Sloppy Joe Mix