Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dense Chocolate Loaf Cake - Nigella Lawson Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dense Chocolate Loaf Cake - Nigella Lawson

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2010

      This is one of my all time favourite chocolate cakes. The recipe has however needed a few tweaks to get it just right. Try subbing 50g of the flour with 50g of cocoa powder for a more chocolatey taste. Try reducing the sugar down to 325g and using half dark, half light muscovado sugar (or half caster sugar) to lighten the taste. And finally, I get the best results by baking for 50-55mins at a constant 175c, rather than using the two temps suggested in the original recipe! Happy baking :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2011

      The first time I made this cake it sank, but not too much. Today, the cake has turned into a sunken hole. Does anyone have any idea how to stop it from sinking? I always think that the cake needs to be slightly more cooked.

      For my recipe I use 75 grams of dark chocolate and 25 grams of normal white chocolate, as it gives it a softer taste. I also use 2 tablespoons of normal chocolate powder. Usually I cook this cake for 55 minutes, not 45, as I feel that the extra ten minutes makes the cake that much harder.


      Overall this is a wonderful, moist, rich cake, and would be perfect if the sinking issue could be solved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

    • on September 18, 2010

      This is my very favourite cake to make - it tastes lovely, is really easy and my husband is addicted to it.

      The only downside is the collapsing nature of it - I have no idea how you get it to stop it sinking in the middle.

      The first time I made it, the texture was moist but not soggy, but with a vein of really stodgy goo running through the middle - my husband loved it but it was a bit too stodgy for me.

      Last time I made it, I separated the eggs and whipped the eggs whites, folding them in at the end. Unfortunately it rose so much that I lost half the cake to the baking tray below (always put a tray under this cake when you're baking it, it has a tendency to spill over!), but the texture of what remained was perfectly squidy throughout. Yum.

      I am going to make this again today, but this time I am going to put in a really high collar of greaseproof in an attempt to contain the best (maybe I'll also reduce the raising agent to allow for the whipped egg whites, but will definitely be whipping them again!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

    • on April 19, 2009

      Because of the brown sugar (I think) this cake burns quickly on the outside. The inside was okay, moist and fluffy, although it tasted too treacly for my taste. Don't think I would make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      It turned out great -- nice and moist. I would however prefer to make some sort of frosting for it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      I baked this cake in an effort to ingratiate myself with my colleagues and get a pay rise. They now point at me in a mocking fashion and call me 'Squidgy'. I have lost all my confidence and am now on sick leave. Had I left the cake in the oven for an extra 15 minutes I would have got the rise I was hoping for... and so would the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      Very nice but so incredibly dense it created it's own gravity field that attracted all the fat people in the office and you needed wellies for the goo in the middle. Cakebaron - I like mine firm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      Delicious. Moist and rich. Big hit with my family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      I have made this twice and it has become my family's favourite chocolate cake. A word of warning though - it is very dense, almost pudding like and if you don't like the rich treacle like flavour of dark muscovado sugar and you prefer your cakes to be light and airy then this is not the recipe for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      Let's just say that I've made this cake more than once (I won't confess how many times), and that it's excellent. It's by no means difficult or expensive, so what are you waiting for?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dense Chocolate Loaf Cake - Nigella Lawson

    Serving Size: 1 (105 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 575.5
     
    Calories from Fat 277
    48%
    Total Fat 30.8 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 18.9 g
    94%
    Cholesterol 106.9 mg
    35%
    Sodium 194.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.7 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 45.8 g
    183%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites