Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dense and Hearty Apple Pumpkin Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dense and Hearty Apple Pumpkin Bread

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2013

      Awesome! This is a hearty recipe that goes well with coffee and keeps you full for hours. My only change to the recipe is the cooking duration. I had to cook it for 50 minutes. <br/><br/>I love the fact that it used brown sugar instead of white. Next time I'm thinking about adding walnuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      Beautiful! I made 3 mini loaves out of this recipe. I also added golden raisins, and substituted Stevia herb powder for 1/2 cup of the brown sugar. The recipe does not state where to add the oats, but I assumed with the flour/dry mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

    • on November 02, 2008

      This was my first attempt at gluten-free baking, though it's not a GF recipe. Yielded a dense, VERY moist loaf but took longer to bake - about 12-15 extra minutes. After 30 minutes the top had crisped up beautifully so I covered it with foil for the remaining baking time. I made the following changes: 1. replaced the flour with Bob's all-purpose baking flour 2. replaced the straight brown sugar with 6 Tbsp of Splenda brown sugar blend 3. added about an ounce of raisins, 1/4 tsp each nutmeg and allspice, and 2 tsp of vanilla extract 4. used 1/4 cup egg beaters instead of an egg (it was all I had on hand) Also sprinkled the top with raw sugar and flax meal before baking. Wonderful recipe, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      I doubled the recipe and changed a few things: no salt, a little less baking soda, extra spices (cloves, ginger, nutmeg, etc), some raisins since I only had half an apple on hand, and less water. I was really surprised by how much the bread rose--a lot of times I get a really dense bread with this type of recipe, but this had a great density and texture. I also used less sugar in the bread and added some cinnamon sugar to the top of the loaves (I love a nice crunchy-sweet top). Very happy to find a recipe that has all my favorites (apple, pumpkin, oats, spices ...) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      i added about 1/2 teaspoon of chinese five spice powder and some semi-sweet chocolate chips. absolutely amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      I loved this recipe, very light and fluffy and yummy. Also very healthy. I've made some substitutions....I subbed Flax seed for oatmeal and skim milk for water. I made muffins and got 12! Baking time was perfect. I'm actually making it for the second time right now. This time I'm making a loaf and I ran out of eggs, so I'm substituting extra applesauce for the eggs. Thank you for a lovely recipe, I'll use it often, it was gone in 2 days and hubby requested it again right away!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      Oh yummy! I made muffins (got 12) and they were just delicious. I ran out of brown sugar and had to sub about 1/2 with honey, but otherwise followed the recipe. These were everything I love in a muffin. The kids want me to shred the apple next time, but I loved the larger chunks. I'll be making these a lot. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      This is delicious. It's actually higher in fiber than the nutrition stats show and has a high amount of Vitamin A, at least 100% (due to the pumppkin and applesauce) which is really important to consume during the autumn months. Great snack for kid's lunches - will be making again soon. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dense and Hearty Apple Pumpkin Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (75 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 151.0
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    13%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 17.6 mg
    5%
    Sodium 226.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 14.6 g
    58%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites