9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A nice basic soup recipe that needs more seasoning. I added onion and garlic to the ground round, V-8 juice, and more barley. These additions were nice but the soup is still a bit bland tasting. Close to Denny's soup but not quite there.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 November 25, 2007

Taste was ok, but not even remotely close to Denny's soup. I LOVE their soup and this was not it. Still, this recipe was ok, but I'd say needs a little something.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jojobejo November 14, 2007

This was just what I needed for dinner last night. I didn't have mixed veggies so I put in a little corn, a little green beans and a little peas. Worked great. I froze the leftovers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dicentra August 19, 2007

This was very good! I keep 1/2 lb ziplock baggies of browned ground beef w/onion and garlic in my freezer. The remaining ingredients I usually have on hand in my pantry. Hubby works out of town during the week and this was a great easy fix dinner for me on a chilly, rainy day. I'm sure the leftovers will be even better tomorrow for lunch. I can't compare it to Denny's but I can say it is delicious for such a quick and easy recipe! Thank You for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookiegirlandi September 19, 2006

Denny's soups are just frozen condensed Campbell's Soup. I found this out just resently. A co-worker went to Denny's and thought the soup looked good, so she asked if they were made or frozen and they said frozen and she "oh poop" I get those at work, so she skipped the soup. We buy them in 2 liter containers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tasb January 24, 2006

i've never had denny's soup,so i really didn't have anything to compare this with.so here is my review,i started this about 45 minutes before i wanted to serve it. as i was browning the ground beef i seasoned the meat with the pepper and a little bit of seasoned salt.i didn't have the beef broth so i used 4 beef bullion cubes,with 4 cups of water.and i added 1/4 cup more of barley to thicken it a little bit more.this was really a very good soup,it will be made again. thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � January 22, 2006

This soup was a little bland for our tastes. I didn't use the plain mixed veggies and instead subbed a roasted and seasoned Mediterranean blend. With the plain veggies, as the recipe calls for, I imagine the flavor to be even more plain. In the future, I would add garlic and sauté onion with the ground beef. I might also substitute some of the seasoned canned tomatoes that are in the markets. This may be close to Denny's, but it just wasn't for us...and we love beef barley soups.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. January 20, 2006

I Love dennys soup,so I was happy to see how close this actually was.Very good and fast to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liani murphy March 28, 2004

Very close and easy to make. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M. LaMons January 21, 2004
'Denny's' Vegetable Beef Barley Soup