Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / 'Denny's' Vegetable Beef Barley Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    'Denny's' Vegetable Beef Barley Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2007

      A nice basic soup recipe that needs more seasoning. I added onion and garlic to the ground round, V-8 juice, and more barley. These additions were nice but the soup is still a bit bland tasting. Close to Denny's soup but not quite there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      Taste was ok, but not even remotely close to Denny's soup. I LOVE their soup and this was not it. Still, this recipe was ok, but I'd say needs a little something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      This was just what I needed for dinner last night. I didn't have mixed veggies so I put in a little corn, a little green beans and a little peas. Worked great. I froze the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      This was very good! I keep 1/2 lb ziplock baggies of browned ground beef w/onion and garlic in my freezer. The remaining ingredients I usually have on hand in my pantry. Hubby works out of town during the week and this was a great easy fix dinner for me on a chilly, rainy day. I'm sure the leftovers will be even better tomorrow for lunch. I can't compare it to Denny's but I can say it is delicious for such a quick and easy recipe! Thank You for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      Denny's soups are just frozen condensed Campbell's Soup. I found this out just resently. A co-worker went to Denny's and thought the soup looked good, so she asked if they were made or frozen and they said frozen and she "oh poop" I get those at work, so she skipped the soup. We buy them in 2 liter containers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      i've never had denny's soup,so i really didn't have anything to compare this with.so here is my review,i started this about 45 minutes before i wanted to serve it. as i was browning the ground beef i seasoned the meat with the pepper and a little bit of seasoned salt.i didn't have the beef broth so i used 4 beef bullion cubes,with 4 cups of water.and i added 1/4 cup more of barley to thicken it a little bit more.this was really a very good soup,it will be made again. thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      This soup was a little bland for our tastes. I didn't use the plain mixed veggies and instead subbed a roasted and seasoned Mediterranean blend. With the plain veggies, as the recipe calls for, I imagine the flavor to be even more plain. In the future, I would add garlic and sauté onion with the ground beef. I might also substitute some of the seasoned canned tomatoes that are in the markets. This may be close to Denny's, but it just wasn't for us...and we love beef barley soups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2004

      I Love dennys soup,so I was happy to see how close this actually was.Very good and fast to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2004

      Very close and easy to make. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for 'Denny's' Vegetable Beef Barley Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (287 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 244.4
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    42%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 40.8 mg
    13%
    Sodium 1818.2 mg
    75%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 19.9 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites