463 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

First, and foremost, this recipe ROCKS!! Secondly, I have noticed a good bit of people are having issues with lumps or floating cinnamon. Best advice I can give, after experimenting with a few ways of doing it, is to mix your dry ingredients first. Followed by your milk, but like a third of it at first to get it wet. Add yours eggs in last. This should help get things well on their way with way less lumps. Enjoy!

39 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovinghoneybear October 30, 2010

This is my 3rd time of using this recipe and I absolutely love it!! I've been on WW in the past and was looking for ways to slim down the recipe - so this time I used "Soft" 100% whole wheat bread, wheat flour, non-fat milk, and cut the sugar down to about 1/4 cup. It was great!! My husband (who is a picky eater) and my 2 year old son loved it!!
Also....this makes quite a bit of french toast, I think I used about 3/4 of a loaf of bread. So what we have left over I put in a zip lock bag in the freezer, and then for a quick breakfast you just pull out a couple slices and throw in the toaster (I usually have to put it in twice in our toaster) and it comes out great!!

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Loo October 24, 2010

Word's cannot describe how wonderful this recipe is. Every other week, I make up large batches of it to put in the freezer. My kids pop a couple of slices into the microwave and have a delicious, hot breakfast before school. Thank you so much for posting this!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UPmomto4 September 13, 2009

Very easy and delicious! However, I found that no matter how low I set my stove, my slices were burning when I used butter to cook them. I switched to canola oil and things came out much better. I'd recommend just putting some butter on top when serving for that butter flavor (even better, whipped butter like Denny's does), or use only clarified butter to fry these up in your frying pan.

Mixing the dry ingredients together in a small bowl then adding to the egg mixture helps it all combine with no lumps.

I used Whitewheat bread, which was perfect -- just enough crust, thickness and chewiness to it, and did not soak up too much batter. I also added a tiny splash of orange extract (could also use orange juice,) since I've noticed when eating french toasts at restaurants, there's often hint of orange flavor that adds a bit of unexpected and sophisticated yumminess.

This recipe is a total keeper! Thank you for sharing it!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lotusflwr April 30, 2012

Putting wet ingredients into a blender then add the dry ingredients. Blend for a smooth batter. Quick & easy.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
supermomma2010 December 23, 2010

This is a great recipe! I used fresh french bread from our local bakery and cut it into thick slices. Both of my kids ate a ton of this. I will definitely make this again! Thanks for the recipe!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bebeboy03 September 12, 2009

You are going to think I'm nuts. I wanted to try this recipe so very badly. Couldn't shake the craving. But I found that I had not one piece of sliced bread. I used the bottoms of hamburger buns instead. I added a bit more cinnamon and loved it! In the future I will not use the butter. It burned. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nisea916 December 22, 2013

I thought it was ok. I didn't have texas toast, but I don't think it would make that much of a difference.. I thought it sounded interesting because it had flour in it. When I mixed everything together the flour formed little flour balls, kinda difficult to get them to break up, but it didn't seem to matter, as they "cooked" out when I cooked the toast. The reason I'm giving it 2 stars is because it's an AWFUL lot of sugar for something that doesn't need sugar. To me, this was a lot of ingredients that didn't need to be. You can simply use eggs, milk, vanilla and cinnamon and get the same effect (just a helluva lot less sweet) I don't think you need all that sugar, you are already going to slather maple syrup on it. I wasn't impressed. I will stick to my own recipe as described above (less time, less ingredients and less sugar)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love7721 April 26, 2013

Off the charts delicious. We made it as written, using Texas Toast with amazing results. My husband also threw in poppyseeds. We will be making this often. Thank you. (Definitely mix the dry, and the wet, and then combine the two. Finally we used eggbeaters instead of eggs and you could not tell the difference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate Fisher March 26, 2011

Yep this recipe is delicious! I mixed dry ingredients first, then slowly added milk then last the eggs. No lumps. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PearTree November 08, 2010
Denny's-Style French Toast