Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Deluxe Chicken or Turkey Salad (julia Child) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Deluxe Chicken or Turkey Salad (julia Child)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 22, 2010

      A cafe across the street from my work serves this on a cranberry ciabatta roll, now I know how to make it at home! I add a few extra walnuts and chop up some dried cranberries as well. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      We so enjoyed this. It's simple and delicious. One can always trust Julia! Thanks for posting, we'll enjoy it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Old Norfolk Va. Recipe is a twist on Julia's recipe only BETTER! My Grandmother made the BEST "Chic-Sal" for her "Bridge Ladies". She would boil 2 chickens in lightly (sea) salted and peppered water; let it cool in the water for 1 hr. ("let the chicken bathe") skim off fat and save the broth for stock later; skin and debone breasts. (save the dark meat for soup with the saved stock) and cover in frig for 1 hr.+-; cut up chic in nice bite-sized chunks; add chopped celery (not too fine), sweet onion (not too much: "it is a spice- treat it that way"), walnuts, pinch of fresh basil , fresh ("is there any other") black pepper, lightly sea salt to taste, Helman's Mayo., dash of red wine vinegar,T. of orange marmalade (or apricot jam). Toss lightly- "you want it a 'tad-bit' dry" ( it becomes watery with the celery and mayo). Stuff it in a half ripe tomato, dash with paprika, and a sprig of parsley or water cress, and bed in cold, crisp iceberg lettuce with tangerine slices or watermelon pickle. "Ooooeeee, mmmm!" Alice Doughtie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      This was really good! I has left over smoked turkey and actually ate all of my leftovers! The taragon in the recipe was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

    • on July 27, 2007

      This is pretty good. I would make it again. I made this salad with a leftover chicken I had made on me rotisserie grill. I left out the romaine to be added when served. I also left out the nuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      I used to get an unbelieveable Chicken Taragon Salad Sandwich with Almonds at the Au Bon Pain kiosk in the food court at the mall...I've been dying to try to replicate the aforementioned sandwich, so when I found this recipe I took it and altered it slightly and I really think it worked! I began by tossing the cooked chicken in a combo of the required salt/pepper/olive oil/lemon juice and let it sit for 5 minutes before proceeding with the remainder of the recipe...I reduced the celery by half, switched the walnuts to slivered almonds and used the romaine as a garnish instead of IN the mixture as the instructions originally require...It was heavenly and a HUGE hit at a 'work' luncheon I hosted...Thank you for posting it and thank you Julia Childs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      I liked this very much. I used leftover turkey from Thanksgiving and made sandwiches using this recipe. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2005

      This is a wonderful recipe. I cooked a whole chicken in the crockpot first and then used both dark and white meat for this recipe. I left out the walnuts and used a red onion instead of scallions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2005

      Definitely deluxe! I'm sure I couldn't improve on any creation by Julia Child - so I followed the recipe verbatim. I used Hellman's Light & omitted the yucky walnuts. It made a delicious sandwich on crusty Italian bread. Thanx Watermelon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2005

      This is a tasty salad! I ground up the celery and walnuts in the food processor to make it palatable for my husband. The only thing I left out was the parsley, didn't have it on hand. Thanks for a lovely lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2004

      Thanks, Watermelon, and God bless Julia Child! I have the chicken salad part marinating and the mayo made. I used Lennie's #39780 recipe for the mayo. I left out the parsley as I do not like it, and sprinkled a little more tarragon in instead. It is so light and yet very tasty. You're right, it would be good as a sandwich, too. Thanks for the recipe. Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Deluxe Chicken or Turkey Salad (julia Child)

    Serving Size: 1 (260 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 420.9
     
    Calories from Fat 211
    50%
    Total Fat 23.5 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 174.8 mg
    58%
    Sodium 360.6 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 39.1 g
    78%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pimentos

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes