38 Reviews

This is an awesome side dish- especially when you are getting sick of the green beans and plain flavored veggies. My husband loves this and he hates veggies. One suggestion- do NOT precook the zucchini. Just by baking it it gets soft. It's a waste of time and makes it too mushy. I've prepared this ahead of time (up to a day) and then just slid it in the oven. Super easy and tasty.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2cook4friends December 16, 2009

Made this with a lb. of cooked ground beef mixed with sauteed onions on top of the zucchini followed by the other mixture of ingredients and it was excellent. I used a ritz cracker topping. I may have used a little extra extra sharp cheddar also. My entire family loved it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Timothy S. August 22, 2014

We scarfed these up in no time!! I microwaved the squash for 1 minute, which made them perfectly tender. Used the cracker crumbs, & cut the butter by half. Delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kizzikate June 05, 2010

Very nice zucchini option! It had a nice flavor and was very filling. I omitted the butter and salt and used fat free sour cream and low fat cheddar cheese. I used homemade bread crumbs, which we enjoyed, but I will definitely try it with the Ritz cracker crumbs in the future. Because we like our zucchini a bit crispier, I omitted the boiling stage and stuck it directly in the oven for a 35 minute bake, which made it come out exactly the way we like it. Thanks for sharing a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews September 16, 2008

Defenitely a 5 star recipe!!! I had ginormous zucchini's from the garden so I only used two. I used 2 tbsp dried chives because I dind't have fresh. I added a bit of parmesan cheese to the sour cream mixture. Will defenitely be making this again! It was gobbled up by every member of the family including a hard to please toddler! Thanks a bunch!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngAustinBrody September 09, 2006

My boyfriend and I gobbled this up! No, it's not the healthiest of foods, but you could adjust the ingredients to low-fat options. I cut my zucchini in about 2" long pieces, instead of halving. I also put them on the stove in some olive oil for about 5 minutes before cooking, just long enough to start browning them. This dish came out wonderful and I'd make it again. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TreeSquirrel January 13, 2012

Made it for a family pot luck - Everyone loved it. One thing - I would use less butter next time as it didn't seem to need that much. Also I microwaved the zucchini (cut in quarters) and then finished as per the recipe. I will definitely make it again as soon as the zucchini in my garden are big enough. thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pickles_ca July 19, 2009

This is wonderful! The Ritz crackers meld beautifully with the other toppings to create a wonderful dish. I had only two large zucchini so I quartered them, changed the pre-cooking method by searing the zucchini in a tad of olive oil over medium high heat for 2-3 minutes per side, a method I got from famed French chef Antoine Bouterin. When the "casserole" was finished, the zukes were tender and perfectly cooked. Thanks to you and your Mom for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ninja April 20, 2009

OMG this was awesome! I don't review many recipes but this is a winner! Followed exactly except used roasted garlic triscuits for the top. I would give this 10 stars if I could. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seed of Truth January 03, 2009

This was exactly what I was looking for. I knew zucchini could be delicious and this recipe proved it. I didn't have cheddar, so I used some cream cheese instead. Also, I used crushed seasoned croutons and omitted the salt. Thank you for a satisfying and tasty recipe, I can't wait to try this on company.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the_amateur September 17, 2008
Delicious Zucchini Casserole