Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Delicious Vegetarian Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Delicious Vegetarian Gravy

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2011

      Yummy! Great on vegetarian meatballs and mashed potatoes. It is almost like a chicken gravy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      I wanted to try this simple vegetarian gravy recipe to go along with the mushroom veg. gravy that I usually make for my daughter. This was so easy and quick and tasted great! I think that one could also saute a handful of sliced mushrooms at the beginning before adding the flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2013

      Soooo good ! satisfied my "home cooked meal" craving delightfully

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

      Tasty tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2012

      LOVED this gravy recipe. We are new vegetarians and always looking for good recipes. This is definitely a keeper. I like it a lot more than meat gravy. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      My only go-to vegetarian gravy recipe - the flavor and texture are right on target. We use "Better Than Bouillon" brand vegetable broth mix to make the two cups of broth called for in the recipe because it is tasty, cost-effective, and MSG-free. Initially, we made this with soy sauce and Yobittles is absolutely right - invest in a bottle of tamari because it makes a huge difference in the overall flavor of the gravy. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Really delicious! My husband and I really enjoyed this gravy. We served it over veggie loaf, and ended up sopping it up with the broccoli and potatoes too, it was so good. Plenty of pepper was a must for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      This was awesome! Everyone liked it, even the non-vegetarians in my family. Thank you so much for this simple recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Excellent!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you very much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

    • on November 25, 2009

      This is delicious!! This will be my go to recipe for gravy from now on! Thanks Yobittles! Update: I made this with veg oil instead of margarine (making it on the cheap for some vegan friends). It was tasty, but not nearly as good! I'm making this for my omni and veggies for thanksgiving! Sooo tasty with margarine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      I made this to put on my Thanksgiving seitan "turkey" (the pre-Thanksgiving trial run!) and it was quick and tasty. Thanks for posting this. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      I cannot believe I forgot to leave a review-sorry! This is wonderful and the only gravy I make now. We have never been able to find a veggie gravy that we liked but we love this! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      We loved this. I made it to go with mashed potatoes and veggie sausages. It's SO much better than any vegetarian packet gravy--they are either bland or gross. This was delicious, with great flavor. I used Better than Bullion paste in mine and Country Crock Light margarine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      This was very good; even my picky husband said it was as good as packaged. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Very happy with this recipe. Easy to make. I used Earth Balance margarine and lots of pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      I'm sold. I don't usually give feedback, but felt the need to give props for this one. I used Swansons vegetarian vegetable broth, soy sauce and real butter. Tastes deliciously unhealthy and better than my mom's turkey gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      Delicious! Made for Thanksgiving 2008 with a Tofurkey. My BF and I are always looking for a favorite vegetarian gravy in packets, and can't find the right one, so I decided to make one from scratch. It's so easy to make too, so you might as well do it yourself. The only thing I did differently was to use soy sauce, Knorr vegetable broth and less butter, no margarine. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      This was excellent. Made with 1 tbsp Better Than Boullion mock chicken flavor instead of a boullion cube. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      I tried this recipe using soy sauce and vegetable bouillon(hard to find). I personally had to add a little more corn starch to thicken it. Mixing the corn starch with the cold water first works great to keep it from clumping. Other than that, an awesome recipe. I also would prefer this over the conventional beef or chicken gravy anyday. My vegetarian daughter said, "no thanks", at dinner, until I showed her the recipe. No complaints at dinner. 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Delicious Vegetarian Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (96 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 79.0
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    65%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 321.9 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable bouillon cubes

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites