Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Delicious Tomato Sauce (Spaghetti) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Delicious Tomato Sauce (Spaghetti)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2013

      This is a good basic sauce recipe, and it's very easy. I only used 1 tablespoon of crushed red peppers, and the sauce had a kick to it. If I make it again, I'll scale the pepper flakes back even more. I'm afraid that 2 tablespoons would have made it WAY too spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2011

      Great for what you have on hand!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      This is by far the best spaghetti sauce recipe. The sauce sticks to the pasta, as it should. The first time i made it, i mighta overdid the chili peppers (was wayyy 2 hot), so this time i omitted them entirely and added mushrooms. The crushed tomatoes make it spicy anyway, so i added a heaping tbsp. of sugar. I made my own meatballs in the oven, adding them the last 20 minutes to the sauce, and thickened it up a bit with 1-1/2 tbsp. corn starch mixed w/tiny bit of water. DE-LISH!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      A great sauce on it's own. This basic sauce stands up well on it's own, and is a great base for those wanting to make it greater.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      I Love This Recipe. I added a few ingredients for my families taste including fresh mushrooms, onions and green pepper. I sauted the vegetables and threw everything into the crockpot for the day (busy mom the crock pot is my best friend). Turned out wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      If you are looking for a great spaghetti sauce recipe this is it!! It was WONDERFUL! I will no longer be buying the sphaghetti sauce in a jar. I did make a few changes, just for personal taste. I halfed the recpie, & I sauteed half an onion along with the garlic. I substituted chicken stock for the water and i added a drained can of sliced mushrooms before simmering. It only took about 30 minutes of simmering for me, tho. I also used ground beef instead of meatballs. DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      What a find! This recipe is so simple and easy to whip together without any fuss and is so tastey. I will be definitely be replacing my old spaghetti sauce recipe with this one!! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      It's so easy to make it. But it tastes much better than the one you buy at the store! It just gives warm homy spirit to your food and I will suggest you to try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Super awesomely yummy! My family loves spaghetti and I was happy to find this recipe as it has such a wonderful flavor! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      Love this! It's become my favorite recipe for red sauce. I usually make a double or triple batch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      A lot better than my mother used to make! (She used Spattini dry powder mix but she had ten kids to raise and I loved her cooking anyway.) I followed the recipe exactly and used it in a Recipezaar Lasagna recipe 149088 which came out perfectly. I also put a small amount on a pizza and it was just as good as my regular sauce (also from Recipezaar). Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      Thanks for posting! It turned out very good. Just the right combination of flavors. I also added basil and italian parsely that I had from my garden.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      Great sauce. I added 1 tbsp of basil, 1 tbsp of sugar and 1 slice of american cheese to the sauce (grandma's secret...cuts the acidity of the tomatoes). Very savory, very delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      This was great! I loved the addition of the chili peppers. I also added a tbs of basil--just perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      Surprise! Surprise! I only made three changess to this recipe. I must be slipping. I dropped the water back to 1 1/2 cups and used tawny port instead of water. I added a TBS of dried Basil and I ommited the meat balls. Other than that, this is a fantastic recipe for the basic pasta sauce. If the scoring went beyond five stars, I would have gone on to ten stars, or twenty or forty or maybe ninety seven or whatever. Thanx for posting this great recipe. Pierre

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      fabulously tasty - thank you very much for this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2001

      Just like my mother used to make wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Delicious Tomato Sauce (Spaghetti)

    Serving Size: 1 (283 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.3
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    51%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 350.7 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    36%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites