Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Delicious Tomato Salsa (Recipe for Canning)
    Lost? Site Map

    Delicious Tomato Salsa (Recipe for Canning)

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on August 16, 2010

      Love this recipe! I canned some last year and saved the recipe. Making some right now in fact! My husband said that this salsa has ruined him for all other salsa's! He's not a picky eater but he knows what he likes and he loves this! So good. I think the cumin and chili powder add a lot! I didn't use clear jell b/c I didn't have any but I did like the other reviewer and just simmer the tomotoes longer and it thickened right up. Love this recipe...thank you!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      First, many thanks to the submitter of this recipe. Made it yesterday with farm-fresh Better Boy tomatoes and assorted hot peppers, and it lives up to its name. A few minor alterations (no Clear Jel used, also used a combo of lemon and key lime juice instead of vinegar, some fresh cilantro added), and it rocks! It made only 8 pints rather than 10, so maybe I made it thicker or seived it longer? I look forward to making this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      I love this salsa...and so does everyone else who has tried it. I have been canning salsa for quite a few years but never found a recipe that was "IT". Well....this one is "IT"! I have disregarded all of the other recipes I have and canned this recipe exclusively this year. (about 90 pints!) I use just the regular tomatoes since I don't grow the roma's and I don't use the clear gel. For a little more kick (since my hubby likes his salsa a little hotter) I will make a batch with a few more jalapeno's or serrano's added in. (or maybe a habanero or two) Since I don't like the veggies to be mushy, I don't cook this too long....Maybe simmer 5 or 10 minutes only before putting it in the jars. If you like your salsa with less liquid, you can take out some of the juice before canning (don't waste the juice...can it up too!). The best way to do this, I have found, is to push a strainer a ways down into the pot of salsa. That way, only the juice comes through the strainer and the veggies stay under it. Then you can just use a cup to scoop out the extra juice. Thank you so much for this recipe....I can finally stop looking for the best one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      Wear plastic or rubber gloves and do not touch your face while handling or cutting hot peppers. If you do not wear gloves, wash hands thoroughly with soap and water before touching your face or eyes. Processing directions from the NCHFP: Peel and prepare jalapenos. Wash tomatoes and dip in boiling water for 30 to 60 seconds or until skins split. Dip in cold water, slip off skins, and remove cores. Coarsely chop tomatoes and combine chopped peppers, onions, and remaining ingredients in a large saucepan. Heat to boil, and simmer 10 minutes. Fill hot, sterilized jars; wipe rims and place lids. Screw on bands finger tight. Process pint jars in boiling water bath for 15 minutes at 1000 feet elevation; 20 minutes at 1001 - 6000 feet elevation; 25 minutes at higher elevations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      This salsa recipe is DELISH! I love it! I tweaked it just a bit, i added a healthy dose of cilantro because we love cilantro in our family. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe, it is great. I really cannot say enough good about it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      This salsa is the bomb! I did tweak it just a little. I cooked the tomatoes down (about 7 lbs.) a bit by themselves and drained off the water a couple times. I omitted the tomato sauce and added 12 0z. of tomato paste. I did not use the sure jell. I added a healthy dose of chipotle chili powder because that is my favorite spice :) I also hit it a couple times with my immersion blender because I don't like a super chunky salsa.<br/><br/>I only got 5 pints probably because I poured off so much water but I have a thick yummy sauce and based on the preliminary feedback, it will be gone quickly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      Delicious! So tasty! Thank you for this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      Oh my gosh, this is the best recipe for canned salsa. I used regular tomatoes and jalapenos from my garden, I couldn't find the clear jel so I added 6 oz. of tomato paste, brought it to the right consistency. Thanks WJKing, this is going to be my go to recipe for salsa!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      Looking for a new salsa recipe? This one is it!!! Yummy, perfect spices for the mild eaters. LOVE LOVE LOVE it! Thanks a bunch...(of tomatoes that is)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2012

      So I created a Food.com just to rate your recipe. :) Despite the drought, our tomatoes are growing like crazy this year, along with our peppers. This is also the year I decided to learn how to can, so I did a google search for salsa recipes for canning and yours looked like the best.

      I substituted red wine vinegar for the regular vinegar (because I love it), as well as added in more garlic (again, loves), and it was wonderful. Jucier because we have "regular" garden tomatoes, but I love it. Also, didn't have the thickening agent, but cooked it down an extra 15 minutes and it worked just fine.

      Thanks for the awesome recipe - it will definitely be a fav for years to come! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      I'm new to canning this year. Had a bounty of romas from my garden and wanted to make salsa. There are alot of choices out there,i decided on this recipe. Wow is all i can say. we ate 2 pints the first day. We couldnt stop eating it. So wonderful. Thanks for sharing.This is my go to recipe for making salsa. This recipe rocks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      This salsa is a huge hit with family and friends! I made one batch, and ran out so quickly I had to make more. What a great way to put up the amazing abundance of this year's garden!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      My boys are salsa critics and this one passed the test with flying colors. I did tweak it a little. I substituted 6 oz of tomato paste for the Clear Jel (I used regular tomatoes so I had more juice), added a Tablespoon of sugar, misread Tbsp for tsp and put in 1 Tablespoon of cumin, and I added LOTS of cilantro. It turned out very flavorful. (I only put 2 T of salt too). (I had a few haberno chile's canned from the previous year and chopped up 3 which added lots of heat!!! Yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      After trying this out, WoW, worth the time and effort to do this. We did not use the clear jel, but just boiled the Salsa for a couple of hours to thicken it up. Great taste, can't wait to make more!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      Voted the 'BEST SALSA RECIPE of 2006'. Really. Out of the two or three new recipes I tried this year and my back up recipes that I've made in the pass, this one is far the best. I peeled and seeded my tomatoes because my children are spoiled ;-) and ended up using 16 cups of tomatoes. Red wine vinegar was my choice of vinegar to use. I got 8 pints of salsa when it was all over. This was also the first time I used Clear Jel. I ordered some and it came in the mail 2 weeks ago. So I was happy I could use it in this recipe before my garden tomatoes were all gone. One thing I did learn about the Clear Jel is that you want to add it at the very end for your cooking time. As it makes it so very nice and thick and you could scorch your batch of salsa if not VERY CAREFUL! WJKing thank you so VERY much for sharing this recipe, I do believe will never use another recipe again but yours!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2006

      This is a SUPER EASY salsa to make. It has WONDERFUL FLAVOR!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2014

      Winner!!! This was my first attempt at canning salsa- we're normally a "fresca" family, but this recipe...oh boy, is it good! I made a couple of adjustments- like others, I didn't use the Clear Gel, and subbed out a small can of tomato paste for the sauce. Also used more (and mixed) chili peppers, and more garlic, plus added 3 bunches cilantro, at the end of the cooking time. I didn't measure the tomatoes until I'd already seeded/squeezed 'em, so it made a nice, thick sauce. I pressure-canned these at 15 lbs. for 20 minutes, with Tattler lids, so we'll see if the seals work, but the extra jar of it that I couldn't fit in the canner is now open, and mostly GONE. :) The flavor is just...WOW. This is going to be a yearly thing, from now on! Thanks, WJKing, this recipe ROCKS!!!! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2014

      I have never written a review before this moment but feel compelled to do so because this is a wonderful recipe. We love it. I adapted it as follows:<br/>I cooked my tomatoes with some snipped up dried tomatoes to thicken them then added the veggies. I used 1/4 c. lime juice and 1/4 c. tomato vinegar. Added some fresh basil and parsley. The consistency and flavor is just terrific. I am so pleased.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      Very good salsa! I made this using up what we had in our garden and it turned out perfect. I used a bit more jalapenos then called for and it was just right for us. thank you for sharing your recipe with us, we loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Delicious Tomato Salsa (Recipe for Canning)

    Serving Size: 1 (3525 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 80.5
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    48%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2186.6 mg
    91%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Clear Jel

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes