37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were so yummy! I made these for my daughter's 1st birthday party and topped them with a strawberry cream cheese frosting I improvised. Next time I might try substituting half of the butter for cream cheese in this frosting recipe for just a bit of an over the top taste! I used thawed frozen strawberries instead of fresh since they are out of season. I also added more strawberry puree and some chopped strawberries to my batter as I wanted a really strawberry flavored cupcake.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dying2Live November 28, 2011

Yummy, fresh....use more purée and chop strawberries finely for cupcake (adds moisture) and frosting. Cut powder sugar to 1.5 cups. Used vanilla bean and all organic ingredients.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sschleigh April 29, 2013

After reading the rave reviews, I was disappointed. The predominant flavor is butter, which is not necessarily a bad thing, except when you want them to taste like strawberry. The frosting actually tastes a little more strawberry than the cake. I will keep searching for a strawberry cake recipe, this one is not a keeper in my opinion.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenaub2 May 27, 2013

Made these twice. The first time I really messed it up by using margarine instead of real butter in the recipe. The icing tasted good but was runny. The cake as well. This time I followed the recipe and directions exactly. They were amazing. I also made a filling by mixing some icing with chopped strawberries. It tasted so much better that way.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
conkit April 19, 2013

Insanely delicious!! Very impressed. It's a keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nonaborreggine March 07, 2013

DELICIOUS & Easy to make! People request these from me all the time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aferna01 February 04, 2013

I only made the frosting to top chocolate cupcakes.. Added some meringue powder to make it a little stiffer. The frosting was a huge hit. It had a very distinct strawberry flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keolani June 04, 2012

Amazing! So yummy and simple to make! Added more strawberry puree to the frosting...otherwise DELICIOUS!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeneyesincolo November 06, 2011

I only made the frosting, to frost a chocolate cake I had made. The frosting was delicious! I used frozen strawberries and it came out great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atwomb April 03, 2011

This is a fantastic recipe - love that it derives all the color and flavor from the strawberries! I only had frozen strawberries - the frosting came out amazingly good (enough to frost 2 batches of cupcakes and still have some left). The cupcakes themselves had a wonderful flavor, though not quite as much of a strawberry taste as I was hoping for. I'll likely just adjust the recipe when I have fresh to include some chunks. My kids absolutely went bonkers for these and all wanted more than the 1 they were allowed. This is definitely a keeper! May even make these into a layered cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D. Duckie January 09, 2011
Delicious Strawberry Cupcakes & Strawberry Frosting