Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Delicious Steamed Whole Artichokes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Delicious Steamed Whole Artichokes

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2011

      Thank you for the recipe. I was intimidated with cooking artichokes for the first time and used this as my anchor. I used chicken broth, 1 big clove garlic chopped up, black whole peppercorns and a bayleaf for the steaming liquid and we loved the flavor it gave the leaves. 30 minutes was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      Wow, this was fabulous. I have always boiled my artichokes, but I think this will now be my go to preparation. What I really like about it is no more watery artichokes. The simmering sauce really added a lot of flavor. The only thing I did different was used a couple of thyme sprigs instead of parsley, because that is what I had on hand. Thanks Sharon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      I've never done anything but boil artichokes in salted water, and we thoroughly enjoy them that way. BUT, this was even better! I used dried parsley since that was all I had, I left out the oil so it wouldn't be so messy, and I used two limes instead of lemons because, again, that was all I had. Delicious!!! Perhaps next time I'll crunch up the garlic cloves a bit because we really like garlic. But who knw that artichokes could taste even better with a little help from a (Zaar) friend? Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      This recipe worked out perfectly. I followed the directions as written using the white wine. Tried this with an artichoke from our garden. Reviewed for Veg Tag/July.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2011

      Omit the oil and it's perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      This is the perfect way to do artichokes! I use 1 large artichoke, cut in half in a heavy skillet with a lid, and it turned out perfectly! I used dried herbs de provence in place of the parsley and added a touch of butter to the sauce for dipping. Thank you so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      I love artichokes, but have always just boiled them. This recipe makes the artichokes perfect. I love the garlic in this, it really adds great flavor.
      Thank You for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      Great recipe! Easy to follow. I skipped the lemon, and used dried herbs and it turned out spectacularly. I love artichokes and this was delicious with melted butter. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      This was really good. I used garlic, chicken stock, wine and half a lemon for the steaming liquid. Started bottom up and turned them half way through. Tested doneness with a knife in stem and by pulling a middle leaf (should pull out and not stay in artichoke). Served with a mayo soy vinaigrette with fresh squeezed lemon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      Like another reviewer, we've prepared artichokes for years in boiled salted water, but now this recipe changes things! Made as directed, we really appreciated the added flavors from this preparation; DH qualifies this review by saying he detected something a bit "acrid" in this presentation, while I think this recipe takes artichokes to the next level! Thanks, Sharon123! Made for Vegetarian Recipe Swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      These were delicious! I used dried parsley as I didn't have any fresh but they were just great. I normally just steam my chokes in plain water but this mixture added great flavor. Basically dump in a pot and steam, very easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      This is quick and simple to do, and the instructions were perfect. We have a steamer basket, so we used that in the pot. By reducing the broth and adding 2 tbsp butter, it makes a wonderful dipping sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      I would cut out the parsley and NOT use olive oil. The olive oil made the artichoke leaves greasy and unpleasant to handle after a while. The artichokes tasted great, otherwise.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      Very tasty chokes! I loved the addition of the lemon. Even DH ate them up and he's not a huge fan of fresh chokes. Thanks for a great recipe Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      I am never going to boil again. Super way to make artichokes with a ready made sauce at the end if you just reduce it and add some butter or cream or even low fat sour cream. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      I have always just boiled my artichokes. Not anymore! What a wonderful idea to steam them by placing them upside down in the pot. It was my first time adding anything to the water and I was surprised how much flavor it gave the artichokes. This is a great recipe for cooking artichokes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2013

      Super recipe! I actually prepared them in a pressure cooker. Reduced the liquid to 1 cup, got 4 artichokes nicely fitted in my cooker and cooked on high for 10 minutes. They were slightly on a soft side, so maybe 8-9 minutes would do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Delicious Steamed Whole Artichokes

    Serving Size: 1 (1422 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 230.2
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    54%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 139.5 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    34%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites