Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Delicious Rum Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Delicious Rum Cake

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2003

      The best rum cake I have ever had. Very easy to make. I added rum where the recipe called for water and also added a teaspoon of canola oil. Made it for friends and they all raved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      UPDATE: I've made this Delicious Rum Cake several times since my first rating & I still can not believe how wonderful it is!!! Today, I used a Lemon Cake mix & pudding...got the idea from Lighthouse Rita...THANK YOU Rita!!! Again, I added blueberries & OMG that was even better than the original recipe!!! I only wish there was 5 more stars!!! THANKS again, for sharing!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      This recipe has a great method to make the cake super moist and infused with rum. Most of the other recipes I looked at didn't have this syrup to make. My cake was very moist and got better with each day. Perfect end to a meal with some vanilla ice cream on top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2008

      I have make this numerous times for several years, and everyone always raves about it. It is very easy to make and tastes wonderful. I use Barcadi Gold. I also use half the amount of oil and the rest cinnamon applesauce. If you want it really "strong " I have even used all rum to replace the water in both places. I am making 25 individual one even as I type this updated review. They are beautiful in those small bunt pan. Spray with the baking pam and they turn out beautiful every time!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      I have made this recipe for years and it has always been a big hit. One day I only had a box of lemon cake mix with pudding. I omitted the package of pudding and made the recipe. I believe I received more compliments on the cake the the lemon cake mix. Thanks for sharing this recipe. We love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      Wonderful rum cake, moist and tasty. My grandmother even loved it and she is picky. I only use half the rum so as not to have the overpowering smell and taste

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      This recipe is very good. I tried it with Grand Marnier istead of Rum though and decided that is very good that way too. The light taste of oranges really offsets the vanilla in the cake. You can also make the cake with a dark rum, and then the glaze with Grand Marnier and the results are much better. You get the spicy rum taste mixed with oranges.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      I have been making this recipe for years, except I usually use sherry instead of rum. The rum gave it a slightly different taste, but still good. I gave it four stars rather than three, because the "sauce" was weird. I thought it would be more like a glaze (something you could see), but it's so watery that it just gets absorbed into the cake. And be forewarned that it makes a huge mess when you pour it on. Tip: Allow cake to cool on a wire rack, then put rack over a cookie sheet before pouring on the sauce, because most of it drips off the cake. I did what one reviewed suggested and poked holes in the top of the cake before drizzling it with sauce. But, honestly, next time I will skip the sauce and just dust it with powdered sugar. The cake is sweet and moist enough (not to mention fattening enough) without the sauce. Having said that, this is still a favorite cake to make for potlucks because it is so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      This is a real favorite at our house, especially during the holidays. I've been making this one for years, thanks for posting. Maryanne in AZ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2003

      I won first prize at my company bake off with this recipe. Thanks so much Dawn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2003

      The absolute best rum cake...my 2 year old loved it, and my grandmother wanted this recipe. SO EASY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2003

      I found this recipe very easy and it is fantastic!I used Bacardi Gold and the butter pecan cake mix.Also poked holes in the cake before I put on the glaze. Did I say that this is EASY & DELISOUS?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2003

      Excellent!! Very easy to make and taste was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2002

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Delicious Rum Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 624.2
     
    Calories from Fat 287
    46%
    Total Fat 31.9 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 85.6 mg
    28%
    Sodium 618.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.9 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 51.9 g
    207%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes