27 Reviews

I have made this recipe two times. I just had to write a review, this is the best cornish hen I have ever had. It comes out perfect everytime. Thanks for posting it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellg694 November 04, 2010

Excellent ! I halved the recipe and used it on 2 Cornish Hens. I made no changes besides cutting the cooking time. Will certainly make this dish again. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dotty2 May 27, 2010

Great made a turkey. It was moist and deliciioyus can't wait for a chicken. Did add some lemon pepper as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest February 22, 2009

We used this recipe for our Thanksgiving turkey. A great basic roast recipe. Had the whole house smelling fantastic! Took a lot longer to roast with stuffing in the middle, but I think the stuffing also kept the bird really moist. I agree with other reviewers about maybe injecting some of the flavor under the skin. Thanks for a great recipe, can't wait to try it on chickens!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hadice November 25, 2007

Oh my gosh this was soooooooo delicious. I was scared at first that the seasoning will be to strong, but I was so wrong. I did change somethings...I used two regular chickens and put pats of butter inside of the chicken. Also I put the chickens in an oven bag instead of basting. Great recipe Wildflour!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
libbyece September 23, 2007

Absolutely delicious. Used this on a turkey and everyone loved it. The smell of the spices when I first put it in the oven nearly drove me crazy it smelled so good! Next time I will try injecting some of it under the skin to keep more of the flavor when I carve it up.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Food addict* December 08, 2006

Great made a chicken. It was moist and deliciioyus can't wait for a duck to do.
update: I did that duck, and had the whole house smelling fantastic! I agree with other reviewers about maybe injecting some of the flavor under the skin. Thanks for a great recipe,
Wildflour!!!! I will be using this again a lot!!!!!!!!! THANK YOU !!! I can do the happy food dance!! NOW !! You get good Tips and Hints or two, to Note here. There are some great chefs here on Zaar, and you are one of the best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF GRPA March 12, 2013

I made this tonight and it was deliciously moist and full of flavor!!! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe! The whole chicken I used was 4.6 pounds and required the full 2 hours of baking time to get to an internal temp of 180. The leftover carcass will be made into stock for soup. For those of you who have never made your own stock from chicken bones, it's so easy and delicious! I recommend Crock Pot Chicken or Turkey Stock.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fox Hollow January 22, 2013

This was an excellent recipe and I enjoyed it, Thank You so much, one of the best!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
surenaadrien February 19, 2011

Fantastic recipe! I have made cornish hens and full-size roast chicken with this recipe, and think they have all turned out delicious and tender.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaraJoy January 05, 2011
Delicious Roast Chicken (Or Turkey, Cornish Hens, Etc.)