Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Delicious Roast Chicken (Or Turkey, Cornish Hens, Etc.) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Delicious Roast Chicken (Or Turkey, Cornish Hens, Etc.)

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on November 04, 2010

      I have made this recipe two times. I just had to write a review, this is the best cornish hen I have ever had. It comes out perfect everytime. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Excellent ! I halved the recipe and used it on 2 Cornish Hens. I made no changes besides cutting the cooking time. Will certainly make this dish again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      Great made a turkey. It was moist and deliciioyus can't wait for a chicken. Did add some lemon pepper as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      We used this recipe for our Thanksgiving turkey. A great basic roast recipe. Had the whole house smelling fantastic! Took a lot longer to roast with stuffing in the middle, but I think the stuffing also kept the bird really moist. I agree with other reviewers about maybe injecting some of the flavor under the skin. Thanks for a great recipe, can't wait to try it on chickens!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      Oh my gosh this was soooooooo delicious. I was scared at first that the seasoning will be to strong, but I was so wrong. I did change somethings...I used two regular chickens and put pats of butter inside of the chicken. Also I put the chickens in an oven bag instead of basting. Great recipe Wildflour!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      Absolutely delicious. Used this on a turkey and everyone loved it. The smell of the spices when I first put it in the oven nearly drove me crazy it smelled so good! Next time I will try injecting some of it under the skin to keep more of the flavor when I carve it up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      Great made a chicken. It was moist and deliciioyus can't wait for a duck to do.
      update: I did that duck, and had the whole house smelling fantastic! I agree with other reviewers about maybe injecting some of the flavor under the skin. Thanks for a great recipe,
      Wildflour!!!! I will be using this again a lot!!!!!!!!! THANK YOU !!! I can do the happy food dance!! NOW !! You get good Tips and Hints or two, to Note here. There are some great chefs here on Zaar, and you are one of the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      I made this tonight and it was deliciously moist and full of flavor!!! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe! The whole chicken I used was 4.6 pounds and required the full 2 hours of baking time to get to an internal temp of 180. The leftover carcass will be made into stock for soup. For those of you who have never made your own stock from chicken bones, it's so easy and delicious! I recommend Crock Pot Chicken or Turkey Stock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      This was an excellent recipe and I enjoyed it, Thank You so much, one of the best!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      Fantastic recipe! I have made cornish hens and full-size roast chicken with this recipe, and think they have all turned out delicious and tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Loved it. . .and so easy! My bird was just over 4 lbs and was done at 1 hr 15 min (I think my oven may run hot). I made it as written, but added lemon pepper to the outside and some fresh lemon thyme, fresh basil and 1/2 a lemon (sliced) to the inside. Fabulous crispy skin and great flavor to the wing I just finished munching on. I am gonna use this today to make Family Favorite Chicken Noodle Soup for my DH and DS who have seem to come down with colds. Made for ZWT5 for a fellow teammate. THANKS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      I made this today. I used a whole chicken. Tasty and easy. I didn't pay attention to the amounts of seasoning. But the combination was really good. Made for ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Used this recipe on cornish hens and it was delicous! I will use this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      I used this recipe for my very first turkey dinner. It was delicious. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      We used this recipe for turkey for Thanksgiving and it was awesome! Tender and juicy with great flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Great flavors that infused in the chicken meat and was delicious! This will be on my monthy rotation now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      I stuffed the bird with Shirley's Sausage Stuffing, and the chicken and stuffing came out so moist and delicious! I baked at 350 for 2 1/2 hours. and it turned out wonderfully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      This deserves more stars then this site can muster! Was my chicken delicious! Moist and tender and the flavors were excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      Fantastic, I clicked the stars 3 times, sorry if only 5 came up, it deserves more. This is the only recipe for roasting chicken I now use. I like the big fat 5# and over chickens and this is a perfect recipe. I have used this recipe many times and just realized I hadn't rated, so sorry. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      MADE FOR ZWT4, Family Picks. A delicious flavouring mixture. We prefer roasting whole chicken or chicken pieces (DH dislikes skinless breasts!) and I always flavour my chickens well. I've seldom thought of using paprika, which gives a lovely reddish colour. I don't know Johnnie's seasoning salt, so used a local seasoning salt. My chicken was half the size of the one in your recipe, so I used less butter -- but I mixed the same amount of herbs and spices, and also spiced the cavity. My chicckie was a real, plump, organic, free-range one, and was very juicy: we both had the best bits -- the legs and wings!! Thanks -- a very good seasoning mixture!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Delicious Roast Chicken (Or Turkey, Cornish Hens, Etc.)

    Serving Size: 1 (267 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1032.8
     
    Calories from Fat 761
    73%
    Total Fat 84.6 g
    130%
    Saturated Fat 31.6 g
    158%
    Cholesterol 328.3 mg
    109%
    Sodium 453.4 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 63.4 g
    126%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    dried Italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites