Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Delicious Low Carb Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Delicious Low Carb Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 14, 2009

      This was easy to make and really took the edge off. You need the chew factor of carbs. Also made you feel full afterwards. Down side is that Almond Flour is not cheap, so this is a treat. I used egg beaters in place of the eggs and it still tasted great. My husband loved it and me for finding the recipe so he could have guilt free bread. Thanks for sharing getting ready to make in right now...Only takes a couple of minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      Ok. my mom and I are doing a low carb diet, and We were having chili, and you cant have chili without cornbread, and so we looked up a low carb cormbread recipe. It didnt really taste like cornbread, but it was still good! we did french toast with it too! and it was great, sooo, Great Job! :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      I thought this was quick and easy. Not really sure it tasted like cornbread but did have the consistancy of it. I had to cook it for 3 1/2 min in my microwave on high to make sure it was done. Nice "bread fix" thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      I must be the only one who didn't like this. It tasted nothing like cornbread to me. I would rather splurge and eat 1 piece of regular cornbread than the whole pan of this. After 1 bite, it went into the trash.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      I loved the texture, and it's so easy to make. I was going to add splenda to the mix, as others suggested, but I wanted to taste it first. I wasn't crazy about the taste, but it might serve it's cornbread purpose next to chili! I topped it with butter, cinnamon, and splenda, and it was more like faux french toast! In fact, I'm going to get some sugar-free maple syrup and make it that way. Great for breakfast -- I took the extra to work and am eating it now! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      This recipe is fantastic. The texture is almost exactly like cornbread. The flavor is a bit lacking but I suspect a little splenda will go a long way.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      I have made this twice now and I still can't believe it!Not quite cornbread but I definately get that bread "fix".Quick and easy.I found that if I use 1tbsp butter and 1/8 tsp salt it's perfect for me.Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      Wow! I can't beleive how easy this was to make. Tasted great right out of the microwave with a little butter. The texture was nice and fluffy like a muffin. Satisfied my craving for bread. I will be making this a lot. Thanks for the great low-carb recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2014

      The two tricks that have helped me make this more like cornbread are 1) bake it in the over. It will taste spongy in the microwave because of how the eggs cook. Think microwave scrambled eggs. 2) If you can, grind your own almond meal, or buy almond meal instead of almond flour to make this. It's a bit more coarse and will remind you more of the texture of cornbread that way. Sure, the taste isn't exactly like cornbread, but if I could eat corn I wouldn't be making this, so I don't expect it to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2014

      Its dry salty scrambled egg... not good or satisfying

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      Don't let the simple recipe fool you. It works. As with most "alternative" recipes, this will not taste exactly like cornbread. However, the texture is similar and the taste is more like southern (non-sweet) cornbread. I added a small pack of Stevia. Next time, I'll try two (and I do think it needs some.) I made mine in a white, round baking dish, approximately 5-6" in diameter. I used a 1/2 cup measuring cup, almost full, for the 3½ oz. almond flour. The batter barely filled the bottom of my baking dish, but the bread came out light and thin, just like the picture for this post (small though; might want to make 2 batches.) We ate it with pinto beans. Very nice low-carb alternative "bread" which we'll be making again and again. Followed the baking time, but had to add 20 seconds on 10 power, twice, for my microwave. Thanks for the great alternative.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      Okay, this was just bad. Tried it, hated it, tasted nothing like cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      Great buttery flavor with what tastes to me to be a cornbread-like flavor. It may just be my junky microwave, but I had to microwave it a good bit longer (4 minutes at 80% power, then 2 more minutes at 70% power). It also may have been that I cooked it in an 8x8 glass baking pan, not some plastic dish.
      Not only did I really like this (and will make it again), but my hubby who eats all the carbs he wants, and my 2 daughters, ages 5 & 8 (also full-carbers), all ate more than one piece each. Very Good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Great as French Toast and faster to prepare! I added 1 teaspoon of splenda to the batter. After baking, we dusted it with cinnamon and drizzled a small amount of light maple syrup on it. We didn't really care for it as cornbread so this will be a good French Toast substitute (we could taste the eggs) for my daughter-in-law who is in her 7th month of pregnancy and was recently diagnosed with gestational diabetes so she has to cut down her carb intake. She said this tastes like French Toast made with wheat bread, so she's happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      Surprised to find how nice it was. Using the recipe as a base, I added some Splenda, a little melted butter and enough Cream mixed with water to make a Pikelet batter and cooked as for pikelets. Do try it, it made excellent pikelets. Serve buttered or top with diabetic jam and whipped cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      This is good!!! I'll be making this lots. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      Oh my, this was great and so easy to prepare. The place I live has no low carb products so I'm always trying to find recipes to make my own low carb things. This recipe sounded too good to be true but it was so easy I thought I'd give it a try. The texture is almost like a sweet bready cake even though there is no sugar in it. I spread some diebetic jam on a slice and I felt like I was eating a sweet cake.I thought it would taste eggy but it doesn't.The almonds give it a nice sweet flavor. Thank you Truebrit for an excellent low carb recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

      Very good, more like bread than cornbread, in my opinion. Definitely plan to make it again as a low-carb bread substitute. I added 2 packets of Splenda to the recipe and it made 3 very large muffins in my microwave (probably should not have filled the cups so full, it does rise a bit!). I microwaved them for 2 min 15 sec on high.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2005

      At first I was skeptical, but it was such an easy recipe, I decided to give it a try. Not bad for a low carb "bread". I halfed the recipe, and I used my coffee grinder to grind the almonds. I cooked for 1 min 30 seconds because of halfing the recipe. Cooked up spongy- almost like a cornbread spongecake. I finished off the whole 1/2 pan-- only 0.8 carbs total! The only change I would make for next time is adding a small amount of spenda or nutrasweet. Would also probably be good with a little cinnamon and splenda for a "sweet fix". Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2004

      Excellent! I've made these over and over. Today I sauteed a large leek in th butter and 1 tbsp oil. I added 50g more almonds and 1 tbsp of whipping cream. I cut them into 1 inch squares and they were just like English dumplings - perfect for soaking up gravy!!!. Ideal for Xmas! Thanks truebrit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Delicious Low Carb Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (29 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 116.1
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    80%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 60.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 133.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites