18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This really tasted delicious. As I am on a non-fat diet I suppressed the grated cheese and sprinkled some lemon juice. I served it wiht couscous

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
orchidea June 13, 2002

This is sooooo good n light. Not heavy in your stomach like regular chili with ground beef. I only added half a sliced onion and 1 garlic clove n it was perfect. But to me what made it even better was after turning the stove off I added chopped cilantro and some corn. Thanks so much for this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dookie007 October 19, 2010

I unfortunately felt this recipe lacking. This was my first time cooking with lentils and was excited that it was meatless. I think it could of used more seasoning and I due to personal preference I would of liked it to be thicker.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Johnsdeere February 02, 2015

This was excellent! I didn't have a can of tomatoes so I subbed jar of mild picante. Yummy! Served it with Fritos, onions, and shredded cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHM Foodie January 30, 2014

Very good! I added more of all the spices for our preferences and cooked for a bit longer after step 5, as well. I used Fire-Roasted canned Tomatoes.
VERY GOOD!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lil_ms_priss86_ October 26, 2012

I was looking for an alternative to a normal vegan chili. This is awesome! Even my non-veg husband loved it. I did add some cayenne powder & more chili powder than it called for to give it a kick!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PescatariYum November 06, 2009

I was really surprised my husband like this as much as he does. He's not a huge fan of beans and is a huge fan of meat. He really liked it though. I put it in Crockpot for 8 hrs on low. I added a can of black beans with the liquid. I used 4 cups of my homemade frozen turkey stock and 1 cup of water. I did add the last 3/4 c of water. I just threw everything in and even threw in the stock frozen. Didn't have enough onions, so I used some dried (we love onion and I couldn't bear leaving it out). I also threw in a few shakes of red pepper flakes. I didn't have any celery so I added some mushrooms and frozen corn in the last hour. I put in like 2 1/2 tbsp of garlic, we love garlic too. It came out just the right consistency, not hardly watery at all. We ate this with cornbread and it was the perfect meal. Love that this is a relatively inexpensive meal since I have most of the ingredients in my pantry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enestvmel August 16, 2009

Very good recipe! Even my boyfriend who hates lentils enjoyed this dish. Very filling dish. Based on other reviews, I added 1 can of red kidney beans. Other than that, I stuck straight to the recipe. I will be making this one again. I think its going to be a new wintertime favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacey.moore April 09, 2009

*oHmIgOd* - This stuff rocks the veg world - I doubled the recipe and took a reviewer's suggestion, tossing in dark red kidney beans and tomato paste, then shook some tabasco in as well - with cheddar and sour cream (both fat free) this recipe's amazing! As a veg-head, it's awesome to finally find a veggie chile that actually TASTES like chili! Thank you thank you thank you guys!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiggen March 12, 2009

i tweaked some things here and there, having dealt with lentils before. I like lentils, my husband doesn't. To start I simmered the lentils in beef broth (in place of the salt/water), then because I was out of chili powder, I dumped 1 package of taco seasoning in place of the chili powder, cumin and oregano. I added the remainding water to the desired consistency. I also added 1 can of dark red kidney beans, equivalent of 1 can of frozen corn, 1 diced green bell pepper, 1 diced jalapeno and some cayenne pepper to taste. It was great. Leftovers tasted better the next day. I ate this with fritos and shredded cheddar. Yum! I only rated it a 4,because I think it would have been a little boring without my additions/changes, but the basic recipe was adaptable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fugaler March 03, 2009
Delicious Lentil Chili