Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Delicious Lentil Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Delicious Lentil Chili

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 13, 2002

      This really tasted delicious. As I am on a non-fat diet I suppressed the grated cheese and sprinkled some lemon juice. I served it wiht couscous

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      This is sooooo good n light. Not heavy in your stomach like regular chili with ground beef. I only added half a sliced onion and 1 garlic clove n it was perfect. But to me what made it even better was after turning the stove off I added chopped cilantro and some corn. Thanks so much for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      This was excellent! I didn't have a can of tomatoes so I subbed jar of mild picante. Yummy! Served it with Fritos, onions, and shredded cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2012

      Very good! I added more of all the spices for our preferences and cooked for a bit longer after step 5, as well. I used Fire-Roasted canned Tomatoes.
      VERY GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      I was looking for an alternative to a normal vegan chili. This is awesome! Even my non-veg husband loved it. I did add some cayenne powder & more chili powder than it called for to give it a kick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      I was really surprised my husband like this as much as he does. He's not a huge fan of beans and is a huge fan of meat. He really liked it though. I put it in Crockpot for 8 hrs on low. I added a can of black beans with the liquid. I used 4 cups of my homemade frozen turkey stock and 1 cup of water. I did add the last 3/4 c of water. I just threw everything in and even threw in the stock frozen. Didn't have enough onions, so I used some dried (we love onion and I couldn't bear leaving it out). I also threw in a few shakes of red pepper flakes. I didn't have any celery so I added some mushrooms and frozen corn in the last hour. I put in like 2 1/2 tbsp of garlic, we love garlic too. It came out just the right consistency, not hardly watery at all. We ate this with cornbread and it was the perfect meal. Love that this is a relatively inexpensive meal since I have most of the ingredients in my pantry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      Very good recipe! Even my boyfriend who hates lentils enjoyed this dish. Very filling dish. Based on other reviews, I added 1 can of red kidney beans. Other than that, I stuck straight to the recipe. I will be making this one again. I think its going to be a new wintertime favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      *oHmIgOd* - This stuff rocks the veg world - I doubled the recipe and took a reviewer's suggestion, tossing in dark red kidney beans and tomato paste, then shook some tabasco in as well - with cheddar and sour cream (both fat free) this recipe's amazing! As a veg-head, it's awesome to finally find a veggie chile that actually TASTES like chili! Thank you thank you thank you guys!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      i tweaked some things here and there, having dealt with lentils before. I like lentils, my husband doesn't. To start I simmered the lentils in beef broth (in place of the salt/water), then because I was out of chili powder, I dumped 1 package of taco seasoning in place of the chili powder, cumin and oregano. I added the remainding water to the desired consistency. I also added 1 can of dark red kidney beans, equivalent of 1 can of frozen corn, 1 diced green bell pepper, 1 diced jalapeno and some cayenne pepper to taste. It was great. Leftovers tasted better the next day. I ate this with fritos and shredded cheddar. Yum! I only rated it a 4,because I think it would have been a little boring without my additions/changes, but the basic recipe was adaptable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      This is the only lentil recipe I have made that my family will eat. We really enjoy it with cheese and sour cream. The leftovers make good burritos too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      I enjoyed this but my family wasn't as found of it because it didn't have meat. I did change this a bit, I used a can of tomatoes with green pepper and onion so I didn't add the additional onion. I also didn't have celery. I only added a tablespoon of chili powder as I don't like things too spicy and I didn't add the water as I like my chili thick. I really enjoyed it topped with some cheddar cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      I have to admit, I was skeptical of this recipe, but we were pleasantly surprised! It turned out great, and was really yummy. The only thing I might change is to add another can of tomatoes and some extra water or broth. Otherwise it's a little bit thick. Thanks for adding something new to my menu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Great recipe. It has become a staple in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      I've been making this for years- it's a family favorite. I do the recipe exactly as directed, but I do cook it longer. Sometimes I just throw everything into the crockpot at once- that works, too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      This was hearty and super good, but there is no way that I would mistake it for having meat in it! I added a small can of tomato sauce and a small can of tomato paste. I also cooked it 30-45 minutes longer and at a higher temp. Next time I will add more celery and onions, too. It was really great though, and I love having a new vegan recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2006

      I've been wanting to incorporate more meatless meals in my diet & this recipe I know I'll repeat. I followed it exactly -- the only thing I did differently was let it simmer longer than 30 minutes after step 5. The only other thing I might do differently next time is to add the celery sooner. I topped mine with cheddar cheese, next time I'll make sure to have some cornbread to go with. I'm giving it 5 stars as the flavor was very satisfying & I didn't miss the meat at all. Thanks for posting this Sara, it's going in my file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2005

      Great vegan chili! I added a can of dark kidney beans, a small can of tomato paste, and 1 chopped red bell pepper. Needed lots of 'bulk' to fool a meat eater! We like our chili very thick so I added masa flour at the end until it was the desired thickness. Topped with a bit of soy cheese and served with toasted corn tortillas and it was great. Very "meaty." No one suspected it was meatless until I told them. We like our chili very spicy so I served with chopped serrano peppers and cayenne to taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Delicious Lentil Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (311 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.7
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    96%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 447.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.0 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 25.2 g
    101%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    18%
    Protein 20.8 g
    41%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes