9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious and easy. I got the exact consistency that I was looking for. Couldn't have been any simpler.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maria S. February 19, 2014

Exactly what I was looking for.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitty Kat Cook December 30, 2011

Excellent recipe. I used a souffle dish and skipped the lid (but kept the water bath) and it worked great. We couldn't wait to chill it for an hour so we ate it slightly warm. For those who are new to caramelizing sugar, it's very easy but just takes some patience. Be very careful as it's like molten lava when you pour it in the dish. Absolutely the best flan I've made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PhoodPhight January 24, 2010

After reading the reviews I was excited to try this flan. I followed the directi9ons and when I took it out of the oven it was still liquid. Dont know what I did wrong?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharene64 December 30, 2009

Wow! This flan was soo creamy and dense. It reminds me a lot of Philippine leche flan. I think this recipe has just the right ratio of egg yolks and egg. I didn’t even miss the cinnamon that’s usually added to Mexican flan. Next time I plan on using a can of coconut milk instead of the can of evaporated milk for variation . Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamadelogan April 02, 2009

ymmmmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbinscv December 31, 2007

Mina , This is my mother's recipe. She made the best FLAN, it was dense, because of all the eggs people raved about it. And this is the SECRET! Thank you for sharing it with the world. I will make it to honor her this Christmas.To all you my friends at RECIPE ZAAR! Merry Christmas (Noche Buena)to all!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
delfi December 24, 2007

I love flan!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie Velazquez May 04, 2007

Mina I have made not one, not two, but three flans since getting this recipe here! My husband eats it like there is no tomorrow and I can say that this is "the best" flan I have ever made, I am originally from Brazil and we also make flan, but my mom's recipe uses all the egg whites which made the flan very fluffly and light good though but one day we went to a Cuban restaurant and I had their flan...there are no words, I thank you so much!!!! *I caramelize the side of the flanera as well so that when you cut you get the caramel on all angles!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karinaldasilva January 02, 2007
Delicious, Easy Cuban-Style Flan