Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Delicious Crock Pot Barbecued Pulled Pork Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Delicious Crock Pot Barbecued Pulled Pork

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on April 03, 2013

      I think this recipe has easily been my favourite way to make pulled pork. So much so that I need to update my review! I've made this several times now and it just gets better each time. The roast always, always gets seasoned well in advance now. The earlier, the better! I do not add the barbecue sauce at the beginning. I simply let the roast cook away with the vegetables on its own, no added liquid necessary. For a good 4 lb roast, I find that it takes a lot longer than 8 hours on low; so I'll switch between low and high, depending on the time available. After shredding the meat, and draining away the extra juices (and there's always a ton!) I'll put the meat back into the crock pot, finally add the barbecue sauce (I do not add sugar), and then let it go for another hour or so. Delicious, and less runny than my first attempts. I absolutely love this recipe, and it makes for lots of extra tasty leftovers! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      Cooked 7 hours and then shredded it. 4lbs, plenty of leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Made this last week with the ends cut from 3 large pork loins. I did not have time to marinade the meat with the spices but did rub the spices into the meat. Cooked in crock pot overnight..shredded it and served it to my kitchen helpers at church. They loved it. I used the chops to serve the garden club their annual Christmas dinner. A keeper for me!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2014

      I used 2.5 lb pork shoulder and minced 4 large garlic cloves. I also omitted the BBQ sauce in the pot and the sugar. I just stuck the meat in the crock pot with the onions and peppers at the bottom and no other liquid for 8 hours on low (while I was at work). Once I got home I made my homemade BBQ sauce and the night before I made my Tangy Vinegar Slaw. I shredded the meat, added the BBQ sauce, and served them on Mexican Cemita roll with the Tangy Vinegar Slaw. It was delicious. Thank you Kittencal your recipes never fail me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2013

      Notes as I prepare: 2 small pork roast / loin marinated without garlic (MIL allergic) for two days in fridge in zip lock. 2-3 onions (smallish) sliced thin + 1 lg bell pepper and 1/2 C water into - on HIGH in crock 3 hours. Drained liquid - put veg back on bottom - then roasts on top and added 2 bottles of Sweet Baby Rays. After one more hour (still on high)- took roasts out and shredded put back in to mix / meld. All in all - was 4 hours on high and then another 1 hour on low to meld flavors. Was good - everyone enjoyed it. Thanks Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      LOVED LOVED Loved this!!! I marinated it for 48 hours. Then I placed it without the barbque sauce (added a half cup of water) in the crockpot. I thought it would take at least 12 hours but my 4 pound roast took only 7 hours!!! I did not put it in the bbq sauce. It tasted better without the sauce. Thanks for a great recipe that we will make again and again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2013

      Kittencal, I was looking for a pulled pork recipe with things I had on hand and stumbled on this one (and was thrilled it was yours - you are one of my very favorite chefs!). I am not in the least bit surprised you have an orange muse ~ they are special you know! And no, I don't mean window licking, helmet wearing denizens of the short bus special, though they do have their moments (how do I know? I have one too - and he has THUMBS!...) I just popped my picnic shoulder into the fridge and will be back to review (and give stars) once I pop that baby out of the crockpot! Update: OMG - This did NOT disappoint!!! It is the BEST pulled pork recipe I have tried (or eaten for that matter!!!) I used Chris & Pitts BBQ sauce and added a couple of ADDITIONAL teaspoons of cumin + a little shallot powder (about 1tsp) and off I went. Did I forget to mention I used half a head of freshly minced garlic AND the powder? I LOVE garlic! This was SO GOOD if I could give it 10 stars I would. It is the first pulled pork that wasn't over the top sweet or too spicy for me (no folks, I'm not afraid of some spice but there is a point when it becomes about the spice and is then no longer about the flavor). (Oh! I used sweet (not really sweet, it's just what they call it - it's not the spicy one) smoked paprika rather than regular, it's my favorite, I like the smoky flavor). When we ran out of bread, we added avocado and ate it on tortillas the next day - this is the BOMB DIGGITY! Thank you Kittencal! I should know to trust your recipes ~ they always knock it out of the park!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2011

      We had an 8 lb pork shoulder to use, so I doubled the ingredients, excluding the extra brown sugar (I used homemade BBQ sauce, and it was already pretty sweet), and marinated it for three days. The only thing I might change is mixing up a batch of BBQ sauce that is less sweet, because even without the brown sugar, the pulled pork was too sweet for me, but everyone else gobbled it up and asked for seconds. Thank you Kittencal for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

    • on August 07, 2010

      I cannot say enough good things about this recipe!! I had never made pulled pork before or used a dry rub overnight, but I had been on a pulled pork kick and wanted to make my own. Better than ANY restaurant I've had! I used Dinosaur BBQ Sauce (local restaurant in central NY). I'm drooling just thinking about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2010

      holy awesome pulled pork batman! lol first of all just the smell alone of this cooking was just wonderful! it tasted awesome! i can't wait to make this again :) thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      Another excellent recipe from Kittencal. In fact, my husband knows her by name now. I can't personally review this recipe, as I am a vegetarian. With that said, the three Texas born men (and BBQ snobs) I fed this to, went absolutely nuts over this. I always come to Kittencal's cookbooks when I want to cook a meat-based dish to serve to others (because I can't do any tasting myself). Thanks for making me look like a pro time and time again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      I really liked the rub in this recipe......just spicy enough! I did use a bottled BBQ sauce, Masterpiece Hot and Spicy, because my family likes the heat. I shredded the pork without too much sauce, strained the veggies out of the sauce and served it with the sandwiches. We also had coleslaw and corn on the cob with the meal. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      This was delicious! I added a can of Coor's light beer to the sauce and only used 1 bottle of Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce. I also strained the sauce off the veggies and concentrated the sauce by boiling off some liquid and adding a bit of corn starch. After adding the pulled meat back to the veggies, I poured the majority of the concentrated sauce in and mixed. This gave the pulled pork a much less runny consistency. The rub was very delicious and gave a good bit of spiciness to balance the Sweet Baby Ray.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Hmm...this was my first pulled pork...and I will admit I didn't really like it when I first tried it. I'm a garlic lover, but it was a tad overpowerful. HOWEVER...i really liked the leftovers! so i must try it again and maybe cook it longer. but yea i usually look for kittencal's recipes and this one was probably my fault! i'll put less garlic in next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      the best bbq pulled pork ever! i could only find a 8 lbs pork butt at the store, so I made twice as much but didn't mind. i gave some away to my brother (who loves bbq as much as i do) and he loved it as well. i will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      We loved this! My only change was to add 1 tbsp of liquid smoke. We ended up cooking the pork for 15.5 hours because oddly enough , it still wasn't done cooking. We used a 4.5 lb. pork shoulder. When we found that it wasn't done after 9.5 hours, we removed what fat we could, removed as much meat as we could and then put all the meat back in, along with the bone. Very tasty - thanks Kittencal for yet another winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      Made this for dinner yesterday. It is a keeper. My hubby who is picky about his pulled pork sandwiches and he loved it. Said it was a keeper. I made with your bbq sauce. Thanks for the delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      This was amazing, we used the best bbq sauce: http://www.recipezaar.com/152439 . I also drizzled some honey on top of the sauce/roast before cooking to add a little more sweetness. but over all this recipe is definatly a keeper, thank you!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      excellent recipe! i altered the recipe for 2 lbs. pork tenderloin, which i covered with the spices. then i put everything together in the crockpot the day before. very tasty and easy make-ahead meal. oh and i omitted the brown sugar, but used half of a can of coca-cola! thanks for the yummy keeper!! served with more bbq sauce, coleslaw, baked beans and macaroni and cheese!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Delicious Crock Pot Barbecued Pulled Pork

    Serving Size: 1 (596 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1168.7
     
    Calories from Fat 497
    42%
    Total Fat 55.2 g
    85%
    Saturated Fat 18.9 g
    94%
    Cholesterol 214.7 mg
    71%
    Sodium 1800.0 mg
    75%
    Total Carbohydrate 111.5 g
    37%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 86.8 g
    347%
    Protein 53.3 g
    106%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites