25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is wonderful even with some of the calorie saving changes I made. I used skim milk instead of cream and halved the amount of cheese. I know this would have been even better prepared as written, but it still tasted rich and delicious.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 March 07, 2010

This was fantastic. Only had canned corned beef and (2) cups of swiss cheese. The finished product was absolutely delicious. Without question, this will become a regular meal in our household. I have already emailed the recipe to two friends. THANK YOU for posting. BTW - everything that I have made of yours has turned out great. You have a gift.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twojoinedbygod January 22, 2010

I really enjoyed this soup. Yum. I think the only thing I'll do differently next time is to simmer the corned beef for a couple of hours-- 45 min isn't really sufficient to make it tender. I used petite baby carrots and added one large russet potato in chunks too. I also added maybe 1/2 tsp of caraway seeds and 1 T of chives. Delicious. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. October 27, 2009

oh, yummmm. i left out the tarragon and bay leaf because i didn't have them, and the carrots, because i forgot them by accident...used fat free half and half thanks to another reviewer, and used a 14 oz. can of sauerkraut because that's what i had. i'll be making this again for sure

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ January 25, 2009

This is such a comforting and soothing soup. The weather "outside was frightful" and this soup "inside was delightful". Instead of the whipping cream, I used non-fat half and half. I'm not saying I couldn't tell the difference (since I haven't had it with the real stuff), but I'll say it tasted rich and creamy just the same. I made home made croutons "Croutons" -- I had some dark rye bread and it was the prefect bread to use for the croutons. If you like Reubens, this soup won't disappoint. Thanks, Kitten -- we so enjoyed this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie January 05, 2008

Oh my, this is so good if I don't watch myself I could eat the whole batch myself (good thing I only made 1/2 a recipe).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DPar February 10, 2015

So good! I used less cheese, fat-free half and half, a little more corn starch and added Penzey's Mural of Flavor spice mix. I wish I would have remembered the pumpernickel croutons; that would have made it perfect! I am hoping it will freeze well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
endaira541 February 01, 2015

My husbands favorite soup! Everyone who tries this loves it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisatony1 January 01, 2013

we liked it, but did not love it. DH thought the tarragon was weird, added a licorice taste that "did not fit". next time i make, i will sprinkle the swiss cheese to the top of the soup, because it did not melt well and made the soup stringy. it will be made again, because we both love sauerkraut and Reuben sandwiches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears March 27, 2012

One of the best soups I've ever made, thanks Kittencal! Definitely for sauerkraut lovers. I used corned beef from the deli, but next time I think I'll make it with leftover corned beef from an Irish dinner. I didn't add the chili flakes, but might add a few next time. Used a 15 ounce can of sauerkraut, next time I'll try to find the 10. Sliced the carrots finely instead of shredding, might try shredding next time if I have the energy and will add 1 or 2 more (we love carrots). A delicious and surprisingly healthy soup!

ETA: I made this a second time and used a bag of shredded swiss, but it didn't melt very well and got clumpy. I think I'll have to shred the cheese myself from now on. Stilll wonderfully delcious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz March 20, 2012
Delicious Cream of Reuben Soup