Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Delicious Cream of Reuben Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Delicious Cream of Reuben Soup

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2010

      This is wonderful even with some of the calorie saving changes I made. I used skim milk instead of cream and halved the amount of cheese. I know this would have been even better prepared as written, but it still tasted rich and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      This was fantastic. Only had canned corned beef and (2) cups of swiss cheese. The finished product was absolutely delicious. Without question, this will become a regular meal in our household. I have already emailed the recipe to two friends. THANK YOU for posting. BTW - everything that I have made of yours has turned out great. You have a gift.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      I really enjoyed this soup. Yum. I think the only thing I'll do differently next time is to simmer the corned beef for a couple of hours-- 45 min isn't really sufficient to make it tender. I used petite baby carrots and added one large russet potato in chunks too. I also added maybe 1/2 tsp of caraway seeds and 1 T of chives. Delicious. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      oh, yummmm. i left out the tarragon and bay leaf because i didn't have them, and the carrots, because i forgot them by accident...used fat free half and half thanks to another reviewer, and used a 14 oz. can of sauerkraut because that's what i had. i'll be making this again for sure

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      This is such a comforting and soothing soup. The weather "outside was frightful" and this soup "inside was delightful". Instead of the whipping cream, I used non-fat half and half. I'm not saying I couldn't tell the difference (since I haven't had it with the real stuff), but I'll say it tasted rich and creamy just the same. I made home made croutons "Croutons" -- I had some dark rye bread and it was the prefect bread to use for the croutons. If you like Reubens, this soup won't disappoint. Thanks, Kitten -- we so enjoyed this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      My husbands favorite soup! Everyone who tries this loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2012

      we liked it, but did not love it. DH thought the tarragon was weird, added a licorice taste that "did not fit". next time i make, i will sprinkle the swiss cheese to the top of the soup, because it did not melt well and made the soup stringy. it will be made again, because we both love sauerkraut and Reuben sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      One of the best soups I've ever made, thanks Kittencal! Definitely for sauerkraut lovers. I used corned beef from the deli, but next time I think I'll make it with leftover corned beef from an Irish dinner. I didn't add the chili flakes, but might add a few next time. Used a 15 ounce can of sauerkraut, next time I'll try to find the 10. Sliced the carrots finely instead of shredding, might try shredding next time if I have the energy and will add 1 or 2 more (we love carrots). A delicious and surprisingly healthy soup!

      ETA: I made this a second time and used a bag of shredded swiss, but it didn't melt very well and got clumpy. I think I'll have to shred the cheese myself from now on. Stilll wonderfully delcious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      This was great! I too used Fat Free Half and Half. I also used my left over corned beef from St Patty's Day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      Instead of cream, I used a can of condensed milk. My husband requested this AGAIN! Just wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      UPDATE: 3/12/11: Made this again and received RAVE reviews. Thanks for a great recipe that helps me use my Corned Beef leftovers!!!! {ORIGINAL REVIEW: Yum! I am considerably satisfied after eating this soup. Thank you! It was so simple to make and a great way to use my leftover cooked corned beef from New Years Eve. :) Will certainly make again. p.s. - I used only 1/2 tsp of pepper flakes, and that was just perfect.}

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Of course it would your recipe that I love !!!! Had it at a restaurant last week and put it in the search and their you were. This is even better than what I had in the restaurant ....I really enjoyed the carrots and the nice blend of spices !!! Thanks Kitten

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      Boyfriend and i loved!! added a few more chili pepper flakes, cause we like it spicy. SUPER idea!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      I have to admit that I didn't have really high expectations for this soup. Boy, was I wrong! This was so good! My whole family loved it, even the kiddos. My husband made homemade dark rye croutons and they went great with it! This has got to be the weirdest soup I have ever made but I WILL be making it again and again! Thanks, Kitten!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Loved it! I used a 15-oz jar of sauerkraut. I also added a diced potato.... I just thought it would go well in here and it did! Thanx for a great soup to satisfy the sauerkraut-lover in me. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Oh, Mama! This is an excellent soup, cannot be improved upon. Followed the recipe exactly as every ingredient was one that I am allowed to eat. What is even more wonderful then the taste, is that my blood glucose loved this low carb pot of yum. Kraut loving diabetics will be so very happy. And the second day it tastes even better, as the flavors marry. Thank you for this creation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      Wonderful! I will admit...I printed it out to try because of the "ew factor". LOL. DH loves Reuben sandwiches, so I wanted to see his reaction to it in a soup. Well. He. Ate. It. Up. Love it! In fact, we are having it again this week. YUM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      I enjoyed this last night even though I didn't go to the trouble to make the croûtons. It was quite cool outside and this soup Hit The Spot! DH commented that the soup was "very nice...goes well with brewer's yeast on top." And teenage daughters said, "It was very tasty...good dish...filling...the textures were nice...and...it was content-ify-ing." (: Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      Made this yesterday for dinner and it was absolutely delicious! Even better today for lunch. Will definitely make this again. Only change will be to double it. I want some right now! Thank you Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      Phenomonal reuben soup! It is SO tasty and delish. I could only find a 8 oz can of kraut which I rinsed well before adding to the soup. I made homemade croutons using leftover dark rye bread to top it off. I had accolades all around from everyone. A definite repeat in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Delicious Cream of Reuben Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (2895 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 269.2
     
    Calories from Fat 187
    69%
    Total Fat 20.8 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 11.8 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 74.0 mg
    24%
    Sodium 836.3 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites