31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are just fantastic--5 stars from us! They were good as rolls/biscuits to accompany dinner, then incredible a few days later when I used the rest of the batter to make cinnamon rolls. I used half the sugar, and used equal parts white wheat, whole wheat, and spelt flours to add fiber/protein. Since other reviews don't mention how they made cinnamon rolls, here;s what I did: I rolled the dough into a rectangle and brush with butter then sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon. I then rolled the rectangle lengthwise and cut it into equal portions. Because I like gooey rolls I put them close together in a pan (sides touching) I had coated with cinnamon sugar and baked about 20 minutes. Once cool I brushed on a glaze made of powdered sugar, a few T milk, and a few drops each of vanilla and butter extracts. Heaven! Thanks so much for posting, Mimi!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian September 06, 2010

5 stars for easy and 5 stars for taste. Put together quicky, even with letting my dough rest for 30 min they were done fast. I made half the recipe, and had enough dough for dinner rolls 2 nights plus a few "cinnamon rolls" - dough rolled in cinnamon sugar, plus a few sausage cheese biscuits for breakfast. Be sure to put the leftover dough in a LARGE container, the medium sized tupperware I kept mine in kept getting its lid blown off in the fridge from the dough rising! A keeper for sure, thanks so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 November 11, 2010

Mimi! I have read every one of the reviews for this recipe, and I honestly don't think I can add anything more! These are a breeze to make, they bake up beautifully,and they are delicious! The convenience of a nice hot roll/biscuit for dinner makes them worth their weight in gold! I have made them twice, and the next time, I may use a little less sugar.These will always be my go-to roll/biscuit. Mine took about 18-19 min. to bake where the crust was nice and brown. I also only got from between 24-26 biscuits, but I may have made them a little larger than you did. No matter, this recipe is definately a keeper, and I thank you for both my hubby and myself. He loves to have fresh bread and I wish I, like another reviewer, had a camera to take his picture when he saw them coming to the table! Thanks so much for sharing this delightful recipe! I noticed that someone said they'd made pizza dough with these, I wonder what this, made into a loaf (as in bread)would come out like? Thanks again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLUFFSTER April 02, 2010

Excellent recipe! My sister and I have made good yeast rolls for years, but couldn't get biscuits quite right. Yes, these are a cross between a yeast roll & a biscuit, but I do believe they would be closer to a biscuit if you halved the sugar as mentioned by another reviewer. I also agree w/another reviewer that they get better after a couple of days in the fridge. I let the dough sit out as long as possible before patting mine out by hand instead of rolling and then using a biscuit cutter. I think they might be "prettier" if I shaped them by hand instead of cutting-they don't seem to rise as high as mentioned by other reviewers. Thanks for an excellent easy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saucy Pumpkin October 08, 2008

I made these for my wife's birthday dinner. Everyone loved them and the leftovers were snatched up. I rolled mine out to 3/4" and used a biscuit cutter -- did not get anywhere near the 36 that the recipe said -- more like 24 -- I put mine in two 9" round cake pans -- they baked up nicely and just pulled apart to serve -- maybe it was the fact that they were baked close together and so thick because I had to bake for 20 minutes -- I could have baked longer but one of the daughters grabbed one and said it was excellent -- AND they were EXCELLENT -- about 2" high -- next time might roll out to 1/2" . I made the dough yesterday so it was nice to pop them in the oven in just a few minutes after I got home. My Grandmother said I should sell them and she would buy the first batch! Don't know about that but they will surely be showing up at all family dinners from now on. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WaCookinFool September 16, 2008

I Love This Recipe!!! It is soooo delicious, easy and versitile. I have used part whole wheat flour with good results. I have made rolls stuffed with different meat and cheese mixtures and baked them for picnics with my son. I have rolled the dough thin and used it to make a quick pizza, I have made cinnamon rolls and of course dinner rolls. This dough does it all and makes it so easy to produce yummy things for my family. Thank you so much for posting this. Update: When using this dough for savory things I only use half the sugar called for. Still a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
faeriesbite May 08, 2008

I love this recipe!!! I will be making this all the time. I love that you can keep dough in fridge and make them as wanted. The dough is very easy to work with. My kids went crazy over these. If you are using the yeast from a jar use 4 1/2 teaspoons in this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanV March 05, 2008

I was SO excited to find this recipe-- this is what I've been looking for! I love having freshly baked yeast bread along with dinner, but a busy schedule usually prevents me from putting in the time to make it. I whipped this recipe up in about 15 minutes and put it in an airtight bowl in my fridge. Anytime I need a roll, I grab a bit of dough, form it into a biscuit shape, and pop it into the oven. I'm usually only cooking for two, so being able to store the dough and use little bits at a time is a wonderful time saving feature. I am ecstatic that this dough can be stored for so long-- but I can guarantee it's shelf life will never be extensively tested-- we'll be eating these up pretty fast. These are soft, tasty rolls with a biscuit-like texture, and I love being able to cook one up for breakfast in the morning with virtually no prep. This recipe is FANTASTIC; thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
childerz February 08, 2008

I've made these twice in the last 4 days and they are fabulous! I have been making yeast breads for years but have never been good at making biscuits. I wasn't sure how much I should handle the dough because with biscuits one should mix until just combined, but with bread one should knead for a few minutes. So... The first time I made them I mixed lightly, patted out and cut. They tasted great, but weren't very pretty. The next time I made them I left the dough in the fridge a couple of days, kneaded on a floured board 3-4 times, rolled and cut. Perfect. I think the flavor is even better after a few days in the fridge. I will make these often as it is wonderful to be able to take out a little dough and have fresh bread every night. This is definitely worthy of more than five stars. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe Mimi!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MamaJ November 11, 2007

Wish I could give you 10 stars! These are WONDERFUL! While cruising in Mexico this year a fellow cruiser brought over his uncle's SECRET recipe for Cowboy Biscuits and I fell in love with them. When I decided to research the recipe I turned first to RZ (of course), and there they were! I Still have a batch in the refridge and plan to try rolling some of them in a cinnamon sugar mixture. I'll let you know how it works out! THANKS for posting! Update May 6: Stored about 2/3 in the refridge and used a portion this morning to make carmel rolls. Melted about 1/4 cup butter in pan, then added about 1/3 cup brown sugar and pecans. Rolled the dough to about 1/2 inch and sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon. Then rolled lengthwise and sliced . . . then placed on top of the brown sugar mixture. Baked about 25 minutes. THEY WERE DELICIOUS! Another Update . . . used the last of the dough to make more carmel rolls, only this time poured about 1/4 cup of sweet cream (whipping cream) over the butter/nut mixture in the bottom of the pan. Once baked, inverted on a serving dish and they were so 'ooey gooey' delicious. Thanks again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench June 22, 2007
Delicious Cowboy Biscuits