729 Reviews

Made this tonight for my mother for dinner and OMG was it delicious!! She made a homemade crust for it and I did the rest. I added some green peppers, garlic, and peas along with everything else it called for (trying to use up some veggies I had left over from a veggie plate from a previous get together). This is truly the best pot pie I've ever had. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. I will be making it many times more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msjill111 January 06, 2011

This recipe is delicious! I did change the amount of veggies, instead of 1 cup I did about 1 3/4 cups. I used 1/2 the butter for sauteing. I also added Vegeta in the mixture of vegetables and Lowery Season Salt instead of salt. I used heavy whipping cream instead of half and half. It was really good and I will make it all the time. A great comfort food in the cold weather in Ohio. Make it you will love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmaqueenie January 06, 2011

This has to be one of the most delicious things I have ever eaten. I can't give it enough stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hunny bunny November 27, 2010

This was a great recipe! I was simple to make and tasted amazing. The whole family loved it. I made a double batch and was glad because the leftovers were fantastic. Next time I think I'll add some corn and peas for variety. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa_8201 November 11, 2010

I just reviewed it but forgot to add what I've changed. To speed time up a little bit. Just add in frozen mixed veggies (corn, green beans, carrots, ect.) I add that in after I sauted the onions and garlic for a couple of minutes. I do 16 oz because I have 5 mouths to feed. I cut up potatoes and stick them in the microwave for a couple of minutes just to make sure they were soft and tender. I also add another cup of chicken broth to make it a little more creamier. My hubby doesn't like it too thick. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. Will never use another chicken pot pie recipe again!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bekahgodt November 03, 2010

Amazing recipe. My new favorite pot pie. I used 2 cans of canned chicken breasts (YIKES!!) because I didn't have any fresh chicken breasts and it worked great. It made it even easier and it tasted awesome. Next time - I'll double it and freeze the middle for a quick weekday meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pocatello August 29, 2010

Excellent! This deserves the 5 stars. My husband had a hard time getting past the fact that there was no bottom crust so next time I'll add that. For the potatoes I used cubed frozen hashbrowns and for the carrots I used frozen peas & carrots with great results. We really enjoyed this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DonnaColorado Johnson August 24, 2010

Very good! I cooked chicken thighs in my crock pot overnight and prepared the rest in the morning. Having grown up on Swanson's chicken pot pies I craved that creamy filling. I couldn't resist the temptation to add half a can of cream of chicken soup. It's tasty either way but I just was having one of those childhood memory moments:) The family loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoCo July 03, 2010

Have i not rated this i'm thinking?! Once I came upon this recipe a year or two ago it is the ONLY pot pie recipe i use! This is hands down the best, most authentic tasting and easiest (with real ingredients) chicken pot pie recipe there is.... just wanted to add my praise and say thank you for posting it :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mel#608 July 02, 2010

This is the only recipe I use now for chicken pot pie...easy and delicious...Thank you for posting...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetOlive June 23, 2010
Delicious Chicken Pot Pie