729 Reviews

Delicious and straight-forward. Make sure you thaw the pie crusts ahead of time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aviad Sheinfeld May 23, 2003

This was outstanding and easy! Makes quite a nice presentation, too. I added about 3/4 cup of frozen peas to the mixture just before baking. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janet Tarrant April 05, 2003

This recipe was delicious, and very easy to make. My older sister and I, who are both teenagers who cook only for hobby, had no trouble with this dish, and it came out beautifully. We replaced the margarine with 2 tablespoons of olive oil, added in a half cup of broccoli and a half cup of peas, replaced the cream with whole milk, and used a top and bottom crust. Similar to other reviewers, we found that salt and pepper were not adequate spices, and added in thyme, nutmeg, and cayenne as well. The product was beautiful, and we will be making this again soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
10Swaggernauts1Skateboard July 23, 2015

This was the most amazing Chicken Pie we've had!! After reading the previous reviews that it seemed a little on the bland side, I added a few things to perk up the flavour. Sauteed about 1 tsp of garlic paste with the vegetables, and added 1 tsp parsley, 1 tsp oregano, 1/4 tsp of paprika, 1/8 tsp of nutmeg and 1 tsp of chicken powder (added this one time, and left it out the second time..) . Also threw in some bell peppers and mushrooms. This went straight in my favorites folder!! I may try it with puff pastry also next time instead of pie crust.. just to experiment :) Thank you for an amazing recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K's January 05, 2012

A lovely recipe.
If you don't have any chicken broth available just add a few chicken bouillon cubes and thicken with two tables. conrflour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anastasia-Sacha December 27, 2011

This is an easy recipe which lends itself well to any kind of meat or veggie, fresh or froaen. I have used beef, chicken and turkey(not at the same time) and found it to be a very tastey every time. I have even served it to guests. It is now one of my favorite comfort foods!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
albiongreen December 11, 2011

I added thyme, a bay leaf and poultry seasoning to the stock to give it more flavor. The pot pie was AMAZING!!! Perfect for a cold night!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dropofhope December 03, 2011

I love this recipe!! I tweaked it to my own liking and added some poultry seasoning and sage to the recipe. For the vegetables, I only used potatoes, carrots, and onions. I bought a rotisserie chicken from the supermarket and shredded it instead of cooking my own. I also used non-fat half & half along with low sodium chicken broth to help cut calories and it was still delicious! No one knew it was the dish was low-calorie! Everyone that has tried my chicken pot pie loved it and always asks me to make some more. Try it and you won't be disappointed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YummyCakes December 01, 2011

Wow! This is really good! I used a large potato, 2 stalks of celery, two carrots, and a small onion. My sautee time was closer to a half an hour, and I cooked my chicken in 3 cups of chicken broth and a bay leaf. I then strained the broth and used it in the recipe. I shaped one pie crust to fit over my 13 x 9 pan. Excellent!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cgmonster November 22, 2011

Very tasty. I followed the recipe exactly except I added 2 minced cloves of garlic to the vegetables. My plan was to make mini pot pies with this but this is a lot of filling for that, so I made a few of them, a couple bigger ones (in 14 oz ramekins) and used the rest for chicken and dumplings. This is a very versatile recipe. Definitely a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twiggyann November 04, 2011
Delicious Chicken Pot Pie