708 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was outstanding and easy! Makes quite a nice presentation, too. I added about 3/4 cup of frozen peas to the mixture just before baking. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janet Tarrant April 05, 2003

This was the most amazing Chicken Pie we've had!! After reading the previous reviews that it seemed a little on the bland side, I added a few things to perk up the flavour. Sauteed about 1 tsp of garlic paste with the vegetables, and added 1 tsp parsley, 1 tsp oregano, 1/4 tsp of paprika, 1/8 tsp of nutmeg and 1 tsp of chicken powder (added this one time, and left it out the second time..) . Also threw in some bell peppers and mushrooms. This went straight in my favorites folder!! I may try it with puff pastry also next time instead of pie crust.. just to experiment :) Thank you for an amazing recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K's January 05, 2012

A lovely recipe.
If you don't have any chicken broth available just add a few chicken bouillon cubes and thicken with two tables. conrflour.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anastasia-Sacha December 27, 2011

This is an easy recipe which lends itself well to any kind of meat or veggie, fresh or froaen. I have used beef, chicken and turkey(not at the same time) and found it to be a very tastey every time. I have even served it to guests. It is now one of my favorite comfort foods!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
albiongreen December 11, 2011

I added thyme, a bay leaf and poultry seasoning to the stock to give it more flavor. The pot pie was AMAZING!!! Perfect for a cold night!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dropofhope December 03, 2011

I love this recipe!! I tweaked it to my own liking and added some poultry seasoning and sage to the recipe. For the vegetables, I only used potatoes, carrots, and onions. I bought a rotisserie chicken from the supermarket and shredded it instead of cooking my own. I also used non-fat half & half along with low sodium chicken broth to help cut calories and it was still delicious! No one knew it was the dish was low-calorie! Everyone that has tried my chicken pot pie loved it and always asks me to make some more. Try it and you won't be disappointed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YummyCakes December 01, 2011

Wow! This is really good! I used a large potato, 2 stalks of celery, two carrots, and a small onion. My sautee time was closer to a half an hour, and I cooked my chicken in 3 cups of chicken broth and a bay leaf. I then strained the broth and used it in the recipe. I shaped one pie crust to fit over my 13 x 9 pan. Excellent!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cgmonster November 22, 2011

Very tasty. I followed the recipe exactly except I added 2 minced cloves of garlic to the vegetables. My plan was to make mini pot pies with this but this is a lot of filling for that, so I made a few of them, a couple bigger ones (in 14 oz ramekins) and used the rest for chicken and dumplings. This is a very versatile recipe. Definitely a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twiggyann November 04, 2011

this is the best pie ever. my family loved it.no leftover. thanks so much for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nekkiwoo September 21, 2011

Our neighbour introduced us to this delicious comfort food by bringing over a pie made from this recipe, along with a printout of the recipe, and I just did the same for a friend who is under the weather. By follwing the recipe to the letter, I always have enough to make a casserole-sized pie for the family and a smaller one for lunch (or seconds!), and I know from experience what a lovely gift it is to receive. I make it after every rotisserie chicken and use only one Tenderflake frozen pie crust. An aptly named and simple-to-make hit with the family!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heatherbee2 May 08, 2011
Delicious Chicken Pot Pie