731 Reviews

UPDATE: Added 3/4 C white wine and a couple of tbl of fresh herbs (sage / rosemary / thyme) Added the herbs after putting in the broth and half and half. Seems perfect this way. Original: I made this last night. Everyone liked it. Thanks to the other reviewers got some ideas and added some poultry seasoning, thyme, and rosemary to the chicken and then baked it. My husband said I should have also added a bit more of the same seasoning to the pot pie mixture. Will do that next time. One other reviewer also said a bit more liquid is good - and she used white wine. I am FOR SURE doing that next time too. We used homemade crusts - also from this site. I will for sure make this many times again. Thanks for posting! PS -- be extra sure to add extra liquid if you are going to have left overs. Our left overs had very little sauce and was very thick...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gidget265 November 29, 2015

The technique of putting 2 pie crusts on top was an interesting and excellent alternative to a 2-crust pie (one on the bottom and one on the top.) It avoided the sticky gooey bottom crust problem, while still giving you 2 crusts. However, the amount of flour in the sauce thickened it to the point of making it disappear as sauce and turn into goo. I highly recommend either increasing the liquid or reducing the thickening flour. I think the flavoring could also be improved with some thyme and/or garlic. It was pretty bland. I'm going to try some of the other pot pie recipes here before trying this one again (with the tweeks I recommend.) I'm hoping I can find a better recipe next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest December 16, 2013

OMG! This recipe deserves 10 stars! I thought I had a half way decent chicken pot pie recipe but this one blows it out of the water. Highly suggest!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katersmom February 08, 2012

I've made this at least a half dozen times in the last year. Everyone loves it. I boil (poach?) the chicken in water with half an onion, bay leaf, salt, pepper and poultry seasoning. I shred the chicken after it's cooked and season it with a bit more salt, pepper, poultry seasoning, garlic and onion powders.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bernrome June 29, 2011

This was a great recipe! I made it for Sunday dinner with my family and it was a hit. I doubled the receipe to make it in a 9x13 pan and added peas. I will make this again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Genevasgradaughter January 10, 2011

We thought this was a very good dish. I didn't use celery and I only used 1 pie crust. I also used skim milk instead of half and half because that was all we had on hand. After we ate this, I quickly made another one to put in the freezer. This really doesn't take much work using the fresh veggies. I did add some peas to it though, as I thought it needed more veggies. Thanks for sharing this delicious meal.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids January 06, 2011

Wow, comfort food at its best. This is very delicious. My brother pointed out this recipe to me while we were on the phone, I looked at it and had to make it. He made his with the pie crusts, on bottom and top, he told me his family loved it (4 children). I made mine with a biscuit topping, just to be different :) , it is delish! We both added green peas to ours, it is what we are used to, He told me that he might add a little more liquid, but it wasn't really nesasary, I added a little more liquid (per his suggestion) and it came out perfect. Coming from people from down South US, this is as good as it gets. (next time I may add a little green bell pepper and mushrooms) Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chipfo December 13, 2010

Made this as it was written, for a pot luck at the pool. Big hit! Gone in 60 seconds.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom Edgar November 10, 2010

i thought i reviewed this!!! guess not! this is FABULOUS! comfort food for sure!!! I double this recipe and put in a 9x13 pan - then put 2 pie crusts on top to cover (use homemade crusts, i don't use a bottom crust) for more flavoring i add to the mixture dried cilantro, sage, and onion powder to give it added zing. LOVE this!!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefmuffnette November 02, 2010

As if this pot pie needs one more review! The only thing I wanted to add is that I use a store bought roast chicken for the meat which gives some white and dark meat and I feel it really needs some herbs for the best flavor--I add 1 tsp of garlic powder, thyme, and rosemary and to me that makes it perfect! I have made for family and friends and everyone loves it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AlliK October 11, 2010
Delicious Chicken Pot Pie