Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Delicious Chicken Pot Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Delicious Chicken Pot Pie

    Average Rating:

    700 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 700

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2013

      The technique of putting 2 pie crusts on top was an interesting and excellent alternative to a 2-crust pie (one on the bottom and one on the top.) It avoided the sticky gooey bottom crust problem, while still giving you 2 crusts. However, the amount of flour in the sauce thickened it to the point of making it disappear as sauce and turn into goo. I highly recommend either increasing the liquid or reducing the thickening flour. I think the flavoring could also be improved with some thyme and/or garlic. It was pretty bland. I'm going to try some of the other pot pie recipes here before trying this one again (with the tweeks I recommend.) I'm hoping I can find a better recipe next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      OMG! This recipe deserves 10 stars! I thought I had a half way decent chicken pot pie recipe but this one blows it out of the water. Highly suggest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      I've made this at least a half dozen times in the last year. Everyone loves it. I boil (poach?) the chicken in water with half an onion, bay leaf, salt, pepper and poultry seasoning. I shred the chicken after it's cooked and season it with a bit more salt, pepper, poultry seasoning, garlic and onion powders.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      This was a great recipe! I made it for Sunday dinner with my family and it was a hit. I doubled the receipe to make it in a 9x13 pan and added peas. I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      We thought this was a very good dish. I didn't use celery and I only used 1 pie crust. I also used skim milk instead of half and half because that was all we had on hand. After we ate this, I quickly made another one to put in the freezer. This really doesn't take much work using the fresh veggies. I did add some peas to it though, as I thought it needed more veggies. Thanks for sharing this delicious meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      Wow, comfort food at its best. This is very delicious. My brother pointed out this recipe to me while we were on the phone, I looked at it and had to make it. He made his with the pie crusts, on bottom and top, he told me his family loved it (4 children). I made mine with a biscuit topping, just to be different :) , it is delish! We both added green peas to ours, it is what we are used to, He told me that he might add a little more liquid, but it wasn't really nesasary, I added a little more liquid (per his suggestion) and it came out perfect. Coming from people from down South US, this is as good as it gets. (next time I may add a little green bell pepper and mushrooms) Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      Made this as it was written, for a pot luck at the pool. Big hit! Gone in 60 seconds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      i thought i reviewed this!!! guess not! this is FABULOUS! comfort food for sure!!! I double this recipe and put in a 9x13 pan - then put 2 pie crusts on top to cover (use homemade crusts, i don't use a bottom crust) for more flavoring i add to the mixture dried cilantro, sage, and onion powder to give it added zing. LOVE this!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      As if this pot pie needs one more review! The only thing I wanted to add is that I use a store bought roast chicken for the meat which gives some white and dark meat and I feel it really needs some herbs for the best flavor--I add 1 tsp of garlic powder, thyme, and rosemary and to me that makes it perfect! I have made for family and friends and everyone loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2003

      Delicious and straight-forward. Make sure you thaw the pie crusts ahead of time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2003

      This was outstanding and easy! Makes quite a nice presentation, too. I added about 3/4 cup of frozen peas to the mixture just before baking. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      This was the most amazing Chicken Pie we've had!! After reading the previous reviews that it seemed a little on the bland side, I added a few things to perk up the flavour. Sauteed about 1 tsp of garlic paste with the vegetables, and added 1 tsp parsley, 1 tsp oregano, 1/4 tsp of paprika, 1/8 tsp of nutmeg and 1 tsp of chicken powder (added this one time, and left it out the second time..) . Also threw in some bell peppers and mushrooms. This went straight in my favorites folder!! I may try it with puff pastry also next time instead of pie crust.. just to experiment :) Thank you for an amazing recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      A lovely recipe.
      If you don't have any chicken broth available just add a few chicken bouillon cubes and thicken with two tables. conrflour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      This is an easy recipe which lends itself well to any kind of meat or veggie, fresh or froaen. I have used beef, chicken and turkey(not at the same time) and found it to be a very tastey every time. I have even served it to guests. It is now one of my favorite comfort foods!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2011

      I added thyme, a bay leaf and poultry seasoning to the stock to give it more flavor. The pot pie was AMAZING!!! Perfect for a cold night!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2011

      I love this recipe!! I tweaked it to my own liking and added some poultry seasoning and sage to the recipe. For the vegetables, I only used potatoes, carrots, and onions. I bought a rotisserie chicken from the supermarket and shredded it instead of cooking my own. I also used non-fat half & half along with low sodium chicken broth to help cut calories and it was still delicious! No one knew it was the dish was low-calorie! Everyone that has tried my chicken pot pie loved it and always asks me to make some more. Try it and you won't be disappointed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      Wow! This is really good! I used a large potato, 2 stalks of celery, two carrots, and a small onion. My sautee time was closer to a half an hour, and I cooked my chicken in 3 cups of chicken broth and a bay leaf. I then strained the broth and used it in the recipe. I shaped one pie crust to fit over my 13 x 9 pan. Excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      Very tasty. I followed the recipe exactly except I added 2 minced cloves of garlic to the vegetables. My plan was to make mini pot pies with this but this is a lot of filling for that, so I made a few of them, a couple bigger ones (in 14 oz ramekins) and used the rest for chicken and dumplings. This is a very versatile recipe. Definitely a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      this is the best pie ever. my family loved it.no leftover. thanks so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      Our neighbour introduced us to this delicious comfort food by bringing over a pie made from this recipe, along with a printout of the recipe, and I just did the same for a friend who is under the weather. By follwing the recipe to the letter, I always have enough to make a casserole-sized pie for the family and a smaller one for lunch (or seconds!), and I know from experience what a lovely gift it is to receive. I make it after every rotisserie chicken and use only one Tenderflake frozen pie crust. An aptly named and simple-to-make hit with the family!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Delicious Chicken Pot Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 538.2
     
    Calories from Fat 317
    59%
    Total Fat 35.3 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 14.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 1113.7 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites