709 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is without a doubt the best chicken pot pie I've ever made or eaten in my life!!! My boys said, "it was da bomb", (meaning excellent). I had to double the recipe to make a big 9 X 13 pie to feed my gang, so I had alot of work ahead. I did all the prep work (minced the onion, peeled and diced the potatoes and carrots, and diced 1.5 lbs. of chicken breasts then cooked them in 2 cups of broth and a bay leaf) the day before then refrigerated it all until the next day, when once I made the top crust, it was a snap to do the rest. I just had to cook the already peeled and diced potatoes/carrots, warm the chicken in the micro and make the sauce. Ohhhh so delicious!!

45 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kfinkle June 26, 2002

This was excellent.I added mushrooms,bell pepper and green onions and instead of half and half I used heavy whipping cream(that was all I had).It was creamy and delicious.Thanks for sharing I advise everyone to try this!!!

37 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crawfish pie March 08, 2002

This chicken pot pie was THE MOST DELICIOUS I've ever tasted! Everyone LOVED it!!!! It sure is definately worth the extra time it takes. I added mushrooms as well. I cooked and browned the chicken with some olive oil, salt and pepper. I prepped the filling the night before and put it in the frig, then the next night I just (heated up the mixture) filled the pies, put them in the oven to cook.

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michele Luz April 02, 2002

I almost followed this recipe exactly and found that it was great! It is rich and creamy and full of flavor, my husband and I ate way more than we should have. I left out the celery because I hate celery and opted to use a frozen bag of mixed veggies (peas, carrots, corn and green beans) to avoid all the chopping and add some more textures and healthy bits. So I just cooked the potato and onions together until almost soft. Followed the directions exactly and then added the mixed frozen veggies in step 7 when you add in the cooked chicken. I just added what I thought was "enough" and everything looked chunky and well proportioned. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to have a bottom crust so I made mine with a top and bottom and it came out great. If you have left over chicken or perhaps pick up a rotisserie chicken and use the frozen veggies like I did, prep time on this recipe is about 20 minutes, which is awesome for a home made pot pie.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackshoe July 23, 2010

This recipe was 5 stars and more. It was so delicious and not hard to make at all. After reading all the reviews and looking at the recipe I had to agree it needed some spices. Did everything in the directions but added a pinch of nutmeg, some garlic salt, thyme, poultry seasoning, rosemary and about 1/4 cup white wine and I added a bit of frozen peas. For the top crust I used Pillsbury crescent rolls. The flavor was so yummy, we really enjoyed this dish so much. I had made the mixture the night before and then made the individual bowls for lunch in the morning. It took just and extra 15 minutes in the oven. But next time I make this I would like it to have just a bit more juice to it. It had creamy flavor but I would of preferred just a bit more liquid so I would add a little more broth and wine. The wine really adds a very nice rich flavor to the dish. Thanks so much for sharing your lovely recipe vincy....We loved it....

UPDATE: Made this again and went with adding the extra 1/4 cup of wine with an extra 3/4 cup of broth which was an extra 1 cup of liquid to the recipe in all. Perfect...and I measured the seasonings I put in and it was a pinch of nutmeg and a tsp. of the other spices mentioned above. It made this delicious dish even more yummy, had the perfect amount of creaminess...I would also like to add that I had timed myself and it was all done and ready to pop in the oven in 30 minutes not an hour.... So if an hour might scare some people off ..don't let it...This recipe is so worth going for and can be ready for oven in the 30 minutes.

Just back to add my stars ...they keep disappearing !!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny September 05, 2011

Everyone finished off this meal.This was easy to make and did not take long to make at all!Will serve this on a regular basis. May try a puff pastry topping next time.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelync April 10, 2002

I am a full-time house wife and Mom, but I also work 4 nights a week as a cook. The family I cook for really enjoys comfort food so I am always on the look out for quick, but tastey recipes that avoid any cream-of-goop-clog-your-arteries soup. This has been the best recipe that I have found on recipezaar so far. So easy to make I threw together 2 of them and both my family and my employers were clamoring for more! I did substitute bullion for the broth (alas I was out of stock) and so omitted adding any further salt. I also added a bit of summer savory which added a nice herby flavor. Sage, thyme, or majoram would be good too I think. Oh! And for a creamier texture I used half a cup of heavy cream instead of a full cup of half and half. I also made my own pastry (I try to keep as much of my cooking "homemade" as possible). Sift together 1 C. flour and 1 t. salt. Cut in 1/4 lb. cold butter or marg. till resembles coarse crumbs. Whisk together 1 egg yolk and 2 T. ice water add to flour mixture and mix till it just comes together. Let rest in frig for 20 minutes then roll out and top pie. Easy-peasy and SOOOOOOOOO good.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex October 16, 2002

This receipe was absolutely wonderful! I am an amateur cook who was looking for something new and different, but yet easy to make. My husband loved it!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Drew May 07, 2002

This recipe will be added to my personal cookbook! I have no doubt I will make it many times again. Well worth the prep. time, and both my husband and I enjoyed it thoroughly! I may even make it for our vegetarian friends, just increase the veg. content and omit chicken. Sharon Paras shipps13@rogers.com

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon13 April 07, 2002

Oh my goodness is all I can say about this recipe. It was the most elegant and delicious thing I think I have made in a long time everyone in my home loves this pie and I recommend that you try it I used the regerated pie crust from Pillsbury for both top and bottom...how wonderful..YUM ...If you have kids that are picky eaters this will be a hit. Mine refuses to eat any other type of pot pie especially the yucky frozen ones. I substituted the broth from a 18 oz can of chicken noodle soup had to add two ounces to get to 2 cups it added more dimension to it than just the plain ordinary chicken broth in the box or can....delicious people try it you won't be sorry

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindarcrawford July 31, 2010
Delicious Chicken Pot Pie