23 Reviews

Very delicious way to use leftover turkey. This is the 3rd tetrazzini recipe we've tried after Thanksgiving holiday and my DH says it was the best one! Instead of chicken bouillon and water, I used 2 cups of chicken stock. I drained the sliced mushrooms, and there was still plenty of moisture left. Overall a family-style dish that I will turn to again and again. Thanks, Noo! Made for PRMR tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees December 03, 2011

Made as directed. I have never had Tetrazzini before. I thought it was pretty good, the guests that were over all loved it. So it passes the test! Great recipe, made for PRMR!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nochlo November 17, 2013

Great way to use leftover chicken. As has been said before, the sour cream and cottage cheese keep this moist. I sauteed some fresh mushrooms for this and we enjoyed it. Thanks Noo for sharing. Made for PRMR tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme September 21, 2013

This was sooooo delicious. We loved the sour cream and cottage cheese in this. Best tetrazzini I've ever had. Thanks for posting .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn January 08, 2013

Very good way to use up leftover turkey. I sauteed fresh mushroom slices instead of using jarred. The cottage cheese and sour cream keep this moist. Other Tetrazzini recipes I have tried are always too dry. Thanks for this keeper. BTW, Luisa Tetrazzini was an Italian opera Singer and this dish was invented for her c 1908 in San Francisco, at the Palace Hotel, where she lived.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here November 26, 2012

Family loved it even though they were a bit nervous about the name. Great to use leftovers. My only critique is the use of jarred mushrooms. If you'd like to use fresh like I did add them at to the butter just before the flour (about 4 good sized for 4 oz). Used corn spaghetti and it worked great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny E. May 24, 2011

Excellent recipe! I always add a slew of extra spices and this dish was no exception, but as is it would have been yummy too! I doubled the recipe. Very good! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Radish4ever February 24, 2010

This will be my new day after Thanksgiving recipe! I made this last night with some left over turkey. I was a little nervous about the cottage cheese. However, it gave it a very rich flavor. We left out the mushrooms for personal preference. I don't agree with other reviewers that this is bland. I think it taste great. I waited to top with cheese until the last ten minutes of cooking. Thanks Noo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seesko January 09, 2010

I read another reviewer commenting on the blandness and went ahead and added some garlic and parsley. I also used chicken cooked with dill and found the flavour pretty good after that. I used about 1 cup of cheese on top. DD wasn't a big fan of it, and DH didn't like the mushrooms in it, but averaged out I came up with 4 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 November 03, 2009

This was an ok dish, but not one that was enthusiastically received. I am pretty sure I've never had tetrazzini - I guess it's just a little bland for us. I think it's a decent dish, and I think I'd bring it to a potluck, as many of the folks I know prefer things on the less adventurous side of cooking. I might add some garlic and more fresh herbs, though. I used gemelli rather than spaghetti, and I thought the dish improved after standing overnight and being heated in the microwave. Thanks for posting, at least now I know what this dish is about, and I appreciated that it does not use canned cream soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte November 03, 2009
Delicious Chicken (Or Turkey!) Tetrazzini