13 Reviews

OMG these are fantastic. My DH loves blueberry bars and he says these are the best so far. thank you so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. November 14, 2010

These are fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly. They are in the freezer now waiting for me to take them to work this week. I snuck a small piece out of the pan while they were warm and I just swooned. If eaten when warm, they taste like an excellent blueberry crisp. I can only imagine how wonderful they would be with a scoop of ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon June 27, 2010

My husband loves everything blueberry and these were definitely a hit. I made in a 9x13 glass baking dish and there was plenty of crust and topping to fill the pan; baked for 30 minutes. I used almost 4 cups of fresh blueberries, 3 T cornstarch and reduced the white sugar to 1/2 cup which resulted in just the right amount of sweetness. We enjoyed these with vanilla ice cream. Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swissms June 21, 2009

Made of the Feb 09 I RED-commend tag: Kitten - these bars are outstanding!! I took them to my daughter's scout meeting - they were a hit!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose February 09, 2009

These are a fantastic little bar. With the exception of the middle few bars that didn't set up. (DH ate these as a blueberry crisp with vanilla ice-cream:-). No worries as they taste fantastic. I agree with your forward in that you must use a food processor. Quite a large one in fact because if it's too small you'll have a real mess on your hands. I too upped the amount of cinnamon as a previous reviewer had stated and also used the full 3 T. of cornstarch. This would make a delicious blueberrycrisp if you opted to lessen the cornstarch amount or entirely. A wonderful keeper recipe Kitt... Made for ZaarStars~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB January 31, 2009

Incredibly good for an easy recipe. I used 1/2 margarine and 1/2 butter, and frozen blueberries, and it still came out fabulously. My husband doesn't generally like blueberries and he loved them. Thank you Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FanciMcG May 27, 2008

This is one of the best blueberry recipes I have ever had, it is great, vert tasty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacquie B. November 11, 2006

These tasted great but mine didn't solidify into bars, it ended up more like a loose crisp. I would also add an extra tsp. cinnamon because i think the topping needed extra oomph!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crazy Canuck Cook August 09, 2006

Fantastic! I made them as printed, using 3 tablespoons of cornstarch and I added 1/8 teaspoon of nutmeg to the crust/topping. This is a great recipe. Thanks, Kitten!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol Elizabeth August 03, 2006

Delicious!!!! These were SO good. I made one batch, and they were so good I made a second because I knew the first wouldn't last. Very similar to Starbucks Organic Blueberry Bar, but better. I used frozen berries and they turned out great. Nothing in this recipe needs to be changed. Thanks again Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sameveel August 01, 2006
Delicious Blueberry Squares!