Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Delicious Blue Cheese Broccoli Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Delicious Blue Cheese Broccoli Casserole

    Average Rating:

    82 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 82

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2005

      How do you improve upon perfection? You can't! All I can do is offer a tip to getting there easier. For the Ritz cracker crumbs -- 1 and 1/2 cups of crumbs is exactly one tube of Ritz crackers. Just squeeze the package with your hands and voila -- instant crumbs. Excellent dish! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      Served this with a standing rib roast, a cranberry-pomegranate pork tenderloin, Kittencal's Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes, and a cranberry pecan spinach salad for Christmas Dinner. Outstanding. The blue cheese complemented the other dishes perfectly and was not overpowering for those who think they do not like blue cheese. The blue cheese adds just enough flavor interest to this dish. I did use bread crumbs instead of crackers, a personal preference. Also, I made the dish the day before, and then baked it just prior to serving. (I think I pulled it out of the fridge a bit before baking to let it start coming to room temp.) Our guests were none the wiser, so for those planning a big meal, add this to your list of make ahead sides. I have since made this a second time using Parmesean cheese instead of blue, as I am taking it to an Italian themed dinner party. After a taste (how could I resist?), I really like the Parmasean, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      this was seriously AMAZING. my 5-year old son who I have a hard time feeding veggies said "Mommy, can you make like 10 batches of this next week!" I thought that was so cute. & my husband said wow, this is seriously "happy" food. we served with Broiled salmon, delish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2012

      This was OK. It was surprisingly lacking in flavor for the amount of blue cheese that was in it. We also added quartered mushrooms and were glad we did. We won't make it again - dishes with that many grams of fat per serving have to be absolutely fantastic for us to make them more than once.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2012

      Delicious!! Instead of 4 cups of broccoli, I used only 2 cups and added in 2 cups of fresh baby spinach.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      My mom made this, but instead of cracker crumb topping, she used day old bread, rolled in melted butter. Magnifique!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      This was okay. I LOVE blue cheese and wanted to make this into a full meal so I added some diced up chicken. I didn't have the ritz crackers for the topping to I used panko instead. I would probably consider making it again but as a side and not as a meal. Thank you for the idea though! It most definitely satisfied my craving for blue cheese!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2010

      Dh, who loves blue cheese, said it was good but would be better with a little more salt and french fried onions instead of the cracker topping. Something that would be crispier. I did use a modge-podge of crackers left over from a party: Ritz, Chicken in a Biscuit and Wheat Thins, and this made for a delightfully flavorful topping, just not crispy enough. I don't love blue cheese but I did think it was good, if a bit rich. I think I'll play with it a little and see what I can come up with. I do think it would be nice at Easter or Thanksgiving, alongside something sweet or savory, like Ham or cranberry sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      I loved the idea of this dish and still do but somehow I ended up with very very mushy broccoli and way too much sauce for my taste. I'd like to play around with this as far as broccoli to sauce ratio and cooking time. I think I would actually have like it a just heated through on the stop top without the cracker crumbs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      Amazing! I doubled the blue cheese because I like it extra blue-cheesy, but once again, Kittencal has posted a winner! Funny thing is, when I first talked about making this as a side, my wife was reluctant (she's not the biggest blue cheese fan), but when I mentioned it was a KittenCal Recipezaar classic, she agreed to try it. Well, I think it is a testament to how great this recipe is that my wife will FINALLY eat something with blue cheese in it! Yummy! As a random side note, it also reheated really well, which meant tasty leftovers for work the next day. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      This is totally delicious! I'm not a blue cheese fan but when made according to directions, the flavor blends wonderfully. In fact, I've started adding more blue cheese just to get more of the flavor. Great recipe!! It's definitely a keeper and I'll be making this regularly!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      I had some blue cheese that I needed to use up, and hoped that the broccoli would be the dominant flavor in this dish. I used the smaller amount of blue cheese, since I don't like the taste. (I had it on hand for another recipe, which I didn't like either.) Plain and simple, I just didn't like the blue cheese flavor. I also noticed the blue cheese never really totally melted. I cooked and stirred until the cows came home, but it never melted completely. I don't think that really affected anything, as the small bits were extremely small. So, if you try this recipe and your blue cheese doesn't melt 100 percent, don't worry about it. If you like blue cheese, you'll probably like this dish. I didn't.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      So easy and yummy! My hubby's not a blue cheese fan, so I substituted crumbled goat cheese for a milder flavor and added a little dried rosemary, and it turned out fabulous. Definitely perfect for special occasions; in fact, I'm planning on serving this at my annual holiday party this year.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Made this without the extra 6 T of butter and crushed the entire sleeve of RITZ into the casserole. Mainly to save calories as my other dish had an over the top amount. It was scrumptious and I will make again. Would double recipe if cooking for more than my family of 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      Amazing! Added some garlic but that was the only change I made. Don't be afraid of the blue cheese. I added the full amount or even a little more and my blue cheese hating family loved it! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      Excellent and delish and easy...great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2012

      Blue cheese and broccoli - a marriage made in heaven! I made the recipe as directed and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      What a nice special occasion side dish! We had this w/ our Thanksgiving Dinner and it was Really Good! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      I made this recipe just as written for Thanksgiving and it was delicious. A huge hit at dinner. In the future I will add more bluecheese because I do not think this flavor was strong enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      We loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Delicious Blue Cheese Broccoli Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 433.4
     
    Calories from Fat 361
    83%
    Total Fat 40.1 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 24.6 g
    123%
    Cholesterol 113.5 mg
    37%
    Sodium 578.4 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Ritz cracker crumbs

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes