24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Another 5-star from kittencal. Used low-fat yogurt instead of cream, increased curry to 1/2t and found a repeater. Great choice for the first storm of the winter season.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pdxrose October 13, 2009

This was just lovely. I wouldn't have thought of dill with cayenne, but it was delicious. I may try to lighten it up next time with fat free sour cream in place of the cream. I used a Krenshaw squash since I had one from the garden.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ponderosa1 April 19, 2012

This was SO good. A neighbor gave me 5 acorn squash. I used them all and I think I had 6 cups of squash. I doubled everything except for the dill weed (wasn't sure I was going to like that), bouillon (thought I would have enough salt), I doubled the celery, and I used lowfat yogurt. Fantastic. Also I calculated the calories on spark people's recipe calculator site. As I made it, I think it was 78 calories with 2.5 g fat for 1/2 cup serving. (no bacon and croutons) Hope that helps someone.
1/2012 I make this recipe a lot--I love it. Today I made it with butternut squash and evaporated milk--YUM!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim S. January 21, 2012

Everything from Kittencalskitchen is the BEST! I used evaporated milk and Italian sausage, and it is absolutely wonderful! Thanks for another great recipe that I will keep using again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinatrotochaud October 13, 2011

Here's another five star review! My husband and I LOVED this soup. He liked it so much he wants to serve this on Thanksgiving. To lighten it up, I used fat free half and half and I didn't add any bacon. Just a wonderful soup. Thanks, Kittencal, for yet another winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Northern Cook June 12, 2010

Absolutely outstanding! Restaurant worthy recipe. Made exactly as written and the result my new favorite soup!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dondi in WV February 15, 2010

Fantastic soup! My boys and husband were sure they weren't going to like it. They all had seconds. The only thing I did different was to add a little parmesan to the top of everyone's bowl. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madlycooking February 05, 2010

Simple and delicious. You are one of my favorite chefs on here, Kittencal. For next time, I would tweak in two minor ways: I'd add less black pepper and curry, so that the acorn's own taste isn't as overpowered. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 December 12, 2009

This was a good recipe; a different meal from what I usually make. I made a half recipe, which I think will easily serve 4. I subbed skim milk for the cream and left out celery and bacon since I didn't have it. Great with some toasted bread!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 March 12, 2009

I made this for Thanksgiving last year and it was the hit of the party. I'm already getting requests to make it again this year. Kitten, I'm finding so many recipes i've made from this site have come from you. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shalah October 24, 2008
Delicious Acorn Squash Soup