Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Deli Macaroni Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Deli Macaroni Salad

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on July 05, 2012

      I made for salad for our 4th of July party and we liked it very much. I took the onion and dill pickle and ran it through the food processor for a bit. Then added the mayo and seasonings. I also all some chopped eggs and bacon bits. We loved the dressing for this salad. I'm used to the sweet dressing and this was a nice change of pace. Thank you for sharing with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      I just made this with the food processor and it was stupid easy to grate everything and make the dressing that way. Tastes awesome too!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      Lori this was so good! I added in some celery and used green onions in place of yellow, and reduced the dill by a couple of teaspoons it's even better today! thanks so much for this recipe!...Kitten:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2014

      I love dill pickles so this was right up my alley. Substituted onion for green onion and added some chopped egg and cheddar cubes. Dillish! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      Since I love pasta salads and pickles, I knew I had to give this recipe a try. I didn't have garlic pickles in the house, so I subbed using Kosher pickles, and adding garlic powder, plus I added more of the dressing, so the salad wouldn't be too dry. This is exactly how I made mine... Since the 3 cups of macaroni equals 16-ounces of uncooked elbow macaroni, I only used half the amount of noodles, as I was making this salad mainly for my husband and I. And since I only used half the amount of noodles, I then only used 1 cup of mayonnaise (Hellmann's Mayonnaise), 2 tablespoons of pickle juice, an 1/8 teaspoon each... of garlic powder, black pepper, and salt. I only added 1 tablespoon of diced yellow onion, plus I seeded and chopped 2 Vlasic Kosher Dill Pickle Spears. Made the salad one day prior to serving, but found the next day I needed to add a bit more of the dressing, so I mixed together and added... 1/4 cup of mayo, 3/4 tsp of pickle juice, plus 1/16 tsp each (about a pinch each) of garlic powder, pepper, and salt. By using less macaroni and adding more of the dressing, I found the salad stayed nice 'n creamy for a couple days in the fridge. While this salad didn't seem to wow my husband, I really liked it, and so did one of my daughters. But then my daughter loves pickles as much as I do. Thank you Lori Mama for sharing this recipe! It was very good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      Really good salad! We loved the grated onion and pickle. I added chopped celery, bell pepper and eggs. I also added 1 more cup of macaroni, another pickle and 1/2 onion because it didn't seem like it would feed six. I kept the may measurements the same. I didn't add the addition dill, only because I didn't know who in our group liked it. I'll will next time just for us. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      LOVE LOVE LOVE Dill!!!!! this sounds good!!!! will have to try soon!!!! but grating the onions and pickels????? we shalll see!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      While there is nothing inherently wrong with this recipe, my husband and I did not care for the taste. Guess we are sweet pickle pasta salad lovers. Oh well, never know until you try. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Well, that was the first time I ever grated a pickle. I will do it again though because it worked well for this kind of recipe and distributed it better than the normal chopping method. I scaled this down and had it for my lunch today. I had to use straight macaroni as it was all I could get in my British supermarket. Then, I used fat free mayo to make this very low fat with no problems at all. Made for everyday tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      Very good! I think I may have put a bit too much onion in (or mine was very strong) because it has a prominent onion flavor. Still very tasty though - especially like the pickle flavor. I added garlic powder since my pickles were not the garlic kind. The grating of the onion and pickle gives a nice distribution.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      It was a hit!!!!!!!! I dont care for mac salad much but I sure enjoyed this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      Thank you Lori Mama for this great Macaroni salad. I wanted one that I could make when I craved it but wouldn't overpower the other flavors in the meal. This did the job. It has great dill flavor ( I used fresh-so worth it!) and is smooth. The key is the GRATED onion and pickle. It ensures the flavors hit every bite. It will be my mac salad recipe for summer to go to again and again. (Tagged for everyday is a holiday July 09)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      I just read all the reviews, Guess no one else had the problem I did. Don't know what I did wrong, but had way too much macaroni. So I added the mac to the sauce until it was ok. I did add 3 eggs, 2T mustard , green onions & some hot pepper flakes. Just put it in the fridge, and it tasted like it was going to be a very good salad. Now what will I do with all this cooked macaroni LOL. Thanks Lori

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      WOW...I am greek so I grew up with dill all of the time. I didn't have fresh but the dry worked alright. I can imagine how the flavors pop when fresh is used! I am also not a fan of a lot of crunch in my macaroni salad so this is right up my alley! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      We really enjoyed this salad! I was suprised that my DH liked the onion flavor - not usually a big fan, but the combination was very good. Very different from my "usual." Thanks Lori! Made for Every Day is a Holiday Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      My first taste had me thinking that I'd added too much onion. I thought maybe my onion was larger than specified in the recipe. But after my second bite, I was sold...this is delicious. Not my usual type of macaroni salad, but I think I like it better! I used Claussen garlic dills, and added a little more than specified in the recipe, along with a few sugared jalapenos. Absolutely delicious! Made for EDH Tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      This was okay. It needs more zing to it. I added some celery which made it tastier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      This is exactly what I am talking about :) I am always on the search for ol' fashioned macaroni salad, and this is the taste I have been dreaming about. I love the use of pickles in this, I used 1/4 of a jalapeno pickle (grated finely) and 1/2 of a garlic pickle. The onion was a red onion and all just so darn tasty, I might have to go and make it again. I can see adding some hard boiled egg grated too, next time. Oh boy! Thanks so much Lori! Fall 2008 *Update* - I was able to stash some of the macaroni salad in the back of the icebox, for a quick snack for Saturday, (sneaky!) and when I went to get the bit from the fridge it was even better (I didn't think this was possible) today then yesterday. Overnight the macaroni's must of gathered up the dressing and today it is so creamy and full of taste. Love it, Lori! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag. I wanted to add ingredients but I stayed strong and made it true to your recipe...You never let me down before and this was no exception.YUMMMM~! I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      This did taste like the kind of pasta salad you buy from a delicatessan and I liked the pickle flavour. It was a good basic recipe and made a nice side dish especially for pork ribs. I would make it again but would probably add some extras to jazz it up, maybe tuna or marinated mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Deli Macaroni Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (516 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 431.1
     
    Calories from Fat 184
    42%
    Total Fat 20.4 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 610.9 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.8 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mayonnaise

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes