30 Reviews

I made for salad for our 4th of July party and we liked it very much. I took the onion and dill pickle and ran it through the food processor for a bit. Then added the mayo and seasonings. I also all some chopped eggs and bacon bits. We loved the dressing for this salad. I'm used to the sweet dressing and this was a nice change of pace. Thank you for sharing with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour July 05, 2012

I just made this with the food processor and it was stupid easy to grate everything and make the dressing that way. Tastes awesome too!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Drebaby April 08, 2012

Lori this was so good! I added in some celery and used green onions in place of yellow, and reduced the dill by a couple of teaspoons it's even better today! thanks so much for this recipe!...Kitten:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz January 19, 2006

I love dill pickles so this was right up my alley. Substituted onion for green onion and added some chopped egg and cheddar cubes. Dillish! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef crazycookie June 28, 2014

Since I love pasta salads and pickles, I knew I had to give this recipe a try. I didn't have garlic pickles in the house, so I subbed using Kosher pickles, and adding garlic powder, plus I added more of the dressing, so the salad wouldn't be too dry. This is exactly how I made mine... Since the 3 cups of macaroni equals 16-ounces of uncooked elbow macaroni, I only used half the amount of noodles, as I was making this salad mainly for my husband and I. And since I only used half the amount of noodles, I then only used 1 cup of mayonnaise (Hellmann's Mayonnaise), 2 tablespoons of pickle juice, an 1/8 teaspoon each... of garlic powder, black pepper, and salt. I only added 1 tablespoon of diced yellow onion, plus I seeded and chopped 2 Vlasic Kosher Dill Pickle Spears. Made the salad one day prior to serving, but found the next day I needed to add a bit more of the dressing, so I mixed together and added... 1/4 cup of mayo, 3/4 tsp of pickle juice, plus 1/16 tsp each (about a pinch each) of garlic powder, pepper, and salt. By using less macaroni and adding more of the dressing, I found the salad stayed nice 'n creamy for a couple days in the fridge. While this salad didn't seem to wow my husband, I really liked it, and so did one of my daughters. But then my daughter loves pickles as much as I do. Thank you Lori Mama for sharing this recipe! It was very good!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess May 13, 2013

Really good salad! We loved the grated onion and pickle. I added chopped celery, bell pepper and eggs. I also added 1 more cup of macaroni, another pickle and 1/2 onion because it didn't seem like it would feed six. I kept the may measurements the same. I didn't add the addition dill, only because I didn't know who in our group liked it. I'll will next time just for us. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview July 13, 2012

LOVE LOVE LOVE Dill!!!!! this sounds good!!!! will have to try soon!!!! but grating the onions and pickels????? we shalll see!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HappyFlour66 June 01, 2010

While there is nothing inherently wrong with this recipe, my husband and I did not care for the taste. Guess we are sweet pickle pasta salad lovers. Oh well, never know until you try. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' March 23, 2010

Well, that was the first time I ever grated a pickle. I will do it again though because it worked well for this kind of recipe and distributed it better than the normal chopping method. I scaled this down and had it for my lunch today. I had to use straight macaroni as it was all I could get in my British supermarket. Then, I used fat free mayo to make this very low fat with no problems at all. Made for everyday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne August 24, 2009

Very good! I think I may have put a bit too much onion in (or mine was very strong) because it has a prominent onion flavor. Still very tasty though - especially like the pickle flavor. I added garlic powder since my pickles were not the garlic kind. The grating of the onion and pickle gives a nice distribution.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas August 08, 2009
Deli Macaroni Salad