9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I make Swedish meatballs every Christmas and thought I would try a new recipe for it. This was okay, much easier than mine, but my family still prefers mine! Thanks for sharing! MadeforZWT9

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pammyowl August 31, 2013

Yum. This was simple to make and very tasty. The meatballs were a little loose so had to be careful in turning them, but they came out very moist. Thanks Dee for sharing. Made for ZWT9.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme August 05, 2013

Boy was this good Dienia. What a terrific meal we had. The meatballs and sauce were perfect served over fettuccia Riccia. The noodles worked great in this dish. I ground my spices fresh, for a lovely depth of flavor. This recipe was quick and easy to make. Made exactly as written, wouldn't change a thing. I thought that the flavor was subtle then the spices hit. It was awesome. Thank you so much for sharing a recipe that made my dh go back for more. Will definitely make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato September 20, 2012

Delicious! And not very fussy either. I wish the recipe had explicitly stated, "add the meatballs back in" before the 20-minute simmer. It was still very good even with a simmer of a few minutes tho. ZWT6

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie R. June 30, 2010

I didn't eat these my DH did it's nothing personal he loves them I don't, so this is really his review, mind you it's always the DH's that tries the recipes anyway. I did enjoy making them and they smelled really good and the sauce was very nice, I tried that. When I asked how many stars he said ten so they were a big hit with him. I will make them again, it's very easy and quick to make. Made for ZWT#6 2010 Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Jenny June 06, 2010

I loved that ease of this recipe. I had to subsitute heavy cream for the canned milk but other than that I made as written. I liked that I had everything on hand for this dish. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 June 26, 2007

This was just okay with us. The meatballs were great, we just weren't crazy for the sauce. To me it was bland, to dh it was bitter. I did make it (all except the noodles) the day before, so it could have been that or something I did wrong due to the other reviews. Made by a Fellow Floozie during ZWT3 - Remembering Amy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mommie June 23, 2007

I had this on the table in one hour. I thought the meatballs were going to fall apart when I turned them. But they fried up just fine (only turned once) and came out very moist. We liked the sauce to it had a nice flavor. I did not use the salt the recipe called for. We are trying to reduce our salt intake. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Made for Zaar World Tour 2006.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J June 13, 2006

These reminded me of my mom's. Very nice flavor. I will however cut back the bread to 2 slices next time and I used beef stock instead of the water. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama June 08, 2006
Dee's Swedish Meatballs