Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Dee's Santa Fe Green Chile Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Dee's Santa Fe Green Chile Stew

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 14, 2010

      Oh my, someone done stole my recipe......lol. I am a 67 yr old New Mexican and as far back as I can remember this stew has been made pretty much as written. I remember my grandma cooked a pot of pintos and added a couple of spoonfuls to our bowls of the stew. My mom would add tomatoes and serve it over rice if she thought it was a bit too spicy. In the cold NM winters you will always find a pot of either green chili stew, red chili stew, posole, menudo or caldo de res in my kitchen. Thank you Lord for plopping me close to Hatch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      Yum,Yum,Yum!!! I'm originally from El Paso and I get homesick all the time,especially when I see Mexican food. I made this over the weekend and was brought back home! Thank you so much for posting this recipe, and I can garuntee its authentic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2004

      I can see Miss Annie's daughter is following in her mother's footsteps - another champ in the kitchen! This was so delicious and warming on a cold night. I used dried green chiles that I soaked in water first. We loved this, and I will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      I have made this one a half dozen times now, and when coming back to check the measurements realized I never left a review. My husband and I fell in love with this dish while vacationing in NM about 8 years ago, and this recipe is spot on for replicating the dish. This year our local Fresh Market had a Hatch Festival and was roasting the peppers on site, and we stocked up for the winter. Thanks for posting this, it's a real winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      This turned out really good, but a little too thin for my tastes. DH loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Excellent. We will definitely make again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      I've made this 5 or 6 times now. It's a smash hit with my hubby! I use olive oil and a lot more green chili than called for, however. We're New Mexico chili-holics! ;-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      Delicious! I bought some roasted Hatch chilies for the first time at HEB. I've been wanting to try them forever. I chose this recipe and was so glad I did. I used beef stew meat, because I didn't have pork and I increased the garlic to 3 large cloves. I did add a can of tomatoes too, but I'm sure it would have been just a wonderful without them. Thank you Miss Annie for another winning recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      This is delicious! I have a lot of Hatch chilies to use so I roasted about 10 of them and this was a perfect use for them. I used pork and added a can of chopped tomatoes. I let it simmer for about 4 hours and the smell was great. I am anticipating this to be even better the next day. Served with tortillas as suggested.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      Wonderful recipe! I added two cans of chiles and a can of hot Rotel tomatoes, so mine was nice and spicy. I also threw everything in the crockpot, keeping the heat out of the kitchen on a hot day. Thanks a lot for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      Loved it! Easy and tastes great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Awesome taste! I used a combination of fresh chile and canned in order to control the heat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2006

      This stew was good but won't become a favorite. Both my DH and I thought it was a little bland. I live in WA so the only green chilis available to be are canned. This might have had something to do with it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2005

      After this stew had been simmering on my stove all afternoon tantalizing me, I just finished eating 2 giant bowls, as did hubby. It was well worth my wait! I had frozen a lot of Hatch peppers from the last season & they cooked down with the onions & potatoes to make a thick, lovely broth. Not being a big tortilla fan, I served it with cornbread for sopping up every last drop. Thanks to you and your DD! ** Susan

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2004

      As a NM native, I can attest that this is the real deal. The flour tortillas (warmed on a dry griddle) are a must. It's almost time for the NM chile harvest (September), so if you're blessed enough to be able to get some fresh chile, definitely try this recipe for a wonderful treat. Way to go Miss Annie and Daughter!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2004

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Dee's Santa Fe Green Chile Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (487 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 568.0
     
    Calories from Fat 212
    37%
    Total Fat 23.5 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 5.7 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 104.8 mg
    34%
    Sodium 919.3 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 43.3 g
    86%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites