16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh my, someone done stole my recipe......lol. I am a 67 yr old New Mexican and as far back as I can remember this stew has been made pretty much as written. I remember my grandma cooked a pot of pintos and added a couple of spoonfuls to our bowls of the stew. My mom would add tomatoes and serve it over rice if she thought it was a bit too spicy. In the cold NM winters you will always find a pot of either green chili stew, red chili stew, posole, menudo or caldo de res in my kitchen. Thank you Lord for plopping me close to Hatch

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixielee43_11494785 May 14, 2010

Yum,Yum,Yum!!! I'm originally from El Paso and I get homesick all the time,especially when I see Mexican food. I made this over the weekend and was brought back home! Thank you so much for posting this recipe, and I can garuntee its authentic!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boo's Mom May 01, 2006

I can see Miss Annie's daughter is following in her mother's footsteps - another champ in the kitchen! This was so delicious and warming on a cold night. I used dried green chiles that I soaked in water first. We loved this, and I will definitely make it again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sudie February 02, 2004

I have made this one a half dozen times now, and when coming back to check the measurements realized I never left a review. My husband and I fell in love with this dish while vacationing in NM about 8 years ago, and this recipe is spot on for replicating the dish. This year our local Fresh Market had a Hatch Festival and was roasting the peppers on site, and we stocked up for the winter. Thanks for posting this, it's a real winner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Cindijo January 29, 2012

This turned out really good, but a little too thin for my tastes. DH loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 March 14, 2011

Excellent. We will definitely make again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenEyesCO October 18, 2009

I've made this 5 or 6 times now. It's a smash hit with my hubby! I use olive oil and a lot more green chili than called for, however. We're New Mexico chili-holics! ;-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LittleJo September 21, 2009

Delicious! I bought some roasted Hatch chilies for the first time at HEB. I've been wanting to try them forever. I chose this recipe and was so glad I did. I used beef stew meat, because I didn't have pork and I increased the garlic to 3 large cloves. I did add a can of tomatoes too, but I'm sure it would have been just a wonderful without them. Thank you Miss Annie for another winning recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. August 27, 2009

This is delicious! I have a lot of Hatch chilies to use so I roasted about 10 of them and this was a perfect use for them. I used pork and added a can of chopped tomatoes. I let it simmer for about 4 hours and the smell was great. I am anticipating this to be even better the next day. Served with tortillas as suggested.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Robyn~ August 19, 2009

Wonderful recipe! I added two cans of chiles and a can of hot Rotel tomatoes, so mine was nice and spicy. I also threw everything in the crockpot, keeping the heat out of the kitchen on a hot day. Thanks a lot for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajt575s August 11, 2009
Dee's Santa Fe Green Chile Stew