11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I don't like liver, but all my liver eating guest raved about it. I sprinkled some of the bacon over the top before simmering. The juice in the pan never thicken into anything resembling gravy so I removed the liver and onions added flour to the drippings to thicken.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roger/OH December 11, 2008

This is a great method for cooking liver and the taste is really good. However, the next time I make it, I will brown the liver on both sides, remove from the pan and make the gravy before replacing liver in it to simmer for the remaining time. The onions were so soft and tasty. I crumbled the crispy bacon and sprinkled it on top of the liver and onions before serving. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe...I will definitely use it many more times.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie November 18, 2008

This is exactly what I was looking for. The liquid thickened up just right and the liver came out nice and tender and oh so tasty. I soaked the liver in milk for a couple of hours before cooking, but otherwise followed the recipe. Delicious! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
raisdbywolvz July 31, 2013

This was excellent,Dee! I think it's the bacon grease that gives it such a terrific flavor. I served this with mashed potatoes, the onion gravy and steamed broccoli for a delicious meal. Thanks for posting this!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslie in Texas October 26, 2008

This was delicious!!! The liver was so very tender and had a great flavor, I think maybe next time I make this dish I may only add 1/2 cup of water, 1 cup made alot of gravy but it was a little watered down, maybe I could have cooked it a little longer, will most definately make this again!!!! edit, had the liver and onions the next day for lunch, added a little salt and pepper, and BAM there was the flavor I previously said was lacking, now it's a 5 star recipe for sure!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cajun chef in Louisiana February 27, 2008

I have yet to make this so my 5 stars are for the reviewers. I will 1) soak the liver in milk, 2) will brown the liver on both sides, remove from the pan, and make the gravy before replacing liver in it to simmer for the remaining time, 3) serve it with mashed potatoes, and season it with salt, pepper, and whatever else i like.<br/><br/>What surprised me is that nobody commented on using only one Onion. I've made a pound of liver with three large onions and ran out of onions before finishing liver!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Kept Man February 10, 2014

I have made my liver and onions like this for years. It is the very best ever. The liver gets tender and the flavor is wonderful. I'm so glad someone posted it. May even convert non-liver eaters.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking-BAG October 31, 2007

I have been making liver & onions like this for years! The bacon & bacon grease gives the liver & onions such a good flavor. Adding the water & letting it simmer makes a delicious gravy & the liver tender. Thank you for posting the recipe so that others that like liver can enjoy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz August 08, 2007

This was really, really good!!! I'm not just saying that! It was the best liver and onions I've ever had!! The whole family agreed and my DSF said it was better than what he gets at his favorite British-style pub!! Thanks Dienia!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kymmarie May 30, 2007

a very good way to make liver and onions . i love the flavor of this

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jjfarrell1 April 24, 2007
Dee's Beef Liver and Onions