Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Deer (Venison) Jerky Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Deer (Venison) Jerky

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2011

      My husband got really lucky this year and shot three deer. So, I have an over abundance of venison in my freezer! When I saw this recipe I got super excited because my husband loves jerky and venison. Perfect! The only things I changed on this recipe were some of the ingredients. I'm Canadian and therefore have a healthy obsession with HP Sauce (it's a steak sauce from England). So, I used that instead of the A-1. I also used Johnny Red instead of Seagram's 7 for the whiskey because that's what I had on hand. I didn't have to cook the venison as long as it says (I believe I only baked it for about 6 1/2 hours). I also flipped the meat more then once and every time I turned it over I used a pastry brush to apply a mixture of the HP and Johnny Walker to make sure it didn't dry out too much and become shoe leather. My husband loved it and wants me to make it again after he eats it all. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      This is a great recipe, wonderful flavor. Everyone loved it. Here are a few suggestions. Cut the salt to 1/4 tsp. Also, do not double the recipe, it changes the flavor. I was preparing 2 lbs of meat so I doubled the recipe and also forgot to decrease the salt which made the jerky extremely salty and the flavor was diminished.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

      We have used this recipe once before and we love it. A friend of ours gave us some deer meat and we don't really care for it alone, but we love it made into this jerky. The only thing I do differently is add more black pepper. Thank you for sharing with us, its a keeper in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      I really want to give this recipe 5 stars but due to errors on my part, I will have to try again. First, my oven's lowest temp is 170. I subbed teriyaki sauce for the soy sauce (it's mostly soy sauce anyway) and did it during the evening. I set my alarm clock to check it at the 6 hour mark but woke up at the 10 hour mark. With all that, it smelled and tasted great but I had rocks, lol. My teen son ate it anyway and asked me to make it again but at less time. Looking forward to better results next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      I also like to hunt and most of my deer meat ends up as jerky i have tried about six different recipes and this is the first one i will keep and make again, my friends all like it to. A few people said i could add black pepper to it before drying it but i liked it just the way it tasted, and that was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

    • on December 26, 2009

      My 13 year old son went hunting for the first time and brought home his first deer....and it is the first time that I had to figure out what to do with it all....so I made this and everyone from seasoned hunters to kids thought that it was so much better than the store kind...we are making a second batch now!! thank you for the great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      I HATE venison, but my husband hunts and it seems a shame to waste the meat... That being said, this is the best venison jerky recipe that I have tried- and a great storage solution as well- Thanks so much Ctraugh!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      I just want to say, that this came out great... this was my first time make venison jerky, actually, any jerky at all, it was easy, and came out moist, i followed it exactly, and cooked it for about 8 hrs.. thanks so much, have printed it, and shared it with others, can't wait to make more...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Oh yes! Definitely a keeper! My husband wouldn't keep ME if I didn't keep this! lol. I did do some things different, some that seem healthier, and still made it superb. 1) I halved the salt to 1/4 tsp (you won't miss it, believe me!). 2) Instead of whiskey, I used coke, which made it marvelously tender. And 3) I ran out of A1 sauce, so I used BBQ, ketchup and mustard, and no one knew I'd done anything different. I used deer, elk, beef and antelope, and it all turned out great! Tell ya what, this is SO much better than the jerky you buy at the store!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      excellent recipe. I add Mrs. Dash and substitute the whiskey for red wine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      I made this last year and neglected to comment, but everyone should know that this recipe is perfect. This is the best that I've had and it always turns out well. Thanks Much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Wow...followed this recipe exactly, WONDERFUL! EASY!..Made Deer Jerky.. will use this recipe in the future for Beef, Buffalo Jerky..thanks ..we can't stop eating it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      This was great! I omitted the liquid smoke because I cooked it in my smoker. I was apprehensive about the whisky, but it added a nice flavor. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2004

      GGGRRREEEEAAAATTTT JERKY!!!!!!!!!!! We've tried kits and this jerky is so much better. Easy to make. Be careful of the time you have in the oven. All who have tried it thought it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2003

      The taste was good, but I didn't add the whiskey, that may be what it was missing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2003

      Followed the recipe to a 't'. It was easy to make and the results were GREAT!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2002

      Very good and very easy. This had a nice smoky taste. We added crushed red pepper for a little bite. With my dehydrator this only took 8-10 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2002

      This jerky was a HUGE hit with all my hunting friends and their families. The whiskey added a little spice to the jerky and no one could figure out what it was that made it different and better than my old recipe. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2002

      Thanks for the great recipe!My husband and two sons hunt a lot so I make tons of jerky and think this one will be a hit!Do you have others?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Deer (Venison) Jerky

    Serving Size: 1 (49 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 100.9
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    16%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 63.4 mg
    21%
    Sodium 922.8 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 18.4 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    A.1. Original Sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites