41 Reviews

A great recipe! I was a bit nervous that this would have a really soggy crust from all that sauce but even the middle baked up nice! I put a layer of pepperoni slices under the ground beef mixture and I also used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. Be sure to let it rest for the full 5 minutes or even 10. I was in too much of a hurry when I served the first piece and it didn't come out in a good slice like the second helpings did. A great recipe, thanks for sharing it!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * April 07, 2003

This is so simple to make and very tasty. My family does not like mushrooms, so I omitted. I too added pepperoni, but on top of the cheese so my fussy grandson could pick them off. This is a sure winner!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetSueAl July 12, 2003

Delicious and easy. I too added pepperoni, but I did it on top of the cheese. I think next time I'm going to put the pepperoni under the ground beef mixture like Pamela in Winnipeg. I'll definitely be making this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shanna021 June 15, 2003

One Word!!! YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookbookCarrie April 28, 2003

Good easy to make recipe. I added some sauteed onions and green pepper. Will make this again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie August 27, 2003

Unfortunately, we didn't really like this recipe. It gets 3 stars for ease, but it really didn't have the right flavor and was lacking something.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
College Gal February 16, 2010

Yay, the hubby was super happy! This was great, I followed some reviewers and added pepperoni and used fresh mushrooms. He was asking for seconds before he was done with firsts and he's not really a big eater! Thank you for the super easy and yummy dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lenore Spirit January 31, 2010

I am teaching my 12 yr old niece how to cook. This turned out great. Very tasty and a good confidence boost for a new chef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
graciethebaker August 02, 2009

Mmmm...this satisfied our pizza-lovin' tastebuds very nicely! Just the thing for a quick weeknight meal when time and energy is low. I used fresh mushrooms, added some green peppers and pepperoni, and made my own pizza-type sauce with tomato suace+ basil+oregano+sugar. Great recipe! thanks Kim

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick May 26, 2009

This is always a family pleaser! Would not change a thing!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaMac May 11, 2009
Deep-Dish Pizza Casserole