47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I loved this recipe especially because I can't make a pie crust for the life of me and also it is so quick and easy. I did double the sugar (our apples are very tart right now) and the cinnamon as I like a lot of cinnamon in my apple pie. This was the best usually pie making is saved for the weekend but this one can be done after work while your eating dinner thank you for sharing its our new favorite

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pumpkie September 18, 2003

I would like to update my review, with regards to a substitution I made. When doubling or tripling the recipe, I used 1/4 cup of mayonnaise per egg, to replace up to half of the eggs. The crust came out much more flaky and piecrust-y than using only eggs. Really a good replacement! I love this recipe, and find it even better when I use the mayo along with the egg. I have quadrupled this recipe and baked it in a very large pan in the school kitchen, and it came out great!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Panakanic August 01, 2004

This was simple to make and very delicious! Kind of a cross between apple pie and apple cake. Thanks for posting the recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelli October 03, 2003

I REALLY enjoyed this recipe and so did my family. I made this to take to my parents house. I needed something easy and fairly quick to make. I reduced the butter to 1/2 a cup (1 stick) so the crust batter was not pourable, so I spooned it over the apple mixture. I also put in 2 tablespoons each of the sugar and cinnamon. My apples are pretty tart since they were very early. This recipe was very good and I like that the crust stayed on the top. We served it with vanilla bean icecream and loved every minute of it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikki C. September 27, 2003

My dad has been asking for an apple pie for the past coupla weeks. I found this recipe and just had to try it. Very easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out really well. About the only thing that I would do differently would be to coat all of the apples with the sugar/cinnamon mix before putting in the pie pan instead of just sprinkling it on top. My dad really liked it, but said that it was a little dry (he can always find something to complain about) but that might have been due to the type of apple that we used in the pie. This one is a keeper in my book, thank you marie!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Desperate_Housewife September 24, 2003

I don't make pies very often because I hate rolling out pie crust. This pie is the answer to my prayers. We thought is was delicious and very homey tasting. The cinnamon amount was just right. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beccalanders31 September 24, 2003

This is not bad. I used only 1/2 butter and 1/2 cup packed brown sugar. Tasted good with whipped cream. I also added 1/2 blueberry pie filling to make it apple-blueberry pie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myoungp January 31, 2011

For us pie-crust-challenged folk, this recipe is a dream come true. My apple-pie-addicted DH scarfed his down pretty quick. I loved the pecans. I subbed 1/4 c br sugar and 1/4 c sucanat for 1/2 c of the sugar. It was sweeter than regular apple pie. I used 6 spartans and could have used a few more; the crust seemed so thick in the middle. Can't wait for breakfast to finish the leftovers--unless DH beats me to it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise January 28, 2004

Marie, Marie- What did you do to me?? Haven't been out of the kitchen since I found your recipe! As soon as one pie is eaten, my husband requests another one! ;-) Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
psteg December 31, 2003

This was a easy, tasty dessert. My husband loved it warm. It is more like a cobbler then a pie, but it is worth baking for sure. Very Yummy! I will make it again for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michEgan December 04, 2003
Deep Dish Apple Pie With Its Own Crust