11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUM!I made this for a birthday cake and baked in a bundt pan and used a chocolate glaze for the top, it was so delicious, the molasses and cocoa powder really made the chocolate flavor pop. the cake was very moist and everyone loved it!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears July 23, 2006

This is so very rich and yummy!! So easy and quick to make - wow. No need to tell anyone you used boxed cake, because it's got a bit of 'home-made-ness' thrown in! ;-) I made this for my daughter's third birthday, and used chopped Reese's PB cups for filling, and chocolate buttercream frosting. (with fondant and Veggie Tales topper!) People said it was rich, so people had small peices...so i ended up with way too much cake, but I'll sure enjoy it for months to come. muaahhahaa!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TastyTreatsByCB March 20, 2012

This cake is outstanding andypandy. Made it for a birthday and it was +5 by all. This has become a new favorite with copies at many friends houses. So easy and such a winner. Thanks for sharing this great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dotty2 March 10, 2009

This is a quick treat, yet the added ingredients take it to higher taste levels than a plain boxed cake mix. Don't let the molasses scare you as it did me. It is not a predominant taste, and I think just adds to overall richness. A lovely texture. The other reviewer's cupcake directions are right on--24 cupcakes baking for about 20 minutes. Thanks, Andypandy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers May 09, 2008

Although I told everyone this was a new recipe, I didn't tell them what to look for... however, they all noticed the rich moistness and commented favorably. I will definitely be making this one again to satisfy all the chocolate lovers in the family! Thanks, AndyPandy! EDITED TO ADD: Made 24 cupcakes using this recipe, which took 20 minutes to bake. Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impera_Magna March 30, 2008

Exquisite! This was my first time making a cake that wasn't from scratch (someone gave us a box of cake mix) so I was a little nervous, but it tasted better than homemade! I frosted it with strawberry cream cheese icing (leftover from strawberry cupcakes I made) and it was devoured by the birthday girl as well as the rest of us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Literary Mom June 27, 2006

This was a lovely rich cake, delicious with Nutella Icing #72204. I'll definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeriBinNC November 01, 2005

This made a fantastic Valentine's Dessert. I used a Betty Crocker SuperMoist chocolate fudge cake mix since I didn't have a devils food mix on hand. Made two 9-inch round cakes which baked up nice and thick with a moist lighter than air texture. I used a white chocolate pudding with 1 2/3 Cup milk then folded in 4-6 oz. cool whip to fill and top the 4 cake layers. Then finished it off with some dark chocolate shavings. Oh, did this ever taste good! The cake was so moist and full of flavor. The family just raved. Great big thanks to you Andypandy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MI Mitten February 16, 2005

This made for a very special birthday cake this weekend. As promised it was rich, moist and a wonderfully lush deep chocolate cake. A three layer cake with cherries was a last minute request ... split a layer, filled layers with Cherry pie filler and a fluffy chocolate frosting, topping with frosting and cherries to garnish. Before I could ask for a rating ... the seven year old said it's a ten!! Yes this one goes into my family cook book! Thank you for another great recipe Andypandy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry February 07, 2005

I made this cake tonight for dessert and I have to say I am impressed. It is lovely, dark and moist with a delicious chocolate flavour. I baked it in a 9X13 sheet pan as Sharon did and frosted it with a can of store bought French Vanilla Frosting. I also grated an piece of an Ice Cold Milk chocolate bar on top for a special finish. Thanks for a delicious cake recipe I know I will make often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarieRynr February 03, 2005
Deep Dark Chocolate Moist Cake