Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Deep Dark Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Deep Dark Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    107 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 107

    Sort by:

    • on May 16, 2008

      This cake is awesome!! I used Sharlene's Silky Vanilla Butter Frosting (#23715) on it, but my hubby wasn't crazy about that part. This is rich, moist, and delish!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      Yummy! My parents loved it. I messed the frosting, so we ate it plain. No problem. Here some changes I made: Make half the recipe. Separate the egg and beat the white until peaks form. Subbed 1/8 of the sugar for Splenda. Use 1% milk with vinegar for the buttermilk. I even used a cheap cocoa, but next time I'll be sure to use a good brand. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      This cake was very good. I made it yesterday for my son's birthday party although I changed the frosting. I made it with 1/3 less fat cream cheese, powdered sugar and cool whip, plus I added some ELMO decorating touches. The next time I make it I will try to alter the recipe just a little bit to make it healthier. I will substitute some of the regular flour for whole wheat flour and perhaps add some flax seed oil. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      Truly excellent dark chocolate cake. I made this for my chocoholic coworker's birthday and she just loved it. To make it extra decadent, I made two layers, filled with dark chocolate buttercream ( 89207 ) and covered the whole thing in Irish cream dark chocolate ganache. Sinfully good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      This cake was really tasty. It was sooooo moist. It just melted in your mouth. I'm sure I will be making this cake many more times. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      WONDERFUL! Made it for my DIL's birthday yesterday. Used non-fat yogurt instead of the buttermilk because that's what I had; also iced it with Chocolate Buttercream Frosting and grated most of a dark chocolate bar over it. Granddaughter thought it should be called "Death by Chocolate". Even my son who doesn't like chocolate cake like it. Would make a hit at a pot luck too. Thanks for another keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      hi fantastic recipe. that easy that my 10yr old daughter and friend made it. it was dark and indulgent but light to eat. will definatley make again. thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Absolutely wonderful!! But of course, I wouldn't expect anything less from one of Lennie's recipes! This is a tender, moist and delightfully chocolaty cake. I used Chocolate Buttercream Frosting to frost which for us was the perfect combination! Very simple recipe, especially if you remembered to save a cup of your morning coffee! I made as a layer cake. Thanks ever so, Lennie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      WOW!!! So rich and moist.... and chocolatey. THE BEST! My only chocolate cake recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Lennie, this cake is going to be the one I use from now on. It is so much better than a mix. It is very moist and super chocolatey. I used canned buttercream flavored frosting. I sprayed my glass cake pan with pam and had no problems with the cake sticking. Thanks Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      Loved it. It was a hit with friends and family. Would make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      Very good cake!! I had some extra buttermilk and decided to try this cake. Mine didn't stick in the pan as other reviews stated. I generously greased and floured a glass 9x13 baking dish. I topped the cake with chocolate cream cheese frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      Hi lennie. It's lindsey Lori's dauther. We made your cake for a party and it was gone in a minute. I think they liked it. We also make it for all my birthdays. Hope to see you soon. Bye!!! Lindsey

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

    • on October 26, 2007

      Your search for the best chocolate cake ends here. I also found this recipe at another site (called 'Chocolate Dream Cake', I think)but no matter where it comes from, it is the best ever. So don't just sit there, go and make it! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      This was the best!! I used the 13x9 pan and the baking time was right on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      A very nice, light, not too sweet cake which I enjoyed. Thanks Lennie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      Tastes incredible. But... it sure didn't look very good. I made the recipe -- to the letter -- in two 9" round cake pans, and after 35 minutes, they weren't done. After 45 minutes, I was worried about the edges burning, so I took them out. Cake tester came out clean, but they were definitely concave in the middle and only about 1/2 as high as the edges. Next time I'll try just making the 13x9 pan version. But looks aside, this was the moistest, densest chocolate cake I've ever eaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      This cake is awesome!! I made this for a friends birthday..who is a total chocolate lover and she loved it as well. I used my own icing for the top...which was also chocolate. Very delicious!!! TY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      amazing this one dusnt dissapoint at all its truly chocolate n tastes divine i made it thrice already the only change that i wud make is perhaps add just a tsp of coffee as a stronger one i added a slight bitter taste i drizzled the cake with a chocolate glaze i made myself (posting recipe seperately) and let it sit overnight the next day the glaze had been soaked n a shiny icing was on top of the cake the flavour was truly outstanding thank u seems like my search for the best chocolate cake ended!! thanks a ton !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Deep Dark Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (87 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 237.8
     
    Calories from Fat 72
    30%
    Total Fat 8.0 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 23.8 mg
    7%
    Sodium 351.1 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 25.7 g
    103%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites