31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome recipe. I used balsamic vinegar rather than the lemon juice and I added small diced up pieces of fresh mozzarella. No one could tell they were canned tomatoes. I was sceptical. I thought there's no way this will taste like fresh tomatoes and it really did. I can't wait until the next time I serve this. Thanks.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sdowney September 23, 2002

Oh, man!!!! This was REALLY good. Next time I will substitute Balsamic vinegar for the lemon juice, I will toast my bread too. Otherwise, scrumptious. My friends liked it, and my stepdaughter, who doesn't like tomatoes was using a spoon. :o)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda Graham September 09, 2002

This was really good and easy, had all ingredients on hand.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Signe Thorgood September 09, 2002

REALLY good! Made it for a work potluck and it was one of the first things that was completely gone. I made it the night before and let it marinate in the fridge overnight which I'm sure made it even better. I also used balsamic vinegar and didn't add the lemon pepper. I think the key is adding fresh basil and garlic, mmmmmm. And I was skeptical about the canned tomatoes also, but if you rinse them and drain them well, nobody knows the difference. I also chopped up a french baquette into slices, drizzled with oil, added garlic salt, oregano and paprika on top and broiled for 3-4mins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chemekristen December 16, 2011

The canned tomatoes worked so well! I used the ones with added herbs.

I jazzed this up with grated parmesan, red wine vinegar, balsamic and finely diced vidalia onion. I prefer a more tart flavour, so the vinegar to olive oil ratio was almost 1:1. Just personal preference.

Thanks so much, this was a hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rusticgirl July 12, 2011

Wasn't too sure about this, canned tomatoes??? But it surprised me. It was much better than I thought it would ever be. We all enjoyed this topped off with some fresh grated parm. The only problem, which we forgot to consider, was that the diced tomatoes must have contained MSG, which doesn't agree with our tummies! But that is no fault of this delightful recipe. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom March 09, 2010

I liked this very much. Very easy to prepare and great flavor. Will definitely keep this in the repeat file. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Great!full December 20, 2009

This bruscetta has amazing flavor! Asiago cheese tops it off beautifully. Next time I will double the balsamic vinegar and half the oil. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.cleaveland October 25, 2009

I absolutely loved this. I used balsamic vinegar instead of the lemon juice per some of the reviews and some parmesan cheese and it was awesome. Ate the leftovers the next morning with scrambled eggs. So good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Let's Cook! July 30, 2009

Thanks for the great recipe!!! THis turned out nicely! I like that I learned a new cooking term too, chiffonade! and I did chiffonade the fresh basil! I made it the night before my party, and then also used the mix again 2 nights later, and it was just as good! I think people should keep the added lemon juice and lemon pepper as you show. I always add to my Bruchetta three other important things. Capers, I stirred in a few teaspoons. Asiago/parmesean/mozz cheese mix sprinkled on top, and When it comes out of the oven, a dash of balsamic over the tops. I bake at high heat 400-500 until cheese is golden

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sjphansen April 12, 2009
Dee-Licious Bruschetta