80 Reviews

Made this for my son's first birthday cake. EASY! Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah49036 July 28, 2009

I used this to decorate a cake with a scroll border and some writing and flowers. For me, it was too oily from all the shortening and butter. It was glossy and shiny with oil and didn't taste the best either. I'm not sure if it's because I halved the recipe...but I wouldn't think that would affect the results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HM21 June 20, 2009

Best buttercream I've had. And super super super easy. Perfect. Thanks sooooo much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~<<>>Kayla<<>>~*~ May 08, 2009

I think this is pretty good considering that I hate frosting. Most times they're too sweet or just a buttery blob. I normally don't frost the cakes I bake at home and when I eat cake elsewhere I scrape the frosting off. This time I ate both the cake and the frosting. This is the first time I made frosting from scratch and I really like this one. I must say that I doubled the amount of milk in order to get it fluffy enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CT07 April 20, 2009

I love, love, love this recipe I use on all my cakes. Thanks for posting it :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mistyandersen April 05, 2009

The first time I made this with the 5 cups of sugar called for, and the frosting seemed quite gritty and was difficult to work with. I tried to thin it out with a bit more milk but then I added too much I guess:) The second time I just added 1/2 cup less sugar and it has a much better texture. I haven't frosted a cake yet but I think my son and I ate 1/2 cup this morning LOL (eww-so good). Dissolving the salt in the Vanilla is a great idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amandoula03 January 26, 2009

I used to use another recipe for frosting my cakes but couldn't find it and went on the Zaar to hopefully locate it. I thought this was it but I was wrong. When I was preparing this recipe I found it to be very dry, and I truly believe it calls for too much powdered sugar. It's probably a nice icing for doing fancy cake decorations; however, I discovered that for frosting, it was dry and thick and pulled away from the cake as I worked with it, incorporating crumbs into the icing. You can, of course, add more milk for a creamier consistency but stopping at 4 cups of powdered sugar (as my recipe, which I did finally find calls for) will give you the perfect icing - both for decorating and frosting, and as a bonus, using less sugar takes care of the 'overly sweet tasting' problem some reviewers have mentioned.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Patrish January 25, 2009

Family loved the taste, I found it difficult to work with. It needed more milk to make it usable to frost. Unsure if I should refrigerate cake after using this (since it has butter).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
biszeemom December 31, 2008

Tasted great. I used a little almond extract (1/2 tsp) as well as 1 tsp. of vanilla. Delicious and held up well for decorator. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMac6 September 01, 2008
Decorator Buttercream Icing