78 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Best buttercream I've had. And super super super easy. Perfect. Thanks sooooo much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~<<>>Kayla<<>>~*~ May 08, 2009

I think this is pretty good considering that I hate frosting. Most times they're too sweet or just a buttery blob. I normally don't frost the cakes I bake at home and when I eat cake elsewhere I scrape the frosting off. This time I ate both the cake and the frosting. This is the first time I made frosting from scratch and I really like this one. I must say that I doubled the amount of milk in order to get it fluffy enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heyreeny01 April 20, 2009

I love, love, love this recipe I use on all my cakes. Thanks for posting it :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mistyandersen April 05, 2009

The first time I made this with the 5 cups of sugar called for, and the frosting seemed quite gritty and was difficult to work with. I tried to thin it out with a bit more milk but then I added too much I guess:) The second time I just added 1/2 cup less sugar and it has a much better texture. I haven't frosted a cake yet but I think my son and I ate 1/2 cup this morning LOL (eww-so good). Dissolving the salt in the Vanilla is a great idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amandoula03 January 26, 2009

I used to use another recipe for frosting my cakes but couldn't find it and went on the Zaar to hopefully locate it. I thought this was it but I was wrong. When I was preparing this recipe I found it to be very dry, and I truly believe it calls for too much powdered sugar. It's probably a nice icing for doing fancy cake decorations; however, I discovered that for frosting, it was dry and thick and pulled away from the cake as I worked with it, incorporating crumbs into the icing. You can, of course, add more milk for a creamier consistency but stopping at 4 cups of powdered sugar (as my recipe, which I did finally find calls for) will give you the perfect icing - both for decorating and frosting, and as a bonus, using less sugar takes care of the 'overly sweet tasting' problem some reviewers have mentioned.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Patrish January 25, 2009

Family loved the taste, I found it difficult to work with. It needed more milk to make it usable to frost. Unsure if I should refrigerate cake after using this (since it has butter).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
biszeemom December 31, 2008

Tasted great. I used a little almond extract (1/2 tsp) as well as 1 tsp. of vanilla. Delicious and held up well for decorator. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KellyMac6 September 01, 2008

I've made this a bunch of times, and it never fails. It is so easy to pipe and spreads nicely too. About the only thing I do differently, is I sift the confectioners' sugar before adding to the creamed butter and shortening. Thanks for a wonderful icing that guarantees I'll never buy canned again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nonnie4Two August 20, 2008

I used this for my daughter's birthday cake and it was fantastic! This will be my main icing from now on! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thephotogal August 17, 2008
Decorator Buttercream Icing