Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Decorator Buttercream Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Decorator Buttercream Icing

    Average Rating:

    77 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-77 of 77

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2007

      This is a great recipe. I have used it twice in a week. It sets with just the right stiffness to hold peaks. The salt trick helps too. Thanks for a great add to my cake decorating Marg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      Fantastic. I used this frosting on Marg's pound cookies ... Yummy! I cut the recipe in half and had a little left over that I put on graham crackers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      I made as written-even with the salt to cut sweetness. I made a double batch-thank goodness for the stand mixer! Easy to make and everyone raved about the icing-not too sweet! My daughter said it was the best she has ever had! Wonderful taste and texture. I used it to ice a standing snowman and it turned out lovely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2006

      I made this to top cupcakes for my daughter to share with class. I used butter flavored shortening and almond extract and whipped it up in my food processor. The butter flavored shortening made it a creamy yellow color, which saved me from adding food coloring. I already did a sample test, spreading on graham cracker (my favorite way) and it was great, not too sweet and good "spreadability." Roxygirl Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      Yum!! There is nothing not to love about this icing. It's a breeze to whip together, is easy to use and tastes great! I used all butter and did add a little salt. Used this to frost cupcakes (#126396) for a baby shower and everyone loved it. Thanks Marg - this is my new favorite icing recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      This was very good and easy to make! I used it to decotate my confirmation cake.(the cake was Best Ever Banana Cake With Cream Cheese Frosting Best Ever Banana Cake With Cream Cheese Frosting!) Thanks for the recipe Marg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      thanks, great receipe for quick icing. did find a little sweet. seen your tip added 1/8 teaspoon of salt at the end. I would recommend using unsalted butter in the receipe.when having to use additional salt. I will keep on had and use again. thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2005

      This is the same recipe that I use all the time. Except when I want a pure white frosting for true color tints when decorating I use all shortening and no butter but add a teaspoon of almond extract. Everyone has always loved it. I think the almond flavoring detracts from the shortening taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      I really liked it. My 7 year old son it tasted too much like french vanilla but he doesn't have a sweet tooth like me. I used on cupcakes and woulkd cut in half next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2005

      This was fantastic! I made it to frost cake #73973 and they went well together.I did add about 1/16th of a tsp of salt to the vanilla before adding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2005

      Very very very good!!!!!!!!!!!!! This icing is the best decorating icing I have found yet! Thanks for the awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2004

      This icing is SO good! I use it on Marg's poundcake cookies and it makes them fabulous. This weekend I threw together some cinnamon sugar biscuits and topped them with this icing. So, so yummy!! Everyone raved about them. The extra effort to make homemade icing is really worth it. I only made half a batch of this (all butter, no shortening) and it was enough for one batch of cookies and one batch of cinnamon biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2004

      This was a very easy recipe and worked very well on my son's birthday cake. Even my picky DH (who does pretty much all the cake decorating in our house) was pleased. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2004

      O.K this icing was AMAZING! It was so simple to make and adding the salt really made a difference in sweetness. I really enjoyed it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2004

      Excellent! I used 3/4 c butter and only 1/4 c shortening. I also added just a bit of butter flavor (which may have been a bit much) but it is still great. Very light textured, but still rich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2004

    • on August 20, 2004

    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Decorator Buttercream Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (852 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1169.0
     
    Calories from Fat 503
    43%
    Total Fat 55.9 g
    86%
    Saturated Fat 24.1 g
    120%
    Cholesterol 70.9 mg
    23%
    Sodium 239.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 171.6 g
    57%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 167.9 g
    671%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes