82 Reviews

I was hesitant to use shortening in icing so cut it back to 1/4 cup shortening and 3/4 cup butter. The result was wonderfully smooth and light with not a hint of lard. Great tip to reduce sweetness too! Used just a dollop on top of mini cupcakes made from Marg's Dark Chocolate Cake recipe. Perfect bite sized treats :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debi February 11, 2012

I can't wait to try this recipe. I tried an all butter cream icing (no shortening) and it seemed to "separate" on me. Plus, it did not do well with colors. I think with a bit of shortening and butter mixed, this one will do nicely! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meowmitz February 05, 2012

excellent bakery quality frosting! I love how it holds its shape for swirls on cupcakes! 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth Gray April 23, 2011

Impressive! I have never made a solid icing before, just sweet, liquidy messes. it worked so well! I think I added a little too much vanilla, but it was still so good! I would recommend this to anyone, so quick and easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chamberienne April 15, 2011

I've used the Wilton recipe without the results I was looking for. This recipe is just perfect! It piped out with the perfect texture for piping flowers. I did have to thin the icing depending on the use and the texture was so smooth and creamy. Perfect! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebS #2 March 26, 2011

This icing works great for decorating and tastes great! Most decorating icings don't taste very good (they taste like crisco), and this was wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cynthia912 January 29, 2011

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!! Great flavor, great consistancy..easy to make..I made a double batch and it was perfect..no almond, just vanilla and used marg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luv2cookinpa November 07, 2010

Nice icing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hedi777 May 12, 2010

Yummy Yummy. I couldn't find the recipe I had, so I tried this one. It was so much better. My original recipe tasted like sugar and grease. This is now the one I always use. Thanks Marg

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gsulleng May 08, 2010
Decorator Buttercream Icing