78 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This tasted great! I'm out of practice with decorating so I wish I'd added more milk to make it spread easier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scarlett516 October 06, 2013

Very good icing recipe!! Easy to make and easy to adjust consistency for piping. Will definitely make again however we did find it a bit greasy and so after doing some research, I will be trying it again with high ratio shortening.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dan9belisle April 06, 2013

I used this for decorating my good friend's 50th birthday cake and it is very good. I'm not a cake decorator, but for this occasion I became one and got rave reviews!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan November 18, 2012

I haven't made decoratng icing before. It performed well and piped nicely, it wasn't smooth and glossy but it did what I wanted. I think I will use it again but I might try others to compare. Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canthelpmyself November 16, 2012

Best buttercream recipe I've ever used. It was the right amount of sweetness and the icing was very smooth. I used 4 tablespoons instead of 2-3 tbs because i am using it to ice a cake instead of using it for decorations. Will use this recipe again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dreamist16 September 29, 2012

I was hesitant to use shortening in icing so cut it back to 1/4 cup shortening and 3/4 cup butter. The result was wonderfully smooth and light with not a hint of lard. Great tip to reduce sweetness too! Used just a dollop on top of mini cupcakes made from Marg's Dark Chocolate Cake recipe. Perfect bite sized treats :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful BC February 11, 2012

I can't wait to try this recipe. I tried an all butter cream icing (no shortening) and it seemed to "separate" on me. Plus, it did not do well with colors. I think with a bit of shortening and butter mixed, this one will do nicely! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meowmitz February 05, 2012

excellent bakery quality frosting! I love how it holds its shape for swirls on cupcakes! 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth Gray April 23, 2011

Impressive! I have never made a solid icing before, just sweet, liquidy messes. it worked so well! I think I added a little too much vanilla, but it was still so good! I would recommend this to anyone, so quick and easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chamberienne April 15, 2011
Decorator Buttercream Icing