Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Decorator Buttercream Icing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Decorator Buttercream Icing

    Average Rating:

    77 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 77

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2011

      This icing works great for decorating and tastes great! Most decorating icings don't taste very good (they taste like crisco), and this was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

    • on November 07, 2010

      Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!!! Great flavor, great consistancy..easy to make..I made a double batch and it was perfect..no almond, just vanilla and used marg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      Nice icing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      Yummy Yummy. I couldn't find the recipe I had, so I tried this one. It was so much better. My original recipe tasted like sugar and grease. This is now the one I always use. Thanks Marg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Very good. The consistency was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      This is the best decorator Icing I've tasted. Easy to work with, used 2 T. of milk... Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Made this for my son's first birthday cake. EASY! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      I used this to decorate a cake with a scroll border and some writing and flowers. For me, it was too oily from all the shortening and butter. It was glossy and shiny with oil and didn't taste the best either. I'm not sure if it's because I halved the recipe...but I wouldn't think that would affect the results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      Best buttercream I've had. And super super super easy. Perfect. Thanks sooooo much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      I think this is pretty good considering that I hate frosting. Most times they're too sweet or just a buttery blob. I normally don't frost the cakes I bake at home and when I eat cake elsewhere I scrape the frosting off. This time I ate both the cake and the frosting. This is the first time I made frosting from scratch and I really like this one. I must say that I doubled the amount of milk in order to get it fluffy enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

    • on April 05, 2009

      I love, love, love this recipe I use on all my cakes. Thanks for posting it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      The first time I made this with the 5 cups of sugar called for, and the frosting seemed quite gritty and was difficult to work with. I tried to thin it out with a bit more milk but then I added too much I guess:) The second time I just added 1/2 cup less sugar and it has a much better texture. I haven't frosted a cake yet but I think my son and I ate 1/2 cup this morning LOL (eww-so good). Dissolving the salt in the Vanilla is a great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      I used to use another recipe for frosting my cakes but couldn't find it and went on the Zaar to hopefully locate it. I thought this was it but I was wrong. When I was preparing this recipe I found it to be very dry, and I truly believe it calls for too much powdered sugar. It's probably a nice icing for doing fancy cake decorations; however, I discovered that for frosting, it was dry and thick and pulled away from the cake as I worked with it, incorporating crumbs into the icing. You can, of course, add more milk for a creamier consistency but stopping at 4 cups of powdered sugar (as my recipe, which I did finally find calls for) will give you the perfect icing - both for decorating and frosting, and as a bonus, using less sugar takes care of the 'overly sweet tasting' problem some reviewers have mentioned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      Family loved the taste, I found it difficult to work with. It needed more milk to make it usable to frost. Unsure if I should refrigerate cake after using this (since it has butter).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Tasted great. I used a little almond extract (1/2 tsp) as well as 1 tsp. of vanilla. Delicious and held up well for decorator. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      I've made this a bunch of times, and it never fails. It is so easy to pipe and spreads nicely too. About the only thing I do differently, is I sift the confectioners' sugar before adding to the creamed butter and shortening. Thanks for a wonderful icing that guarantees I'll never buy canned again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      I used this for my daughter's birthday cake and it was fantastic! This will be my main icing from now on! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      Tastes great, but I got fluffy frosting both times I tried this recipe. Fluffy, as in: lots of air pockets and not smooth frosting. Perhaps tripling the recipe would work? I don't know. I have two more shhetcakes to ice and am moving on to a new recipe before I get to the main cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Decorator Buttercream Icing

    Serving Size: 1 (852 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1169.0
     
    Calories from Fat 503
    43%
    Total Fat 55.9 g
    86%
    Saturated Fat 24.1 g
    120%
    Cholesterol 70.9 mg
    23%
    Sodium 239.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 171.6 g
    57%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 167.9 g
    671%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes