27 Reviews

Could this get any simpler? I don't think so! How absolutely luscious this is! My only change was to add a tablespoon of brown sugar to the pot, it really enhances the tomato flavor. A few crackers on the side and you've got a great lunch, or a perfect start to a great dinner!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj October 08, 2002

This was amazingly simple to make and it was as delicious as any 5 star restauarant would serve. I also added 1 Tblsp of brown sugar and fresh basil, but other than that I followed the directions as insructed. We will definitely be making this again and again. Thank you GinnyP for sharing this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PHAFF April 28, 2012

I added the brown sugar as someone suggested, and I thought it did a great job bringing the natural sweetness out. I also added a pinch of both black pepper and chili flakes, and it added a great depth of flavor to the soup. Yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FiestyLilJLo April 25, 2009

Thank you for sharing this very tasty and extremely easy recipe! I used a hand blender to make the texture a bit smoother and we found it needed a bit of salt at the table, but other than that we followed the directions exactly. This will be perfect on a cold winter day and it is 1000% better than any canned soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*****Sandy October 17, 2011

It doesn't get any easier than this. Quick, simple, and good. I used stewed tomatoes that also had onion, celery, and green bell pepper in them. Thanks GinnyP for sharing the recipe. Made for Cookbook Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme January 27, 2010

Outstanding and so easy. I too added about 3/4 t. of brown sugar to boost the sweetness of the tomatoes. I used fresh basil just b/cause I LOVE basil. I Used canned stewed tomatoes (accidently bought stewed tomatoes with green pepper, onion and celery which worked smashingly). I pureed the stewed tomatoes with the fresh basil in Food Processor, reserving about about 1/2 cupto be finely for added texture. Served with crusty bread. Delicious! Will definitely make again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jklein8962 January 24, 2010

Very good fast soup....I doubled it and used my hand blender to puree it more. I think next time I will add a little less cream...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc December 09, 2009

Wonderful recipe and so easy! I put the stewed tomatoes in the blender for a few quick pulses since we prefer it to be a little less chunky. I also added a tablespoon of brown sugar as suggested in some other reviews. Turned out great and the husband really loved it. Thanks for such a great, easy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MereReu August 20, 2009

This is so delicious, and better yet, it's quick and easy! Like another reviewer, I added a bit of brown sugar and really complemented the other flavors. Also, I used 1/2 cup of light cream and 1/4 cup of heavy cream, just to lighten it up a bit. I also ran it through the blender just to make it smooth. My five year old son loved it too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JA'sMommy February 06, 2009

Holy cow, this is simple. It's a shame whipping cream doesn't keep. Otherwise, I'd leave the ingredients lying around for the next cold, snowy afternoon I'm stuck inside.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spurfer November 02, 2007
Decadent Tomato Bisque