Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Decadent Tomato Bisque Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Decadent Tomato Bisque

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2002

      Could this get any simpler? I don't think so! How absolutely luscious this is! My only change was to add a tablespoon of brown sugar to the pot, it really enhances the tomato flavor. A few crackers on the side and you've got a great lunch, or a perfect start to a great dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2012

      This was amazingly simple to make and it was as delicious as any 5 star restauarant would serve. I also added 1 Tblsp of brown sugar and fresh basil, but other than that I followed the directions as insructed. We will definitely be making this again and again. Thank you GinnyP for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      I added the brown sugar as someone suggested, and I thought it did a great job bringing the natural sweetness out. I also added a pinch of both black pepper and chili flakes, and it added a great depth of flavor to the soup. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      Thank you for sharing this very tasty and extremely easy recipe! I used a hand blender to make the texture a bit smoother and we found it needed a bit of salt at the table, but other than that we followed the directions exactly. This will be perfect on a cold winter day and it is 1000% better than any canned soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      It doesn't get any easier than this. Quick, simple, and good. I used stewed tomatoes that also had onion, celery, and green bell pepper in them. Thanks GinnyP for sharing the recipe. Made for Cookbook Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Outstanding and so easy. I too added about 3/4 t. of brown sugar to boost the sweetness of the tomatoes. I used fresh basil just b/cause I LOVE basil. I Used canned stewed tomatoes (accidently bought stewed tomatoes with green pepper, onion and celery which worked smashingly). I pureed the stewed tomatoes with the fresh basil in Food Processor, reserving about about 1/2 cupto be finely for added texture. Served with crusty bread. Delicious! Will definitely make again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      Very good fast soup....I doubled it and used my hand blender to puree it more. I think next time I will add a little less cream...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Wonderful recipe and so easy! I put the stewed tomatoes in the blender for a few quick pulses since we prefer it to be a little less chunky. I also added a tablespoon of brown sugar as suggested in some other reviews. Turned out great and the husband really loved it. Thanks for such a great, easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      This is so delicious, and better yet, it's quick and easy! Like another reviewer, I added a bit of brown sugar and really complemented the other flavors. Also, I used 1/2 cup of light cream and 1/4 cup of heavy cream, just to lighten it up a bit. I also ran it through the blender just to make it smooth. My five year old son loved it too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      Holy cow, this is simple. It's a shame whipping cream doesn't keep. Otherwise, I'd leave the ingredients lying around for the next cold, snowy afternoon I'm stuck inside.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      Excellent and easy. As another poster suggested, I added a little brown sugar to the tomatoes. I also added a few pinches of Herbes de Provence as the soup finished.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2014

      Another 5 stars. So very simple and so delicious. As recommended add teaspoon of brown sugar and pinch of red pepper flakes. Did add one tablespoon of butter also. Used immersion blender to make smoother. May play around and next time use one can Rotel and one can plain diced tomatoes. Bell peppers etc. Change herbs. Seems like many options to this simple recipe. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2013

      OMG soooooo good. I cooked onions in the pan before adding tomatoes. Took advice and added the brown sugar too. This was better than our local bistro that charges $6 for a bowl of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2013

      OMGOSH!!! This is awesome. Been craving it since I saw the recipe last winter and could never remember to buy the cream.....so here it is July...and if I could give it 10 stars, I would. Used canned diced tomatoes 3/4 T brown sugar and the rest was the same. Did mash the tomatoes with a potato masher, but still had large chunks. Couldn't have been any better. Thank you so much GinnyP.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      Absolutely amazingly easy, quick, and very tasty tomato soup! This is JUST what I was looking for when I started searching for tomato bisque recipes! I found a lot, too, on this site, but after reading 21 5 star positive reviews, I KNEW this was the ONE I had to try! Boy I am glad I did too! Went together very quick and easy. Used the stewed tomatoes and heavy whipping cream, part dried and part fresh basil (due to amount having on hand), and a TBLS of light brown sugar as most of the other posters mentioned to do! Fantastic! Will be making it over and over and over again when the craving of tomato soup hits. Hubby even said "NO more canned tomato soup for us!" Only thing I will do in the future, is use my hand blender and puree a bit, didn't care for the "crunchy" texture of some of the tomatoes. Probably was the brand I used, wasn't Del Monte, I've never noticed Del Monte to be "crunchy"!! LOL Thanks again, for such an awesomely easy recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

    • on March 05, 2010

      Very good and quick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      So here I am for the umpteenth time, this time to make this soup for 200 people at a conference my congregation is hosting and I realize I've never reviewed it!!! Shame on me! This is worth a dozen stars, for delicious, quick, easy, and flexible. On one batch, I accidentally used oregano instead of basil and it got rave reviews too! Never fails; truly awesome. Thank you, GinnyP for sharing this wonderful soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      I just added a little roux to thicken ... voila! Wonderful, easy and delicious!! Perfect if you have lots of extra tomatoes in a summer garden.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      This was an easy soup to make and oh so tasty. My roommate, who is not much of a soup eater even liked it. Will be making this over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Decadent Tomato Bisque

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 175.5
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    76%
    Total Fat 14.9 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 9.1 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 54.3 mg
    18%
    Sodium 342.0 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes