9 Reviews

Decadent is right, this tasted wonderful and creamy. I topped with fresh blueberries. No boring old oatmeal for me, this is now one of my favorites breakfast dishes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jabow46 August 04, 2010

This was a great way to "doctor up" my leftover oatmeal. I didn't have any sour cream but plain yogurt made a fine substitute. My oatmeal was nice and creamy as when I first made it. Thanks Picholine for posting. Roxygirl

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado January 25, 2007

Umm, Umm, Good! 5 stars for super easy, 5 stars for super easy clean up, 5 stars for super easy kid pleasing recipe, 5 stars for super duper taste! I doubled the recipe and could easily have eaten the whole thing. I added fresh blueberries and apples that I picked in the orchard on Sunday. It added such a nice crunch and texture to the oatmeal. I couldn't taste the sour cream, but it gave it such a creamy taste and appearance. Thanks for a great twist on my boring oatmeal. My daughter eats oatmeal with blueberries almost everyday for breakfast, but today she just sat there and ate it without getting up a thousand times or playing with it. I think she was done in 5 minutes as opposed to her usual 20 minutes. This is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trixyinaz September 12, 2006

This oatmeal was good. It made a bigger bowl than I usually eat. I put dried blueberries in mine. Thanks Picholine. Bullwinkle.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle May 17, 2006

This oatmeal was marvelous. It was very rich and creamy. I would suggest having something like milk to drink with it though, as it is REALLY rich. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gertybird's Gal November 23, 2005

Very good flavor combination. I used fresh blueberries and really liked the slight tang of the sour cream. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. August 09, 2005

Had this delightful mix with steel cut Irish oatmeal and sliced mango. Tomorrow it's strawberries. Day after tomorrow... Didn't miss my milk a bit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea May 21, 2005

MMM good. Finally have something to do with all of those regular oatmeal packets from the variety instant box we get from Sam's. We even make the flavored packets now and use sour cream instead of milk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knitaholic August 21, 2004

Excellent oatmeal! Who would have ever thought of adding sour cream to make it taste so rich and creamy? Really enjoyed this and will do it again. Thanks for posting this. Made for Healthy Choices ABC Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft February 12, 2011
Decadent Oatmeal