28 Reviews

We thought the sauce was rather plain, though it was very buttery which made it rich. I was hoping to get better results, so I will have to tweak it somewhat if I decide to try it again. Thanks for sharing though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
***KissTheCook*** January 01, 2009

Oh so rich, I used 3 eggs (as that is all I had) and cooked them using Peter J recipe Steamed Eggs (Kai Meung). Used the full sauce but next time I think I will half the sauce as it was so rich, this fed 2 of us very well on wholemeal toast. I also decorated with a light sprinkle of paprika. Thank you puppitypup made for Please Review My Recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat September 05, 2008

These were good but just not as decadent as I thought it was going to be. DS looked at mine and said, "I'll have some cereal", so I was disappointed that he didn't even want to try them. Oh well, maybe I will make them sometime when company is coming so they can give them a try. They were for comfort for the tummy not for looks on the plate that's for sure, but thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherylsprague68 August 29, 2008

These were OK, but I wasn't crazy about the sauce. There wasn't all that much flavor to be honest. I really wanted to like it, but it just wasn't for me. DH thought they were OK too, but nothing "decadent" about them, and loaded with calories and fat he would have liked to have spent on something more enjoyable. I don't think we will be having these again any time soon. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaThurston67 June 26, 2008

I've always wanted to try Creamed Eggs on Toast, and I'm glad I used this recipe. The sauce truly is decadent. Very nice for our Easter breakfast. I used 1/2 cream and 1/2 milk and still very rich. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie K March 23, 2008

I loved these growing up. My grandmother used to add a teaspoon of curry to the flour, as did I. Ah! Home. Thanks for the memories.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MAMASARAH February 12, 2008

Sorry my pics didn't come out so well, but I wanted to post them anyway. These eggs were delish! I had them for breakfast this morning, and enjoyed every mouthful. My gravy really came out a nice cream color, though you can't tell from the photo. I want to suggest not making your sauce, until you are just about ready to eat, because the sauce does thicken up a lot... However you can just add more cream to thin it out. Just mix it in good. I cut the recipe in half, and for the cream I substituted 1/2 c. FF half and half and 1/4 c. water. It worked great, and you wouldn't know the difference. I boiled my eggs in salted water, putting in when I turned the water on, let come to a boil, covered, shut the heat off, and let set for 25 minutes, and the eggs were done perfectly, and then cracked the shells, ran under cold water and the shells came off like a charm. I will definately be making this again and again. Can't wait for company to come so I can make them some too. This would also be wonderful over soft eggs on toast. Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen January 30, 2008

These are the ultimate! So very rich I think next time I will have to make it with milk and a little cream mixed in. Great as is, but a very basic dish that could have ham or bacon mixed into the sauce. Will definitely be having these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrtfan January 29, 2008

This was really rich and delicious! I cut the recipe in half and it turned out great. It's also quick and easy! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debrab January 28, 2008

Turns out to basically be egg-gravy over toast. I'd never considered making gravy using eggs instead of some kind of meat and was very pleasantly surprised to find that this works great! I used about 1.5 C of milk instead of cream and the consistency was just right. Definitely adding this one to my set of regular recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trs January 27, 2008
Decadent Creamed Eggs on Toast