Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Decadent Creamed Eggs on Toast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Decadent Creamed Eggs on Toast

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2012

      Works well with diced yolk sprinkled over eggs and a dash of paprika for taste and color. Also good with whole or skimmed milk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Mmmmm! This satisfied my pregnancy cravings for what my husband's family calls "muck on toast" Keeping with their traditions I added 3 slices of crumbled bacon to the mix. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      This tasted exactly like the "Golden-Rod Eggs" that my mother used to make for me. Unfortunately, she unexpectedly passed away when I was 13, and she took all her recipes with her... Since I've grown up, I've spent a lot of time reconstructing recipes and tastes in my mind to fit childhood memories. Thanks for posting this one, it's nearly spot on! I had a little trouble with the roux part as my butter and flour became a big sticky ball. I tried to chop it up into small pieces with the flat of the spatula, but wasn't getting too far. I then decided that perhaps the cream would dissolve the roux, so I started to add the little bits of cream. Finally I had reached the full amount call for and I had what amounted to a stew of floating roux in a cream soup... I knew I had to have made a mistake somewhere so I quickly broke out my immersion blender and saved the meal in a couple quick pulsing froths. Once I achieved the desired creamy mixture, I added my chopped egg whites and reserved the yokes for a topping in a bowl after squishing them through a garlic press to make tiny cylinder shaped yoke beads. I submitted some pictures of what the final product looked like so please enjoy and know that my whole family loved the meal! We poured the tasty gravy over the wheat toast then topped with the egg yokes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      What a treat! I don't eat eggs very often, but when I do I like them creamy and no orange eye looking back at me! The first time I made this it was as written and was a keeper. Then I made it again and added a bit of lemon juice and a dash of smoked paprika. That was good to. This is one of those recipes that you will make again and again, and you can make it to your tastes. Creamy Eggs rocks! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      So good, rich, creamy and impressive After reading some comments about flavor I decided to add some fresh garlic and even a teaspoon of crushed red peppers (did forget to sprinkle with paprika which would have been pretty. Toasted homemade caraway rye bread to serve over with a side of bacon and even a special treat of Mimosas; oh so good. Love this and while can't have often with all the calories it makes for a lovely occasional treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      I decided to try this for supper last night to use up some extra eggs. Wow was it good! I added a pinch of dry mustard to the recipe and doubled it. I served it over hash brown patties and the boys couldn't get enough. My 8 year old cleaned his plate, smacked his lips and asked for more. I heated up the few spoonfuls that was left for my lunch today and my college aged boy asked me to make it again tonight. I never expected such a simple dish to be so yummy. The best part was that everyone loved it, which is a rarity in my house. Thanks puppitypup, I'll be making this over and over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      Just like my Mom used to make. She feed all seven of us kids this stuff and we couldn't get enough of it! We were big eaters so she used 2 or 3 dozen eggs. lol Thank you for posting this lovely memory from my past.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

    • on July 11, 2010

      Wow! Got up this morning and saw you were "chef of the day" and decided to make this for breakfast. Very rich, but delish. They only thing I added was a pinch of seasoned salt (my husband likes this spice combination). Due to some health issues, next time I am going to try some cream and fat free milk combo to see if I can lower the fat and cholesterol. (and hopefully still taste good) For those making this, I would suggest NOT using margarine. You just won't get the same rich taste. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      This was excellent. In place of the cream I used part half and half and part milk. I also added some Cheddar Cheese for additional flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      We thought the sauce was rather plain, though it was very buttery which made it rich. I was hoping to get better results, so I will have to tweak it somewhat if I decide to try it again. Thanks for sharing though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      Oh so rich, I used 3 eggs (as that is all I had) and cooked them using Peter J recipe Steamed Eggs (Kai Meung). Used the full sauce but next time I think I will half the sauce as it was so rich, this fed 2 of us very well on wholemeal toast. I also decorated with a light sprinkle of paprika. Thank you puppitypup made for Please Review My Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      These were good but just not as decadent as I thought it was going to be. DS looked at mine and said, "I'll have some cereal", so I was disappointed that he didn't even want to try them. Oh well, maybe I will make them sometime when company is coming so they can give them a try. They were for comfort for the tummy not for looks on the plate that's for sure, but thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      These were OK, but I wasn't crazy about the sauce. There wasn't all that much flavor to be honest. I really wanted to like it, but it just wasn't for me. DH thought they were OK too, but nothing "decadent" about them, and loaded with calories and fat he would have liked to have spent on something more enjoyable. I don't think we will be having these again any time soon. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      I've always wanted to try Creamed Eggs on Toast, and I'm glad I used this recipe. The sauce truly is decadent. Very nice for our Easter breakfast. I used 1/2 cream and 1/2 milk and still very rich. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      I loved these growing up. My grandmother used to add a teaspoon of curry to the flour, as did I. Ah! Home. Thanks for the memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Sorry my pics didn't come out so well, but I wanted to post them anyway. These eggs were delish! I had them for breakfast this morning, and enjoyed every mouthful. My gravy really came out a nice cream color, though you can't tell from the photo. I want to suggest not making your sauce, until you are just about ready to eat, because the sauce does thicken up a lot... However you can just add more cream to thin it out. Just mix it in good. I cut the recipe in half, and for the cream I substituted 1/2 c. FF half and half and 1/4 c. water. It worked great, and you wouldn't know the difference. I boiled my eggs in salted water, putting in when I turned the water on, let come to a boil, covered, shut the heat off, and let set for 25 minutes, and the eggs were done perfectly, and then cracked the shells, ran under cold water and the shells came off like a charm. I will definately be making this again and again. Can't wait for company to come so I can make them some too. This would also be wonderful over soft eggs on toast. Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      These are the ultimate! So very rich I think next time I will have to make it with milk and a little cream mixed in. Great as is, but a very basic dish that could have ham or bacon mixed into the sauce. Will definitely be having these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      This was really rich and delicious! I cut the recipe in half and it turned out great. It's also quick and easy! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Turns out to basically be egg-gravy over toast. I'd never considered making gravy using eggs instead of some kind of meat and was very pleasantly surprised to find that this works great! I used about 1.5 C of milk instead of cream and the consistency was just right. Definitely adding this one to my set of regular recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Decadent Creamed Eggs on Toast

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1071.7
     
    Calories from Fat 817
    76%
    Total Fat 90.8 g
    139%
    Saturated Fat 52.8 g
    264%
    Cholesterol 632.9 mg
    210%
    Sodium 861.3 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 22.1 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites