9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made for the Agents of QUEST 2014 and served as a starter course for a family dinner, this soup was superb! 1 guest was known to have a big appetite and there were 2 teenagers, so I wanted to be sure I had enough. I also wanted to lighten it as there was a heavy meal ahead. So I expanded it and lightened it. I accomplished both by using an amt = to the cream(s) amt of my homemade lobster stock and by doubling a mixed seafood blend of crab, baby shrimp and mussels. I did omit the salt as DH is salt-restricted, but I added Old Bay Seasoning which we favor in seafood soups. The economy of Iceland relies on seafood and I plan to rely on your recipe to showcase it. Thx for sharing this tasty soup recipe w/us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis August 11, 2014

This is so delicious and so easy to make! I used green onions instead of regular onions due to dietary issues, but it didn't change the wonderful flavor! I used fresh picked lump crab meat instead of canned. Rich and creamy! Thanks for sharing....made for Best of 2014 tag game on Yuku.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom February 18, 2015

LOVE this recipe.. I just alter it a little. I add 2 cans of corn, a can of tiny shrimp, and a whole scallion right to the soup. I only use jumbo lump crab meat, and it is absolutely out of this world! Oh, and white pepper! That is my secret ingredient that everyone loves!!! Thank you so much for posting this recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Wedding Planner January 08, 2012

Excellent start for me. Sauteed celery and carrot with the onion. Use 2 cups chicken stock and simmered until vegetables softened. Used leftover king crab legs instead of canned. Also seasoned with Old Bay as suggested. Left out the extra flour to thicken. Finished with 2 Cups heavy cream. More like a chowder instead of bisque. Loved the result, delicious. 4 stars for the recipe; 5 stars for technique and inspiration. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma Dukes January 23, 2011

REALLY like this. . .but thought it needed more seasoning. I added 1 stalk of celery and 1/4 cup of shredded carrots. Also added about 1 tbsp of Old Bay Seasoning per the others' recommendations. Lastly, added some celery seed at the end but I still feel like one more ingredient is missing. . .I will figure it out. I do truly like the soup and my hubby is going to be impressed when he comes home for dinner tonight!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride May 21, 2008

Definitely a good start for a crab bisque, but I found the crab taste to be a bit too strong (maybe it was the crab I got in the store - Bumblebee brand was the only one I could find). To really kick this recipe up a few notches, I added a little bit of chili powder which really added some zest to the recipe without being overpowering. Also I substituted parsley flakes for the chives. It would probably also benefit from some carrots and celery - I'll try that next time. Overall, I give this recipe 4 stars - it was a tad salty for our tastes and the crab was a bit powerful, but with a simple addition, became a truly marvelous soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quantum Polagnus May 01, 2008

Loved this soup! I added some minced shallot to the onions and I used heavy cream in place of the half and half. I like my bisque thick and it actually came out just right( I omitted the part where you shake flour with half and half in jar) I, too, used Old Bay seasoning (quite a bit actually) and I did have to increase the salt, using kosher coarse salt. Delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sauce Lover April 20, 2008

This was very simple to make for a nice quick lunch. I added some Old Bay seasoning for added flavor. Yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu March 11, 2008

Simply outstanding. Smooth, creamy and certainly not lowfat. :-) I made it with 12 oz. of fresh Dungeness crab and it was superb. I may still try a photo with the leftovers, but wanted to get chives to garnish it first! Thanks for posting this! I love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT December 29, 2007
Decadent and Easy Crab Bisque