10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I waited a couple of weeks to review this mix as I wanted to test it in my dishwasher first. IT WORKS GREAT! I especially like it because the plastic stuff even dries off after sitting awhil and so does the silverware. I did add some blue food coloring to it so I could see when the dishwasher pre rince needed to be refilled. I really apreciate that you posted this recipe it is so much cheaper to make than it is to buy.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Young February 08, 2012

Ded, thanks for posting. This is really good rinse.I've been using for 2 weeks now and don't have any spots or streaks on my dishes. Thanks for posting. :-)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
javonsnanna January 22, 2012

Worked perfect! Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview June 09, 2011

This really works!! Just made my second batch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherN August 01, 2012

This works really well. Great $$$ saver. Made for Spring 2010 PAC

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario April 24, 2010

This works great! I tried it last night in my dishwasher instead of using my regular rinse-aid. I love that I can save money so easily with this. Made for PAC Spring 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom April 20, 2010

Amazing....and so cheap! I was running low and really hate paying the 'over the top' prices for rinse agents. According to my instruction manual, my dishwasher hold 6 oz of rinse agent, so I scaled the recipe down to 1/2 cup. Had everything I needed on hand. This morning I had a dishwasher full of shiny, sparkling dishes. Thanks Deb!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 April 18, 2010

This worked awesome! I was out of Jet Dry completely & didn't have time to go to the store. I did, however, have all these ingredients & remembered I had seen your recipe here for soap & rinse aid. After washing a load with this I compared wine glasses & flatware from the previous wash & this one. The results were obvious. Still, I wasn't completely "sold" on the recipe, but then later I unloaded the whole dishwasher & could not believe the difference in how the Tupperware & Rubbermaid hard plastic bowls felt! They were smooth to the touch, whereas the same bowls from the previous wash with no rinse aid felt like they had a dusty-dry coating. I've never noticed this on them before, but I obviously didn't have them clean enough. I think your rinse aid works better than Jet Dry. Thanks to Chef #231057 for the tip on using Fruit Fresh as the citric acid, as I had that on hand. I can't get over the hard water/soap scum film we've been eating off of before trying this recipe. I'll just continue to make my own from now on. Thanks so much for sharing your creation, Deb! Made & enjoyed for Spring 2010 Pick A Chef. You've been adopted! :) http://www.recipezaar.com/bb/viewtopic.zsp?t=327498&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** April 16, 2010

I am very excited about this recipe. We have very hard water and even though I use Jet Dry, my dishes never came out like this....really sparkling, even the flatware. I used wintergreen alcohol and fruit fresh for the citric acid (that's what a pharmacist told me to use). Thank you for a great recipe. I have already passed it on to friends and family!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milkman's Daughter February 18, 2010

I'm so excited to find this recipe. Ran out and don't have money until Monday to buy more. Only iffy ingredient for me is the citric acid. I have something that I use for canning but it has sugar in it so that might be counter-productive. I guess I will try it without for now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker January 30, 2010
Deb's Homemade Dishwasher Rinse