31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It's the best cheese enchilada recipe I've ever come across. I cut it down to 5 servings, and after looking at the nutrition facts, I cut the velveeta to 12oz and used only 2 cups cheddar. I put a VERY light film of shortning on the tortillas. After all was prepared it went into an 11x7 pan and baked the recommended time. I know if these are made as the recipe states they would be better, but they were really good this way too. I will keep this recipe handy. Thanks Mark!!

36 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz March 30, 2002

These are GREAT. The best cheese enchilada recipe I've run across. But be forewarned --schedule an angioplasty soon afterwards! I only made two minor changes. Instead of coating the tortillas in shortening, I dipped them (using tongs) very briefly in hot vegetable oil on both sides and then transfered them to a plate, where I stacked them, until I could stuff and roll them. Also, I used one can of regular Rotel and one can of extra hot Rotel. In short -- I'll make this again and again!

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John Gambill April 07, 2002

Yum, yum, yum!!!! I always knew there was something you could do with that Rotel dip other than dunk chips in it! These are out of this world! I made them exactly as the recipe stated - didn't change a thing. Cheesy & delicious! Not too spicy but has a little kick. My husband took one bite and had a look of wonder on his face. He wants to know if he can give this ten stars! Thanks for such a great enchilada recipe!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! April 20, 2002

Ok, confession, I DID read the "warning" about the clogged arteries and was planning to give it a shot anyway...that is, until I saw the actual number of fat grams! LOL HOOOOLYYYY COW! I don't think it will work too well with my "gotta get this baby-weight off" diet! LOL Sounds awesome, though.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoosierMomOf5 January 29, 2002

Okay, I'm a born and bred Texan too, and this is the best tex-mex enchilada recipe I have ever run across! So easy and delicious! My contribution to cut back on the fat content of this recipe is that I NEVER heat tortillas in oil or shorteneing. I learned a little trick years ago and it works fine for us, can't even tell the difference. Take a clean dish towel and get it wet. Wring out the excess water. Wrap 10 tortillas (at a time) in the towel and microwave them on high for about a minute. Cool slightly, then open the towel and fill, wrap and roll each tortilla as you normally would. Lay seam side down in pan. We never miss that oil.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas January 11, 2003

Very Very Good! Cheese is a wonderful thing! :) Thank you for sharing this recipe!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*~Christine~* August 07, 2001

wonderful I Dont' think i will ever make original enchiladas again. We are died in the wool Texans so everyone turned tier noses up when I said velveeta but there wen't any left. Thanks ever so much for the recipe.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foxjen September 09, 2002

WOW! These cheese enchilada's are AWESOME! My husband and I love Mexican food, and I've made this dish twice now! It's a hit with my family! I serve them with Goya Mexican Yellow Rice and sometimes charro beans. I cut the recipe in 1/2, making 10 enchiladas. I also cut the cheddar cheese down to only 2 cups. For heating up the tortillas, I use a frying pan of hot vegetable oil (enough to cover just the bottom), warming each tortilla on both sides for just a minute, and then draining them on paper towels! This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing! -Kim D. :)

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. September 05, 2002

I had been craving mexican food and this recipe hit the spot. Only thing I added was some green chili's to kick up more heat. Family really liked this one and it was so easy my daughter is going to tackle it to make for her boyfriend next week. mmmmmmmmmm good!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher May 13, 2002

Almost before the first bite I had requests to keep this recipe - and they did try to sneak a bite of the sauce. This is very easy and my kind of comfort food. Thanks for posting this one.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl April 23, 2002
Debra Jo's Favorite Cheese Enchiladas