10 Reviews

This has been a staple dish in my household for at least 7 years. We all love it! I'm making two casserole dishes full of it today just so I can have leftovers for the remainder of my week. I saw that another reviewer used turkey bacon--I don't recommend it. It's a fatty recipe, but real bacon is key to the success of the dish. Sometimes I like crushed garlic instead of garlic powder, but we love the taste of garlic in our food!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan W. September 28, 2014

Besides the weird name, this was awesome! My husband called it one of my top five, which is really saying a lot with how much I cook! I will definitely be making this again, but calling it something else. Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marjorie D. March 17, 2011

It doesn't get easier than this! I made a few adjustments due to dietary reasons, using beef bacon rather than pork, cream of celery soup, and 1 1/2 cups my own chicken broth in place of the water. I increased the liquid from the start taking the suggestion from some other reviewers, and the rice turned out perfect. The flavor of the bacon permeates the entire dish. We enjoyed it very much. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmIbrahim April 12, 2010

I was a little disappointed in this recipe, especially after all the rave reviews. The oregano definitely dominated this dish and was a bit overpowering. I used turkey bacon so I'm not sure if maybe that played a part in not properly flavoring the rice. Might try this again with some changes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stonecoldcrazy February 13, 2010

This dish is WONDERFUL! It's also very easy. I don't even think it took me the full ten minutes to prepare it. I didn't even thaw the chicken-- I just put it in the oven frozen and it came out moist and delicious. My husband had three helpings! This will definitely become a staple in our house. Thank you so much for a great-tasting and easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindi Bunch October 30, 2006

The name of this chicken seems to turn off people I tell about it, so I call it "Smokey Rice Chicken", but name or no it's wonderful! Total comfort food for anytime. I cut up a whole chicken and make it that way, since everyone likes different meat in my family. Thanks for posting it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kandi September 03, 2006

Wonderful smokey flavor. We love the taste of the rice when it is finished. I added a little cheddar cheese on top of the chicken and topped with some frenches onions for a little cruch. Definite keeper in my house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen Andrews March 07, 2005

This is very yummy.Was pleasantly surprised at the wonderful smokey flavor from the bacon.I didn't put the nutmeg in,only because DH(very picky eater) asked me not to.I also added extra water from the start,,as I thought the rice would absorb quite a bit and it turned out perfect. This was very delicious.A keeper. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katygram59 February 24, 2005

This recipe was a real kid pleaser at my house. The rice in particular tasted delicious, although I had to add more liquid half way through cooking time. Thanks for posting this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate in Katoomba February 22, 2005

Just a touch too much Oregano for my family..however I will make it again after a bit of modifying. Thanks for a great fix it and leave it recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nana RJ November 08, 2004
Death Chicken